Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Did you learn all this at skill testers anonymous? You are the only f**kwit ever who lost their caravan from a crippling claw machine addiction.

Crippling claw addiction, You make out like I am a chronic wanker.

It was a joke. Your era I think have cleaner minds. You where not watching adds from age 3 whilst catching up in your fave cartoons. So the whole 'Want' mentaility was not planted into your brain. Unfortunately victims of this always are seeking and wanting something. Being an 80s baby I reckon made us the crash test dummies.

Gladys just walked past my office as I was leaving the building. By her side was a merkin in a black polo who would make George Burgess look like Preston Campbell.

Name & shame!

But he really f**ked you over because early access to super is really strict, even though it sounds simple. Your best bet would've been access on compassionate grounds if you could show, but for early access, you would lose house, or for financial hardship if she was on government pension for 6 continuous months prior.
Early access for medical reasons are actually really complicated.
Temporary incapacity only allows access to insurance payout component.
Permanent incapacity would be difficult to argue if your mother was still trying to work.
And terminal condition access.... well they allow you full tax free access if you are certified to die within 2 years. Except the certification process, getting the super fund to agree, the funds admin process and actually receiving the money is so strenuously difficult, that I have no cases where the person has died in the interim... And then you basically have to start the whole process again with a death benefit

Definitely.

I know it's a complex matter, but I was very, very upset at how this bloke toyed with my mum's life like that.

She's ok now, but what he helped to put her through was disgusting, and technically, he didn't commit a crime, so there's nothing that can be done about it.

Still, what's done is done, but it left a very sour taste in my mouth.

Eelogical

Crippling claw addiction, You make out like I am a chronic wanker.
0.jpg

Do you seriously believe that every one of them is like that? If so, why do you think that no 'decent' people ever have a go? I don't think it is quite that simple. There have been pollies on either side (Fred Chaney, Michael Lavarch, Petro Georgiou for example) who I would rate as very decent and capable people. Is it a cushy job? Well...I guess it could be if you remain a back-bencher in a safe seat and do the absolute minimum (e.g. the bloke who was my local member on the North Coast for 15 years). But I've met several MPs who work a lot harder and longer than the average Joe.
Agree Baz. I have dealt with a lot of Ministers over the years. Yet to come across one that has a cushy job. They work extremely hard. Most sane people wouldn’t be able to cope with the workload.

They are all self interested and many are happy to betray core beliefs if it is to their advantage. But then, that’s the nature of politics and if they don’t do that they are out of a job.

Are people aware that a skilltester where pick up those soft toys with a claw are not skillfull at all.
They are programmed and the claw has a tension setting so perhaps 9/10 will just apply the slightest of pressure making it impossible to pick up anything. Every now and then it will apply MAX pressure and clam on.

Just if people where wondering how they work.
No I assumed they made it easy so that everyone gets a prize and they lose a shitload of money.

Definitely.

I know it's a complex matter, but I was very, very upset at how this bloke toyed with my mum's life like that.

She's ok now, but what he helped to put her through was disgusting, and technically, he didn't commit a crime, so there's nothing that can be done about it.

Still, what's done is done, but it left a very sour taste in my mouth.
Was he an inexperienced politician?

If he was, hopefully he learnt a very valuable experience about managing expectations and not over committing. You’d hate to think that he did it to other people as well.

If he wasn’t then he should hang his f**ken head in shame.

Politicians - at least, successful ones - are easily malleable; while there are undoubtedly some good, reliable politicians around, to truly succeed in this profession, one must be callous, cold, calculating, and selfish.

I know several politicians personally, at varying levels of government, and sudguce it to say that, yes - I believe it is that simple.

They all start out with sunshine, lollipops, and good intentions in their eyes, but soon they lose their way, either because:

(1) they go into self-preservation mode, to save their own careers; or

(2) they get pressured by party members into changing.

Call it a simplistic view oid you wish, but I've met too many politicians at council, State, and Federal level, who have all behaved in the same way, to see it any differently.

The good eggs rarely last.

I think it is definitely true that the cold, callous and selfish ones last longer, partly because they have no shame. But if everyone judges all politicians in this manner, it will never change. A politician who actually does the right thing will be assumed to just like the rest, and so it goes on....

Eelogical

I think it is definitely true that the cold, callous and selfish ones last longer, partly because they have no shame. But if everyone judges all politicians in this manner, it will never change. A politician who actually does the right thing will be assumed to just like the rest, and so it goes on....
Pollies track records speak for themselves. I agree that they all get told to toe the party line sooner or later, regardless of their wide eyed enthusiasm. I fear that the upcoming federal election will only foster further resentment and disillusionment from the general population, regardless of which party wins.

Need to look at the role that deadshit merkins who vote play in that.