Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

And another thing is there one Islamic country in the world where women can freely wear within reason of course whatever they want and act within reason as per western standards ? I don't think so. Yet we in the western nations must pander to their every demand and allow them to build mosques wherever that want ? How many churches are there in Saudi Arabia again? I'll give you a hint it's less than one, Christians are even banned to practice their religion despite 3 million residing amongst its borders.

We are a tolerant society, and allow religions of all creeds to practice as they wish. It is what makes Australia a great country. It is why we have accepted all races and nationalities to join us and share in our prosperity. It does not mean we will accept terrorism, nor does it mean we condone it.
I'm not sure what other countries do is of any relevance to our situation.

Sure there is. Malaysia. What women wear seems to be optional.

They have got the whole multicultural thing 100% under control there. Chinese, Muslims, Hindus, Bhuddists, Christians all live in harmony.

I like Malaysia. Love the food. Great people. Lots of cool places like KL, Langkawi, Penang & Tioman Island.

What, and make them angrier?
Yeh, ok. That'll work.

As I said, this war will not be won by anybody. Only the innocents will be the victims.

If you're worried about poking the lion, then they will win.

We need to attack them from all angles. If Anonymous can hack their systems, jam their connections then more the merrier.

These ISIS merkins are idiot amateurs who rely on brain washing the vulnerable to carry our their deeds. Just remember who these ISIS people are: they are western Sydney bouncers, worksite standover thugs and teenagers with little understanding of what they are getting into. They are not professional military with any training other than how to pull a trigger and build rudimentary explosives.

They get caught more times then they succeed.

Their effectiveness can be eroded, like they have done with Al Qaeda.

Yeh, and that worked.

Al Qaeda died. ISIS was born. ISIS dies. Another bunch of killers is born elsewhere.
Your idea of retribution is what caused this in the first place.
I have no answer in any way on how to solve this. But, neither do much smarter and more powerful people than me.
It is a war that will continue indefinitely, and nobody will ever win. There will only be perennial losers, and sadly, many innocent victims.

Yeh, and that worked.

Al Qaeda died. ISIS was born. ISIS dies. Another bunch of killers is born elsewhere.
Your idea of retribution is what caused this in the first place.
I have no answer in any way on how to solve this. But, neither do much smarter and more powerful people than me.
It is a war that will continue indefinitely, and nobody will ever win. There will only be perennial losers, and sadly, many innocent victims.

It's time to fight, not cave in mate.

George Bush decided to fight in 2002, and it's why we are where we are now.
I'm not caving in, but your aggressive approach is pointless. It won't win and in fact, it only makes things worse.
History proves so.
More violence against violence.
Yeh, great stuff mate.

George Bush decided to fight in 2002, and it's why we are where we are now.
I'm not caving in, but your aggressive approach is pointless. It won't win and in fact, it only makes things worse.
History proves so.
More violence against violence.
Yeh, great stuff mate.

I think you need to accept that Bush, Howard and Co with their weapons of mass destruction and idea of getting Sadam out of power was what was flawed.

They went in without a plan and had no idea what the end game was.

This situation needs to be managed better but to roll over and accept that the world has changed and our children's safety is a thing of the past is unacceptable IMHO.

I think you need to accept that Bush, Howard and Co with their weapons of mass destruction and idea of getting Sadam out of power was what was flawed.

They went in without a plan and had no idea what the end game was.

This situation needs to be managed better but to roll over and accept that the world has changed and our children's safety is a thing of the past is unacceptable IMHO.

Our children's safety is already compromised. You still haven't explained how trying to blast them out of submission whether it be via force or via the interwebs or any other means you are suggesting, is going to solve the situation.
I've laid my solution on the table. That is, no matter what, there WILL BE NO SOLUTION.
Just for your information, as you know, I work on building sites. Generally, not the most thought provoking arenas for political discussion.
I've lost count of the amount of times I've heard it suggested that the middle east should be nuked. It's just like having smoko with Pauline Hanson.

Of all the people on here that have been discussing this issue, you have come closest to those views, and dare I say it, you have been the least informative and enlightening on any solution to this conflict.

Our children's safety is already compromised. You still haven't explained how trying to blast them out of submission whether it be via force or via the interwebs or any other means you are suggesting, is going to solve the situation.
I've laid my solution on the table. That is, no matter what, there WILL BE NO SOLUTION.
Just for your information, as you know, I work on building sites. Generally, not the most thought provoking arenas for political discussion.
I've lost count of the amount of times I've heard it suggested that the middle east should be nuked. It's just like having smoko with Pauline Hanson.

Of all the people on here that have been discussing this issue, you have come closest to those views, and dare I say it, you have been the least informative and enlightening on any solution to this conflict.

I never said blow the shit out of them. I never said nuke them. I have no answer but what ever happens we need to slow their momentum, stop them funding terrorism in western cities etc. We need to chip away at them. Starve them of supplies. Who knows.

Whatever the answer is it's fair better than yours which seems to be giving up and seemingly conceding defeat.

I never said blow the shit out of them. I never said nuke them.
And I didn't say that you did say that.
I have no answer
You got that bit right, but yet, in your next sentence, you come up with an answer....
but what ever happens we need to slow their momentum, stop them funding terrorism in western cities etc. We need to chip away at them. Starve them of supplies. Who knows.

You certainly don't.
Whatever the answer is it's fair better than yours which seems to be giving up and seemingly conceding defeat.

I'm not conceding defeat and never have. I've just said there WILL BE NO WINNERS out of this. None. There will only be victims.

And I didn't say that you did say that.

You got that bit right, but yet, in your next sentence, you come up with an answer....

You certainly don't.

I'm not conceding defeat and never have. I've just said there WILL BE NO WINNERS out of this. Nonue. There will only be victims.

There are never winners in a war. That's certainly no revelation.

The result will be worse however if you dont stand your ground and fight.

If you let them intimidate you then you will fail.

There are never winners in a war. That's certainly no revelation.

If you let them intimidate you then you will fail.

I couldn't agree more. They don't intimidate me. And there WILL be no winners. Thank you. It's been my argument all afternoon.

As for your sentence that I deleted, let's just agree to disagree. We are on different grounds regarding that.

Na, honestly, just nuke the f**kers. Its more a backwards cultral issue than anything else. These f**kers in the whole reigion, regardless of whether they're overtly supporting terrorism or not, are living this stupid archaic lifestyle that died out for the rest of the world over a thousand years ago. Is it wasnt for the oil, no one else would give a f**k & they would be free to do whatever the f**k they want. Only because of the oil, theyve got the funds to take their pathetic show on the road, and f**k it all for the rest of us. Nuke the merkins, I say.