Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Well I think the promise of wokeism is to make life better for some people at the expense of other people, and those other people aren’t the likes of Bezos or Musk, or even directors at big four consulting firms.

Bandwagon

But rest assured, these corps are wall to wall with useless merkins.

I'm sure there are, the larger the organisation, the more places for useless merkins to hide their uselessness.

Productivity just isn’t a big part of their business model. Signalling is.

Oh, I thought it was wokeism. My Bad.

If an organisation is big enough and profitable enough there's always room for signalling. In fact, thats pretty much all that a few CEOs I've worked with seem interested in.

I don't think that's in dispute, I think we are all in agreeance that corporate virtue signalling is a thing, it's Pou's assertions about "wokeism" that's in dispute.

It does when you conflate productivity with profitability.

If anything's being conflated here it's virtue signalling with being woke, yes they too are very much linked in culture wars nonsense, but they aren't the same thing.

Culture and economics are both important, especially given most people derive their income from their activity in a workplace surrounded by other neurotic deadshits.

Except we really aren't discussing culture here. There's a difference between culture, and culture wars nonsense, the latter being a construct of the reactionary right in lieu of doing anything of real or actual meaning. It's reds under the bed for a new audience, nothing more.

Life has been good to me, and I want it to be good to my kids as well. I’d be a deadshit to want otherwise.
One might say I want to conserve this good shit.

Do you really fear "wokeism" is going to affect your actual position in life? Or that it somehow could, or is going to change anything within your realm in any meaningful way?

Well I think the promise of wokeism is to make life better for some people at the expense of other people, and those other people aren’t the likes of Bezos or Musk, or even directors at big four consulting firms.

Oh, you really do. If that wasn't so sad it'd be funny as f**k. Fear is such a great motivator hey.

The whole proposition is patently ridiculous. I'll tell you what though, the only meaningful change that may occur with all this nonsense is that the division it seeks to create becomes ever more deeply rooted in our culture, and that plays out across society more generally.

This is all just a meaningless distraction to fight ideological wars that are won and lost on other fronts, swallowing this shit is akin to getting a reach around so as you don't notice so much you're actually getting analed

Well done!

I'm currently paying more than 50% of my wage on my mortgage, and it will only climb higher...

I know people who borrowed over 1.5 million.
And another where I think the banks already done something with their income direct or something to take the repayments. I forget exactly whats happened there.
Both went well above their means and could of found a lot cheaper places in same areas. Instead reached for the Max and best could get. I thought it was strange to begin with.

I don't care if either went tits up and the banks swallowed them up. I reckon both had this view I'll end up with a nice inheritance in future so may as well go balls deep and not care which to me is an attitude that stinks. Should always live within your means.

I think it is possible WOKE movement will effect us for sure.
I am not saying it will but its possible. The way we are moving we are wrapping ourself in cotton wool. Can't say this, can't do that. As a kid I had my feelings hurt, I got smacked, I got sick,fights, If I got a little cut I wouldn't race inside to pour detol and a band aid on it.

So yes by not forming an emotional toughness at a young age who knows how it will effect people as adults when do have to deal with some tough shit like DEATH for example. May lead to all sorts of mental illness down the track.

What happens if there is a war? You think we could tell the Chinese hey that's not fair. Your not allowed to do that. You can't hit me? Do you think this next generation would have the balls the get behind a machine gun and defend their country.

The problem is things are going to far. Yes Homosexuals should be treated equally. But some of the stuff going on is ridiculous. Especially when I hear kids having genitals removed before there an adult ffs. Ridiculous.
Some of these ideas are running rampant without any thought of 25yrs from now.

I'll be honest I don't feel Gay men should adopt and raise kids either. But willing to accept it. More because I feel this child's already disadvantaged by not having biological parents and a mother plays an important role. But having this view I am labelled a hillbilly.

Bandwagon

I know people who borrowed over 1.5 million.
And another where I think the banks already done something with their income direct or something to take the repayments. I forget exactly whats happened there.
Both went well above their means and could of found a lot cheaper places in same areas. Instead reached for the Max and best could get. I thought it was strange to begin with.

I don't care if either went tits up and the banks swallowed them up. I reckon both had this view I'll end up with a nice inheritance in future so may as well go balls deep and not care which to me is an attitude that stinks. Should always live within your means.

Basically it's appetite for, and the assessment of risk, and I think it's kinda predictable that people will get this wrong in this space when all they have experienced over decades of their adult lives is falling interest rates and increasing asset prices.

Bandwagon

I think it is possible WOKE movement will effect us for sure.
I am not saying it will but its possible. The way we are moving we are wrapping ourself in cotton wool. Can't say this, can't do that. As a kid I had my feelings hurt, I got smacked, I got sick,fights, If I got a little cut I wouldn't race inside to pour detol and a band aid on it.

So yes by not forming an emotional toughness at a young age who knows how it will effect people as adults when do have to deal with some tough shit like DEATH for example. May lead to all sorts of mental illness down the track.

What happens if there is a war? You think we could tell the Chinese hey that's not fair. Your not allowed to do that. You can't hit me? Do you think this next generation would have the balls the get behind a machine gun and defend their country.

The problem is things are going to far. Yes Homosexuals should be treated equally. But some of the stuff going on is ridiculous. Especially when I hear kids having genitals removed before there an adult ffs. Ridiculous.
Some of these ideas are running rampant without any thought of 25yrs from now.

I'll be honest I don't feel Gay men should adopt and raise kids either. But willing to accept it. More because I feel this child's already disadvantaged by not having biological parents and a mother plays an important role. But having this view I am labelled a hillbilly.

At it's core being "woke" is about recognising that there is discrimination and disadvantage amongst groupings of folk that is built into society and realising that we can do better in that space.

Unfortunately like all things, there are reactionaries in that space who either feel the need to take it to the nth most ridiculous degree, or blow it up into a problem far beyond the level of which it deserves.

Either way, what you hear about at the extremes is blown way out of proportion, and is given far more attention than it deserves.

At it's core being "woke" is about recognising that there is discrimination and disadvantage amongst groupings of folk that is built into society and realising that we can do better in that space.
Pretty much. Woke is a slur manufactured by the cohort who prefer not to give a crap. More to the point, leave me alone and don't tell me what to do.

Screenshot_20221025-083114_Chrome.jpg

Cloeel

Unfortunately like all things, there are reactionaries in that space who either feel the need to take it to the nth most ridiculous degree, or blow it up into a problem far beyond the level of which it deserves.

Either way, what you hear about at the extremes is blown way out of proportion, and is given far more attention than it deserves.
Quite possibly. I would say the same exists on the other side. People are very quick to label some people on the right as ‘bat shit crazy’. Clearly there are some that are but I think there are far too many people on that side of politics that are quickly dismissed for having a view that doesn’t align with the mainstream.