Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Both places are a nightmare to get into by car. Tell me, did you use the solar train in Byron when you were last there?
There are hundreds of places along the Aussie coast that are worth visiting. I notice that South West Rocks doesn't get a mention here. Staying a night or two at the Smoky Cape Lighthouse cottages is very worthwhile. I suppose it's all down to what your preference is when it comes to coastal towns.
Yes I did use that train. To get to the brewery and Elements (new trendy resort).

Eelogical

You are not wrong about Smoky Cape Lighthouse, stayed there last November, cannot wait to go back again.
I often go to the mid North Coast and stay at Port Macquarie and then about an hours north at Grassy Head and Stuarts Point. Used to have great accommodation at a place called Grassy Head hideaway but the property is up for sale now, been staying there either around November or March pretty often for the last 15 years or so. Still like Port Mac but it is definitely getting busier.

View attachment 83307

View attachment 83308

Breakfast with a view

View attachment 83310
I'll be honest. We stayed there a few years ago and Pat (in the video) told me was thinking about retirement due to health reasons. I dare say that there's now new people to take his place. We intend to go back.

The beauty is that every place is unique in it's own way - we are blessed. Suity has an affiliation with the NSW south coast and he's not alone by a long shot. I love it because it's different. Cooler climate, the colour of the ocean, the scenery and just the general vibe.

View attachment 83309
Nothing wrong with the South Coast. I also like it down there. I like Jervis Bay, Mollymook and Narooma. Stayed at all of them. Mate also had a joint at Bermagui and I’ve stayed there too. Bit too cold that far south though.

Metung in Victoria was awesome. Stayed at a place called McMillan’s. It was tops.

Incorrect

You are not wrong about Smoky Cape Lighthouse, stayed there last November, cannot wait to go back again.
I often go to the mid North Coast and stay at Port Macquarie and then about an hours north at Grassy Head and Stuarts Point. Used to have great accommodation at a place called Grassy Head hideaway but the property is up for sale now, been staying there either around November or March pretty often for the last 15 years or so. Still like Port Mac but it is definitely getting busier.

View attachment 83307

View attachment 83308

Breakfast with a view

View attachment 83310
Where is exactly is that breakfast photo taken from mate?? Looks awesome - the breakfast and the view!!!

horrie hastings

The beauty is that every place is unique in it's own way - we are blessed. Suity has an affiliation with the NSW south coast and he's not alone by a long shot. I love it because it's different. Cooler climate, the colour of the ocean, the scenery and just the general vibe.

View attachment 83309

So many nice spots down the South Coast, the main problem is the Princes Hwy is shit for most of its length past Berry and also you have to drive through that shit hole that is called Nowra, once you are past Nowra the world is your oyster, speaking of oysters the south coast has the best oysters in Australia.

horrie hastings

Where is exactly is that breakfast photo taken from mate?? Looks awesome - the breakfast and the view!!!

Here is the website

Eelogical

Yes I did use that train. To get to the brewery and Elements (new trendy resort).
I used to go to Byron all the time when I was a youngin'. I was born in Lismore, Byron was a defunct whaling station by the time we used to go there on family outings. Fast forward to today I can still see elements of the past that have been interwoven into the Byron of today. The solar train fits. That train line has some history.

horrie hastings

I'll be honest. We stayed there a few years ago and Pat (in the video) told me was thinking about retirement due to health reasons. I dare say that there's now new people to take his place. We intend to go back.

Yes the couple who run it now are John and Therese. great hosts, John would come in a cook up anything you wanted for breakfast in the morning and Therese gave us a tour of the lighthouse on our last morning. John went fishing on the beach just south of the Lighthouse and caught some whiting and gave them to us for dinner. Nothing was to much for them, it was such a magical spot. One of the kangaroos followed John into the house while we were there.

20231117_114742.jpg

Eelogical

Nothing wrong with the South Coast. I also like it down there. I like Jervis Bay, Mollymook and Narooma. Stayed at all of them. Mate also had a joint at Bermagui and I’ve stayed there too. Bit too cold that far south though.

Metung in Victoria was awesome. Stayed at a place called McMillan’s. It was tops.
I would say that NSW has the best coastline within the eastern OZ states from where I've visited. That's a big call considering I'm now a Queenslander and have checked it all out.

Incorrect

Here is the website

Ta mate!!

Eelogical

Yes the couple who run it now are John and Therese. great hosts, John would come in a cook up anything you wanted for breakfast in the morning and Therese gave us a tour of the lighthouse on our last morning. John went fishing on the beach just south of the Lighthouse and caught some whiting and gave them to us for dinner. Nothing was to much for them, it was such a magical spot. One of the kangaroos followed John into the house while we were there.
Ha! When we were there we didn't see a roo but we were invaded by grasshoppers on the fly screens. That just added to the time there.

Eelogical

So many nice spots down the South Coast, the main problem is the Princes Hwy is shit for most of its length past Berry and also you have to drive through that shit hole that is called Nowra, once you are past Nowra the world is your oyster, speaking of oysters the south coast has the best oysters in Australia.
Mrs reckons that Jim Wilde's oysters in Greenwell Point are the ducks guts.

horrie hastings

Mrs reckons that Jim Wilde's oysters in Greenwell Point are the ducks guts.

Haven't tried them from Jim Wildes but remember being down there at Greenwall Point quite a few years ago and driving around to the oysters shacks on the river and picking up two dozens oysters for $22, they were good. I reckon the best ones i had from the south were from Wapengo Lake, got them while staying at Bermagui, they were sensational.

Ultimately it comes down to what you want in a holiday. Personal preferences. Do you want action? Do you want peace? Do you want to explore......
I like the Sth coast cause it is quiet and I got to get away from people. If you wanted excitement it's not the place. If you wanted laid back and chill with no dressing up then it's the place.
100% ... every holidy is good as long as the person doing it enjoys it in whatever way they want .... once again the smartest, most balanced, intelligent opinion ... its no wonder you have been upgraded from 85 to 95%