Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL 360 + other footy shows

Delboy

Yeah whats the deal with him saying "on this show last week I said ...blah blah blah about the Raiders"

As the reason Raiders then been having heated conversations with each other and its all coming out LOL

Worst journo for mine. I can cop Kent and Buzz over him any day
True, but Creepy Crawley has them all covered and some, he is an absolute flog, and beating Slothfield takes some real effort. If he crawled any further up the Roosters , eyes would water. Can’t stand the prick.

Incorrect

True, but Creepy Crawley has them all covered and some, he is an absolute flog, and beating Slothfield takes some real effort. If he crawled any further up the Roosters , eyes would water. Can’t stand the prick.
I can't split a Hooper and Crawley tbh... Both are a cure for constipation and give me that shits...

Busted capillary face Buzz is still the worst, drunken old merkin. He’d pull his pants down to anyone for a story.

And he seriously is Uncle Nicks bitch, pathetic drunken slob.

hybrideel

I watched it for the first time the other night and Crawley is definitely the worst for mine. The way he was talking about how Robinson in the after match press conference the other week said that it needs to change and players have to get 10 or sent off to give advantage to the team that is fouled, and then couldn't believe that nothing happened in our game as if because Robbo said it, it has to happen.
Nothing mentioned about no Roosters being binned for multiple cynical 6 agains though even thought here was a warning early in the game

parra pete

Nick Walshaw at Tele is, in my opinion, the best sports journo. Love the way he writes - always throws in a good cliche` - and a good bloke with it..

T.S Quint

It’s like both Nine and Fox know exactly what we want and keep giving it to us.
I mean people have been calling for more Hadley on NRL coverage for years. And Cam Smith is a player beloved by all, it’s so great that we will see him on Nine.

These will be great additions to our favourites like Ennis, Anasta, Corey Parker, Blocker, Gould, Fittler and all the other wonderful experts we tune in to hear every week.

Oh and more Matt Nable promos please.

TheRam

I think DBrown has contributing greatly to our attack indirectly, through his defense

Watch him closely, he shuts down potential breaks, and has saved some tries

I think these following stats are amazing for a 5/8th, Which other 6 or 7 does this?

He goes looking to tackle/shut down raids. His attitude to defense is brilliant

Source nrl.com

Tackles/Missed tackles (one on one tackles)

1 Broncos 29-1 (3)
2 Storm 42-1 (3)
3. Sharks 30-1 (2)
4. Tigers 39-3 (2)
5. Dragons 29-0 (1)
7. Broncos 25-0 (1)
8. Dogs 30-0 (2)
9. Roosters 26-1 (1)

Have a look at Luke Brooks trying to run down Peacheys try for 50 metres over the weekend

With 20-25 metres to go before the try line Brooks got within a dive attempt, but didnt dive

If Brown was in the exact same position,I have no question of a doubt he puts a big dive in trying to tackle or ankle tap him at the worst

No one has ever criticised him for his defense. We all know how good he is in that area. But like the saying goes, there are two sides to the game and he sucks at the other one.

For a half to suck at offense, it's like a prop sucking at hitting it up. It is a paramount skill that he must posses.

This is why he needs to force himself into the game and become a genuine support player. Always sniffing around the dummy half or pushing up the middle third, just in case. If he did that, his offensive skills will slowly start to improve out of sight. He just needs to commit to it and the good moments will happen. BA needs to push him into this direction. Otherwise the way he is currently playing in attack he is a stifling handbrake out there and totally out of sorts.

No one has ever criticised him for his defense. We all know how good he is in that area. But like the saying goes, there are two sides to the game and he sucks at the other one.

For a half to suck at offense, it's like a prop sucking at hitting it up. It is a paramount skill that he must posses.

This is why he needs to force himself into the game and become a genuine support player. Always sniffing around the dummy half or pushing up the middle third, just in case. If he did that, his offensive skills will slowly start to improve out of sight. He just needs to commit to it and the good moments will happen. BA needs to push him into this direction. Otherwise the way he is currently playing in attack he is a stifling handbrake out there and totally out of sorts.
I reckon that merkins are too impatient for these 6s & 7s to contribute at such young ages. It's almost as if we expect every half that emerges to be that once in a generation player.

Let's take Luke Keary for example. He made his FG debut at age 21 at Souths in 2013. He showed glimpses of talent yet even in 2016 at age 24, Russell Crowe accused him of being an overpaid hack.

Our boy Moses, copped it deluxe for years and years. Now at age 27 he is finally got his game together.

Everyone with half an NRL brain says that halves don't hit their peak until age 27. Dylan Brown was born in 2000 FFS.

Twitter was going off yesterday bc Parra had the temerity to re-sign Moses for 3+ years, when we have Brown (21) and Jake Arthur (18). :rolleyes:

TheRam

I don't know what some of you bloke's are on about. Seriously, support your team by all means but both Marata and Dylan came up with pretty awful pieces of foul play. They're both very lucky, and we as fans of the team are lucky, that both didn't get put in the bin at the very least. And yeah, we all know what Felice Kaufusi did and got away with against us, but that doesn't mean other pieces of foul play should go be let go - 2 wrong don't make a right.

