Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread

Kornstar

Well yeah that's how they want us to react.

I'm not going to let it change my life. Having said that, I'm in New York for NYE. Do I take my family to Times Square to see the ball drop ? Not sure now.

I can tell you that it will change what I do. I will be at the Star Wars midnight screening next month and I will not be comfortable the whole time. There is probably only 1 band I will ever go and see again otherwise will not bother with live music anymore.

I will be on edge at every game for the Eels from now on.

Flying on planes will be given serious consideration. I have to fly to Hobart in February for a family wedding and that will not be a comfortable flight at all.

So they have won me over, they are getting what they want. I'm with Phelon, nuke them off the f**king map!!

Well yeah that's how they want us to react.

I'm not going to let it change my life. Having said that, I'm in New York for NYE. Do I take my family to Times Square to see the ball drop ? Not sure now.

Mine dropped when I was about 13 or 14. Hope it happens soon mate.

Abbott spent $80M on a Royal Commission to try and nail his opposition on something. Anything.

Meanwhile the LIBS give their shit away for free.

ABC News 24 ‏@ABCNews24 10m10 minutes ago
#BREAKING Victorian fraud detectives charge top Liberal with 44 counts of obtaining financial advantage totalling about $1.5m. #auspol

Tom Steinfort ‏@tomsteinfort 3m3 minutes ago
Latest: four police officers injured in Paris raid....investigators confirm a woman detonated her suicide vest

yy_cheng

What do women get promised in the after life?

That they don't have to be one of the women to eternally serve the male jihadists ?

What do women get promised in the after life?

That they don't have to be one of the women to eternally serve the male jihadists ?

My understanding is that suicide bombers think they are moving from this life to a new level closer to Allah or some shit like that. Its not death its entering a new life.

They are supposedly after the mastermind whom they thought fled to Syria, he has been hiding out in Nth Paris.

Its just breaking now on the ABC. Still a bit sketchy.

I wouldn't worry too much about shit happening here in Australia. Well, not compared to Europe, anyways.

Firstly, our borders are secure. Now I know that's a sore point for other reasons for some but it helps. There's no doubt that Daesh would have used the mass migration through Europe to slip a few sleepers in. That will be harder here.

Secondly, geography is our friend. It won't keep us safe but it's easier for Daesh to get into Europe and Asia than it is Australia. Not just in breaching our borders but in terms of the haul required to get to those borders in the first place.

This means that we're left facing, mostly, a threat that can be generated only from within. There will be, of course, influence from outside that seeps in (via the internetr, for example) but there will most likely not be any direct import of individuals that seek to create sleeper/terrorist cells within Australia. Luckily, we're a chilled out country and this will rub off a little bit even on those who might be able to be persuaded to fundamentalise. It's not a bullet proof shield, more like a bulwark, but it's better than nothing.

So, most likely, especially with our culture that is low on guns, we'll mostly be subjected to individuals who may tip over the edge. We're pretty good at spying on our own people, so groups will find it hard to get anything done. It's the lone wolves that will pop up every now and then and so we won't face anything like the 100+ from Paris any time soon.

The above is, obviously, only a guess, but they're pretty obvious factors that remove us from the likes of what has just happened in Paris.

There's a threat, no doubt, but I think it's less here in Australia than in places such as France.

I wouldn't worry too much about shit happening here in Australia. Well, not compared to Europe, anyways.

Firstly, our borders are secure. Now I know that's a sore point for other reasons for some but it helps. There's no doubt that Daesh would have used the mass migration through Europe to slip a few sleepers in. That will be harder here.

Secondly, geography is our friend. It won't keep us safe but it's easier for Daesh to get into Europe and Asia than it is Australia. Not just in breaching our borders but in terms of the haul required to get to those borders in the first place.

This means that we're left facing, mostly, a threat that can be generated only from within. There will be, of course, influence from outside that seeps in (via the internetr, for example) but there will most likely not be any direct import of individuals that seek to create sleeper/terrorist cells within Australia. Luckily, we're a chilled out country and this will rub off a little bit even on those who might be able to be persuaded to fundamentalise. It's not a bullet proof shield, more like a bulwark, but it's better than nothing.

So, most likely, especially with our culture that is low on guns, we'll mostly be subjected to individuals who may tip over the edge. We're pretty good at spying on our own people, so groups will find it hard to get anything done. It's the lone wolves that will pop up every now and then and so we won't face anything like the 100+ from Paris any time soon.

The above is, obviously, only a guess, but they're pretty obvious factors that remove us from the likes of what has just happened in Paris.

There's a threat, no doubt, but I think it's less here in Australia than in places such as France.

Who would have thought?

Imagine if the Paris crowd caught that merkin who let off fire crackers at Place de la Republique the other day.

cronriot.jpg

^^^ At least we have the Bogans in the Shire to protect us from Muzlims when they come.