Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

those who remember that night well would also remember the shenanigans at the Rose and Crown later... the joint was bursting at the seems and the back area was closed off for a players function.

I remember John 'Bomber' Morris crown surfing from the entry to the back area.

i think @Twizzle and @Suitman were there also..

memory was slightly faded

I think we left about 1 or 2 o'clock in the AM

T.S Quint

Yep hindy was the best backrower in the comp that year by a mile. Nearly the best player. Hate seeing ppl refer to him as a flopper and average first grader. His career from 2000-2005 was immense

He was a bee's dick from winning the Dally M that year. If he finished the game and got some points he may have taken it out.
Would have been the first (non-hooker) forward to do it in forever.

those who remember that night well would also remember the shenanigans at the Rose and Crown later... the joint was bursting at the seems and the back area was closed off for a players function.

I remember John 'Bomber' Morris crown surfing from the entry to the back area.

i think @Twizzle and @Suitman were there also..

Indeed I was.
I believe that was the night the "Suity's a wanker" chant went up.
Started by my f**king brother from memory. :)

Noise

Val Holmes enjoying the off season and likely about to get in trouble. Not heaps of trouble. Shaun Lane esque.

So Clive Churchill’s son sent a private txt message to the souths chairman.

Then somebody leaked it. Here it is again.

The Herald also reported Churchill's request for the text message not to be published, but has released it.

"Where was the human headline Mitchell tonight Nicholas? Missing again, this was his big game apparently? Your club will not win another comp for another 40 years if this imposter remains at Souths," the text read.

"He is a complete myth who has the aboriginal cause paramount and south sydney second, if at all. I hope you and family are well. Nothing was done and now this cancer that is Mitchell has ruined the club."

And now there is a campaign for the Clive Churchill medal at the grand final to be presented by …….. Sterlo*.

* the plan it to start with Sterlo who was the inaugural recipient. Then the next merkin who got it in 1987.

Indeed I was.
I believe that was the night the "Suity's a wanker" chant went up.
Started by my f**king brother from memory. :)

I think another former poster by the artist formally known as PJM was also in full voice...

the bar staff had the night from hell on that particular evening.

So Clive Churchill’s son sent a private txt message to the souths chairman.

Then somebody leaked it. Here it is again.

The Herald also reported Churchill's request for the text message not to be published, but has released it.

"Where was the human headline Mitchell tonight Nicholas? Missing again, this was his big game apparently? Your club will not win another comp for another 40 years if this imposter remains at Souths," the text read.

"He is a complete myth who has the aboriginal cause paramount and south sydney second, if at all. I hope you and family are well. Nothing was done and now this cancer that is Mitchell has ruined the club."

And now there is a campaign for the Clive Churchill medal at the grand final to be presented by …….. Sterlo*.

* the plan it to start with Sterlo who was the inaugural recipient. Then the next merkin who got it in 1987.
Sterlo reckons he’s got shit on that day.

King-Gutho94

Article on Andrew Webster the Warriors Coach Journey.

A few snippets his brother James played for Parra in the early 2000s.
He worked for free at Parramatta in 2008 in a work experience role.
Rejoined Parramatta in 2013 and that part is below

In 2013, Webster became the Eels under-20s coach but won just seven games and returned to the Wests Tigers the following season and reached the finals.

“I went to the Tigers and coached a really good team where we were lucky enough to win the competition and I went to Parramatta next year and I copy and pasted everything I did that year before to the next club and it didn’t work,” Webster said

“Little lessons like that taught me that what works there won’t work here and you’ve got to adapt it to the playing group and the club.

“You learn thousands of those lessons and just because it’s not at the top and it’s not at the NRL level doesn’t mean that they’re not lessons and you’re not learning.

“Those experiences were great and something that I was glad to do, just to work my way up the ladder.”

King-Gutho94

I guess the key with Webster will be making sure its not a sugar hit with the warriors next year and they maintain the rage.

But i saw something also the other day where the CEO said in another article Webster is the first coach to come in over there and just said don't worry about the roster. I will work with we have and not overhaul it.

Previous coaches have come in and first thing they want to do is overhaul the roster and get the players to play they want. You spend 12 months rebuilding and you get in vicious cycle of turning over coaches and players.

As by year 2 or 3 after results haven't come wasting 12 months at the start its already over and you have to start again under a whole new regime that wants to tear it apart.

The hilarous thing i find in all of this is while the Tigers were too busy listening to Buzz Rothfield about Tim Sheens and the succession plan. Webster was still available at Penrith and had been at Tigers previously so obviously they didnt rate him and thought Sheens/Marshall was the better option.

And the warriors snapped him up.