This place would be in absolute meltdown if our fullback and captain copped a shot like Tedesco did from Marata and if we lost our starting 6 with broken ribs and a punctured lung because of knees to the back. Both deserve the criticism, both will rightly face the consequences. I don't think any of the commentary around this that I've seen has been unfair or over the top at all.

You are spot on with Dillbags, but wrong with Marata. He was bracing himself as Teddy dropped a foot as he approached the tackle. The NRL will never eradicate that type of miss tackle no matter what type of draconian harsh penalties they impose on or off the field. It is a split second collision sport, accidents will always happen.

The NRL has officially lost the plot and the common sense feel for the game as is evidenced by their over the top mandate this weekend. So amateurish reactive behaviour. I thought V'Landys was better then this. Obviously he has the wrong people in his ear.

League needs to stop trying to wow or/and make everyone happy. Swan Lake, for example, is for the sophisticated whereas league has always been for the masses. So when was the last time we saw a male ballerina take out one of the swans so as to appeal to us?

We are what we are. Be proud of our heritage and move forward with warts and all(not referring to genuine foul play). Just like how V'Landys showed the world that we can do things that others can't at the start of the COVID outbreak and be damned with public opinion and social justice warrior nonsense. Our sport is fast impact and brutal. It's in our DNA. The public love that part of our game. Sometimes this goes wrong by accident and sometimes on purpose. We need to identify the difference as best we can and act appropriately.

The majority of the public will respond well with that, the ones that don't, well who cares, they can go and watch Swan Lake ffs as they always have.

Gazzamatta

I reckon that merkins are too impatient for these 6s & 7s to contribute at such young ages. It's almost as if we expect every half that emerges to be that once in a generation player.

Let's take Luke Keary for example. He made his FG debut at age 21 at Souths in 2013. He showed glimpses of talent yet even in 2016 at age 24, Russell Crowe accused him of being an overpaid hack.

Our boy Moses, copped it deluxe for years and years. Now at age 27 he is finally got his game together.

Everyone with half an NRL brain says that halves don't hit their peak until age 27. Dylan Brown was born in 2000 FFS.

Twitter was going off yesterday bc Parra had the temerity to re-sign Moses for 3+ years, when we have Brown (21) and Jake Arthur (18). :rolleyes:
I rewatched the Chooks game and deliberately watched Drown closely. He had a great game. He's building his game and improving. His recent dropped balls are the only issue I've had with his form and there were none of those V the Chooks. Can't wait for him to return. He will be missed.

This day and age, people want things NOW!! We should be winning games by 50 if Brown had his attacking shit together :rolleyes:

Cant recall a half at 20yo, contributing to the result via his D, as much as Brown has over the last 40 years

TheRam

Both those example were always showing brilliance at different aspects of the offensive game, particularly passing, which as a half you need to be above average or you may as well go sit in the stand with the rest of us mugs. They just needed more time to come to grips with the physicality, speed, and mental demons in Moses's case.

Dillbags, is showing very little in the bread and butter side of the game for a half and that is astute passing. He has shown he has a decent short pass in him, but very little vision or long passing game at this stage.

Look at all the other halves that have gone on to make it beyond being just a solid half in the NRL. They all showed remarkable brilliance in attacking flare and nous in patches. He hasn't shown much with the ball in hand at all so far that has convinced me of anything. Even J. Thurston was showing that he was a great support player when at the Dogs coming off the bench at 18 years of age. That is another example of why I believe he should focus on support. If he did that, the rest will come. He can then build his game from there.

Oh and yeah, Rusty just let their best playmaker and undisputed best kicker, in all aspects of the game, in the NRL walk. That says it all. Games are built around playmakers. You let every other player walk before you let on of the top 3-4 halves in the game walk.

Unless you have a Walker type in the lower grades waiting in the wings. But even then it is a MASSIVE risk.

Their premiership window as of next year...OVER!

TheRam

I rewatched the Chooks game and deliberately watched Drown closely. He had a great game. He's building his game and improving. His recent dropped balls are the only issue I've had with his form and there were none of those V the Chooks. Can't wait for him to return. He will be missed.

Yep I agree. In defense.

In the telegraph today

Surely we give him a crack to improve our halves attacking stats ?

Plus as he says, people are not watching NRL since he left...

Though he does mention people love watching attacking sides like Parra :)

040D6ABB-023F-4DB0-BCA9-9C4527107609.jpeg FE611A5E-55D9-41FA-8E1B-2888AAAF0226.jpeg

It’s like both Nine and Fox know exactly what we want and keep giving it to us.
I mean people have been calling for more Hadley on NRL coverage for years. And Cam Smith is a player beloved by all, it’s so great that we will see him on Nine.

These will be great additions to our favourites like Ennis, Anasta, Corey Parker, Blocker, Gould, Fittler and all the other wonderful experts we tune in to hear every week.

Oh and more Matt Nable promos please.
I feel like i want to poke my eyes out and rip my ears off

but then i won't be able to see the gameday weather girl