Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

Happy MEel

Disagreeing with one commonly accepted medical practice means you disagree with all medicine, science and research?
I think the premise is that if you don’t trust medical science on something like vaccinations, why would you trust it for other things? I think it’s a reasonable question to ask.

Pretty long bow tbh

I see it more as a demonstration of how stupid the argument against vaccines is.

IE why trust one thing with decades and decades of medical backing, but make up conspiracy theories about another?

That's rhetorical BTW. I'm well aware that answer has a lot to do with stupidity

I see it more as a demonstration of how stupid the argument against vaccines is.

IE why trust one thing with decades and decades of medical backing, but make up conspiracy theories about another?

That's rhetorical BTW. I'm well aware that answer has a lot to do with stupidity
Why are they conspiracy theories? .... cos you think so?

Dont get me wrong, I would vaccinate my kid ..... but i dont dismiss the belief that vaccinations can f**k some people up

Why are they conspiracy theories? .... cos you think so?

Well because they talk the same shit that conspiracy theorists do?

Because they have been scientifically disproven (eg "vaccines cause autism" came from ONE paper that was written by a man with vested interests, who was pilloried out of science for it later in life)?

Because they use the classic hallmarks of conspiracy theory (a cover-up by "Big Pharma!" or "the government knows about vaccines causing autism or mercury poisoning or being full of semen or whatever but the gubmint earn too much from "Big Pharma!" or one of my favourites, "the gubmint wants to make people sick so they can control them better and make money off the hospitals!")

Because they are literally conspiracy theories?

Dont get me wrong, I would vaccinate my kid ..... but i dont dismiss the belief that vaccinations can f**k some people up

There is always the risk of a reaction with any medication. Which is why vaccines are so important, especially for those who can't have them. There is a difference between that and the conspiracy theories, though. It's perfectly valid to not vaccinate for medical reasons.

Vaccines do not, will not, have not ever, and cannot possible cause a genetic condition like autism (one of the leading anti-vax ideas). Vaccines do not, will not, have not ever, and cannot possibly kill you or make you ill thanks to mercury (another fave).

The other thing I really hate about these idiots is the idea that, ultimately, a dead child is better than one with autism. Even if there was some way, and some chance, that a vaccine COULD cause it (hypothetically, obviously), the implication is that "we'd rather take the chance of losing our kid to a preventable disease than have them be a f**ken genius!" and I reckon that's disgusting.

Happy MEel

There is always the risk of a reaction with any medication. Which is why vaccines are so important, especially for those who can't have them. There is a difference between that and the conspiracy theories, though. It's perfectly valid to not vaccinate for medical reasons.

Vaccines do not, will not, have not ever, and cannot possible cause a genetic condition like autism (one of the leading anti-vax ideas). Vaccines do not, will not, have not ever, and cannot possibly kill you or make you ill thanks to mercury (another fave).

The other thing I really hate about these idiots is the idea that, ultimately, a dead child is better than one with autism. Even if there was some way, and some chance, that a vaccine COULD cause it (hypothetically, obviously), the implication is that "we'd rather take the chance of losing our kid to a preventable disease than have them be a f**ken genius!" and I reckon that's disgusting.
Geez Baz, we don’t always see eye to eye on things but this is an outstanding rebuttal for any antivax’s dribble. If only I had the go ahead from the powers that be to be as ‘convincing’ in my role in public health.

Kudos my friend.

Geez Baz, we don’t always see eye to eye on things but this is an outstanding rebuttal for any antivax’s dribble. If only I had the go ahead from the powers that be to be as ‘convincing’ in my role in public health.

Kudos my friend.
Just do it mate. Your colleagues will respect you for your honesty.

Kudos my friend.

I play a role to an extent but this is a subject that genuinely pisses me off.

Especially as I have a good friend with a child who is actually autistic. How must people like that feel growing up and seeing this rubbish?

"Oh hell, I'm not vaccinating my kids because they might turn out like you...."

Kornstar

I play a role to an extent but this is a subject that genuinely pisses me off.

Especially as I have a good friend with a child who is actually autistic. How must people like that feel growing up and seeing this rubbish?

"Oh hell, I'm not vaccinating my kids because they might turn out like you...."

My wife's sister is one of these fruit loops, i can't stand her........i used to argue with her a lot and got into FB fights with her and her looney friends.

In the end it was easier to unfriend her and not feel the need to point how dumb they all are when they are sprouting their "big pharma is evil" shit and that Dr Andrew Wakefield, although being stripped of his licence to practice medicine is still right.......delusional!!!!

She also started telling lies about her son and how he almost died from a vaccine. Fact is that he got a fever after one and that is about the extent of it.

Absolute deadshit!