Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NOT AGAIN!! Tim drinking already??/ Suspended indefinitely

So that article confirms Fitzy has said that Tim has been having counselling for 18 months... Tim has been having help, but clearly needs more help. He has also shown no regard for the club's support and expectations, so no wonder his future is now in jeopardy.

Having just read this thread from top to bottom for the first time, I'm just feeling... whoah. Cut him loose (is this what he wanted?) and he may make his recovery elsewhere to spite the club, plus there's no-one left to buy with Tim's 2008 money at this point of the year.

So how about this for a solution...

parra_eels_wenty_jersey.jpg

Keep Tim under contract (for 08 and 09 isn't it?), fine him substantially eg $50K as per probable warning last time, drop him to Wenty for the season, and devote some of his remaining salary to pay for some top of the line support/treatment. Not just AA, but something more specialised and tailored to Tim's situation.

That way we keep him on the books, support the guy appropriately, show some backbone in standards for our player's public profile, and if the demotion and support does the job, we can review him re-joining the NRL squad in 2009 for his final contract year. Or he can keep playing park footy for a year a la Jamie Lyon's release to Wee Waa if Tim puts one more foot wrong.

hey Barty

I hope we didn't put you off your dinner with this thread, I know it would of been the last thing you wanted to see after a day at work.

I just couldn't believe it Eela, to be honest. Went through all the emotions superquick, and feeling a bit more supportive of the guy now than reading the first page.

But not feeling too proud of Timmy - sorry, Tim - as an individual pissing away his opportunities, and also of whoever he'd been drinking with... lower graders, one report said? Maybe they had their eye on his spot, that's the only logic I can see to "mates" allowing a mate to break his contract situation like that.

bartman said:
I just couldn't believe it Eela, to be honest. Went through all the emotions superquick, and feeling a bit more supportive of the guy now than reading the first page.

But not feeling too proud of Timmy - sorry, Tim - as an individual pissing away his opportunities, and also of whoever he'd been drinking with... lower graders, one report said? Maybe they had their eye on his spot, that's the only logic I can see to "mates" allowing a mate to break his contract situation like that.

I like the kid alot Barty, but I'm with you, I just cannot believe he did this again, i just sense that we've run our race with this kid but at the same time I want to see him get his life back on track but it's obvious to me that can't do it here.

let's see what happens later this morning our time.

Yeah, I might have to stay up late to wait for the news to come through...

Maybe we could send him over to Les Catalans, I think they're still looking for a halfback?

bartman said:

Maybe we could send him over to Les Catalans, I think they're still looking for a halfback?

they may not be the only ones...:?

GizLoki

bartman said:
So that article confirms Fitzy has said that Tim has been having counselling for 18 months... Tim has been having help, but clearly needs more help. He has also shown no regard for the club's support and expectations, so no wonder his future is now in jeopardy.

Having just read this thread from top to bottom for the first time, I'm just feeling... whoah. Cut him loose (is this what he wanted?) and he may make his recovery elsewhere to spite the club, plus there's no-one left to buy with Tim's 2008 money at this point of the year.

So how about this for a solution...

parra_eels_wenty_jersey.jpg

Keep Tim under contract (for 08 and 09 isn't it?), fine him substantially eg $50K as per probable warning last time, drop him to Wenty for the season, and devote some of his remaining salary to pay for some top of the line support/treatment. Not just AA, but something more specialised and tailored to Tim's situation.

That way we keep him on the books, support the guy appropriately, show some backbone in standards for our player's public profile, and if the demotion and support does the job, we can review him re-joining the NRL squad in 2009 for his final contract year. Or he can keep playing park footy for a year a la Jamie Lyon's release to Wee Waa if Tim puts one more foot wrong.

Sounds like just about the best plan I've heard ! I especially like the part about using his fine to fund his rehab. I think I mentioned before, it sounds like he needs to actually visit one of those rehab places to dry out and find out why he turns to the drink. Counselling and will power alone have obviously failed.

GizLoki

bartman said:

I'll be doing the same - although I would think something will come through in the morning (Sydney time) so that would make it 10pm or so here in the UK. Not TOO bad...

correct me if I'm wrong but 10pm in the UK would me that it'd about 7am here?? if that's the case you'll have a longer wait than that, the scheduled meeting is for 10am Sydney time.

and that's not to say that there's a gurantee a decision on his future will be made after the meeting.

I would sleep lads and find out more in the morning.

GizLoki said:
Sounds like just about the best plan I've heard ! I especially like the part about using his fine to fund his rehab. I think I mentioned before, it sounds like he needs to actually visit one of those rehab places to dry out and find out why he turns to the drink. Counselling and will power alone have obviously failed.
I'd fine him (for charity) AND use some of what is left of his wage to fund the treatment. So that Tim is left with money in his pocket a bit better matched with a Wenty-level player.

As employer, the club can stipulate how his wage is offered to be paid, and I would imagine some of this would have been flagged with Tim at last week's meeting as conditions for future breaches. I'm all for workers rights, but after all it's the club's name and reputation being dragged through the news too, via their employee's off-field behaviour, and their investment in Tim going to pot the way he's handling himself.

GizLoki

eelavation said:
correct me if I'm wrong but 10pm in the UK would me that it'd about 7am here?? if that's the case you'll have a longer wait than that, the scheduled meeting is for 10am Sydney time.

and that's not to say that there's a gurantee a decision on his future will be made after the meeting.

I'll correct you then ;-)

10am in Sydney is 11pm here...

...and about the "lads" comment too :lol:

eelavation said:

Daylight savings changes everything... we're 11 hours behind Sydney at the moment, so 11am Sydney is now midnight over here. That might be when I have to hit the sack on a Thursday night...

GizLoki said:
I'll correct you then ;-)

10am in Sydney is 11pm here...

...and about the "lads" comment too :lol:

cool..that's how much i know :lol:

it's 3:45am here at the moment and I'm still a couple of hours away from finishing a night shift, so you'll have to excuse me..;-)

GizLoki

eelavation said:
cool..that's how much i know :lol:

it's 3:45am here at the moment and I'm still a couple of hours away from finishing a night shift, so you'll have to excuse me..;-)

Night shift - tough luck there ! You're more than excused :)

eelavation said:
oooopps! sorry love!!

No worries, its all good !

Night shift Eela, you might be touch and go to hit the pillows before Tim's meeting is through...

bartman said:
Night shift Eela, you might be touch and go to hit the pillows before Tim's meeting is through...

I'd be more than happy to sleep through it and I'll make sure phone is off too...;-)