Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

It's a legit entry within the paypal site. Accessed after logging in. Not phishing at all.

Attachments

• Clipboard01.jpg
    Clipboard01.jpg
    62.2 KB · Views: 13

I have a paypal account and never got that.

Sounds odd.

Why would paypal care about your ID as long as your credit card is OK ?

That's enough info for some one to steal your ID

Begin rant:

I'm so sick of trying to find new work. I've been to so many interviews, felt really good about it, and been knocked back.

/rant

Incorrect

I'm with Twiz here... That makes no sense to me. Come to think of it, I've never been asked for my password for any proof of ID by any site... Identity thieves usually require the sorts of details required in a passport, plus current residential/postal address....

I wouldn't be sending anything through.

I don't even let RSL and Leagues clubs scan my license if I need to sign in, I always sign in manually. How can they guarantee that their DB and Sys Admins aren't going to go rogue and take a dump of all those details they have got scanned and on sell them to some people who want to engage in ID theft??? They can't. So that's why I never let them scan anything

Begin rant:

I'm so sick of trying to find new work. I've been to so many interviews, felt really good about it, and been knocked back.

/rant
Keep at it mate, you'll get there champ.

I know a while back I was struggling to find something and a great job landed in my lap.

Incorrect

Begin rant:

/rant

Don't blame ya mate. I know a few former colleagues at the place I used to work at who have been made redundant on the last few months and they are struggling to land another role. Good people too who work hard and are passionate but they just can't secure anything despite feeling like they nailed the interview. It's especially worrying for those with young families and who are the main breadwinners in the family.

Hope you land something soon mate, and don't give up or get too despondent. Keep at it!

I'm with Twiz here... That makes no sense to me. Come to think of it, I've never been asked for my password for any proof of ID by any site... Identity thieves usually require the sorts of details required in a passport, plus current residential/postal address....

I wouldn't be sending anything through.

I don't even let RSL and Leagues clubs scan my license if I need to sign in, I always sign in manually. How can they guarantee that their DB and Sys Admins aren't going to go rogue and take a dump of all those details they have got scanned and on sell them to some people who want to engage in ID theft??? They can't. So that's why I never let them scan anything

There's all sorts of things that can trigger it. Send / receive a large amount of money. Your credit card provider reports suspicious activity (which could be genuine activity), and this flows to Paypal.

Which could have stemmed from the merkin who break and entered my gmail account and somehow flogged $US5k from my CC when I was in the USA.

Kornstar

It's a legit entry within the paypal site. Accessed after logging in. Not phishing at all.

Did they address you by your full name? PayPal always use your full name I believe.

It's a legit scam site I'd imagine. Probably accepts any password too.

yy_cheng

Merkins, Paypal have emailed me saying that my account has been limited. To change the status I need to send them a copy of my passport and council rates to confirm my identity.

This is a legit paypal request (ie not from a phishing site).

Has anyone else been asked to provide ID etc ? I am reluctant to say the least.

Ditch the account. Use another pc, login and delete your credit card.

Then go and create a new paypal acct

Oh and report it.

I have a credit card which has a small limit. It is the only credit card I use with paypal and online.

My normal credit card is not used online unless it's from the banks website for bpay, etc

yy_cheng

The problem is that email is not secure. I have been dealing with financial institutions who say they will protect my privacy but then ask u to send them all your details like tax returns, drivers license et Al via email

yy_cheng

Lol, I have heaps of Gmail accts and forward it to my real email acct which is also Gmail.

Anyway, just got a PayPal email to one of my other email account asking for info too. This account is not even linked to my paypal

Keep at it mate, you'll get there champ.

I know a while back I was struggling to find something and a great job landed in my lap.

Don't blame ya mate. I know a few former colleagues at the place I used to work at who have been made redundant on the last few months and they are struggling to land another role. Good people too who work hard and are passionate but they just can't secure anything despite feeling like they nailed the interview. It's especially worrying for those with young families and who are the main breadwinners in the family.

Hope you land something soon mate, and don't give up or get too despondent. Keep at it!

That's no good mate. I guess all you can do is keep trying (or maybe give it a break for a week and get stuck in again).

Thanks, guys.

My problem is I really hate my current job - boss is...no good.

And I have been to two interviews in the last month (one of which was last night) where I got really, really positive vibes from them, and I was knocked back.

In fact, for the first job, I hate to sit two online tests and then schedule a phone interview - this all happened inside of a week. Everything was going so swimmingly, and then they dropped me cold.

Last night, I was on fire - I got involved in the group stages, asked a lot of questions, and I could see in their faces they were impressed.

But today, the phone call came that, "Sorry! You're not getting hired!"

I'm really bummed. I have a resume that is obviously attracting interest, but for some reason, when I actually go to interviews, I am being put on the shelf - the only logical conclusion is I am somehow off-putting.

The thing that gets me is that these two jobs I was knocked back for were perfect for me, and after they showed so much interest in me, to not go forward with me after that...It's very hurtful.

Worst part for me is that I have to keep going to my current job.

I am very bummed out.

And I apologise for monopolising the thread - I just needed to vent.

Chin up mate. The aspirational always achieve great things in the end.

Your time will come.

Lol, I have heaps of Gmail accts and forward it to my real email acct which is also Gmail.

Anyway, just got a PayPal email to one of my other email account asking for info too. This account is not even linked to my paypal

which pretty much proves its a scam