Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL: Lets talk about relocating teams, says QRL boss.

Stallion

Then you really arent much of a fan. I supported my team as it got relegated not once but twice into a third division comp. Tough days but made promotion all the sweeter! Never missed a game even playing the likes of Barrow and Runcorn! Many of my clubs fans actually preferred the experience of playing in the championship over Superleague.

I tell you what PR. I also have an English soccer team. Guess what ?Since their relegation they are not spoken of and have no relevance. This side is Leeds United. Kids at school would ask what EPL side I go for and I simply state "My team isn't there anymore." When I tell them whom it is they all look at me in a puzzled way wondering where that club is from!

Considering Leeds are avg'ing about 30,000 crowds I'm not sure that's a great example of your argument about second division obscurity!

taipan

But these clubs have at least 250k fans, Roy Morgan says so!

At the moment you'd have to say Manly and to a lessor degree Sharks remain faves to get into dire financial strife and have to go cap in hand to the other clubs. Will be really interesting to see what their response will be! There isnt actually huge sums in the sinking fund, certainly not in the immediacy.
Id rather see them drop into NSW cup and a license be made available to an expansion area than relocation though.

You wish.
If any clubs get into the sh*t they won't be able to go cap in hand for a start.

Just get your economy up to scratch, and hope China and India keep buying and we don't have another 2008

Look forward to a 2nd Brisbane side and it looks like a PNG NRL side now if Short*arse gets in.Thos areas at least are strong rl areas.

Stallion

Considering Leeds are avg'ing about 30,000 crowds I'm not sure that's a great example of your argument about second division obscurity!

It is in the big picture of Australian sport. The tyranny of distance in Australia you continue to ignore. And also the advantage of established supporter bases that happen to be Australia wide.

Diesel

It appears the clubs in the NSW Cup without a NRL team are better supported than the NSW Cup teams that also have one at NRL level.

The large majority of people will support the elite level of the club over the lower tiers

It is in the big picture of Australian sport. The tyranny of distance in Australia you continue to ignore. And also the advantage of established supporter bases that happen to be Australia wide.

Hang on, you gave an example of Leeds dropping out of the top level and claimed this drop stopped them being well supported, yet I proved that even though that happened years ago they still draw 30,000 plus crowds! It was a terrible examp,e to try and prove your point lol

Just get your economy up to scratch, and hope China and India keep buying and we don't have another 2008

2008?thats when we had our biggest boom since the discovery of gold. Another gfc and China trying to bu8ld its way out of it would suit us nicely thank you.

We’ll be right though thanks, no need to worry, it’s unlikely the world is going to stop wanting steel, gold, diamonds, lng, uranium, lithium and all the other sht we dig out the ground over here. Over $10billion of new mine sites in WA announced in last 6 months plus getting out gst back meanthe WA Govt will be flush again for next few years.

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/ne...t/news-story/3f308ce118d8b918dd3b1a277abf8b68

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-07...looks-for-workers-for-new-mining-boom/9959376

https://thewest.com.au/news/wa/was-...-as-boom-returns-to-the-pilbara-ng-b88867211z

https://www.smh.com.au/business/com...expand-already-in-motion-20181116-p50gie.html

https://www.smh.com.au/business/com...-ore-mine-in-the-pilbara-20181129-p50j1h.html

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-06-15/bhp-approves-4-billion-dollar-mine-expansion/9874086

https://www.businessinsider.com.au/fortescue-eliwana-iron-ore-mine-2018-5

https://www.watoday.com.au/national...wa-s-stranded-gas-fields-20180507-p4zdu5.html

Stallion

It appears the clubs in the NSW Cup without a NRL team are better supported than the NSW Cup teams that also have one at NRL level.

The large majority of people will support the elite level of the club over the lower tiers

Yes. Identity is important and signicant. This is why people like Wayne Bennet noted clubs like South Sydney fight for identity as honorable pursuits. To have the identity of a top flight club destroyed as seen with North Sydney and the resultant demise of the code in Northern Sydney is not good for rugby league. The battle for maintaining identity and a club's 'place in the sun' is crucial in the credibility and popularity of a top flight competition such as the NRL. 2nd best just doesn't mix it when your club is part of the best comp in the world. Especially in the sparcely populated realms of Australia.

Stallion

Hang on, you gave an example of Leeds dropping out of the top level and claimed this drop stopped them being well supported, yet I proved that even though that happened years ago they still draw 30,000 plus crowds! It was a terrible examp,e to try and prove your point lol

You didn't even get it dummy! The kids whom foliow the EPL intently didn't know Leeds ever existed! Geez your thick!

Te Kaha

You didn't even get it dummy! The kids whom foliow the EPL intently didn't know Leeds ever existed! Geez your thick!

Little bit of advice here, If you are going to call someone "thick" when you post, you should probably do a spot of proof reading first.

"foliow" is not a word and makes you look "thick"

and its "you're thick" not "your thick". here are some examples for you since you don't seem to understand.

"Stallion you're Stupid"
"Stallion you're incapable of coherent thought"
"Stallion you're a mental midget"

As apposed to

"Stallion your posts show you aren't very intelligent"
"Stallion your ability to rationalise an argument is missing"
"Stallion your skills as any form of teacher are non existent"

The Great Dane

If it’s even true, all your anecdote proves is that there are a handful of kids in Newcastle that don’t/didn’t know that Leeds United exist... Not that Leeds United’s support has tanked or anything of the sort...

BTW, if you don’t follow them anymore just cause they were relegated then you were never much of a fan in the first place.

Stallion

Little bit of advice here, If you are going to call someone "thick" when you post, you should probably do a spot of proof reading first.

"foliow" is not a word and makes you look "thick"

and its "you're thick" not "your thick". here are some examples for you since you don't seem to understand.

"Stallion you're Stupid"
"Stallion you're incapable of coherent thought"
"Stallion you're a mental midget"

As apposed to

"Stallion your posts show you aren't very intelligent"
"Stallion your ability to rationalise an argument is missing"
"Stallion your skills as any form of teacher are non existent"

Lol. Typo issues have been an issue with my comments. I should proof read better. So what explains your apathy and ignorance ? Mind you it's not just yourself! And I do appreciate some of your constructive comments.

Stallion

If it’s even true, all your anecdote proves is that there are a handful of kids in Newcastle that don’t/didn’t know that Leeds United exist... Not that Leeds United’s support has tanked or anything of the sort...

BTW, if you don’t follow them anymore just cause they were relegated then you were never much of a fan in the first place.

Lol. Handful of kids!? I teach at numerous schools. Thankfully I'm trying my best to proactively promote Rugby league /tag etc. Then again you wouldn't or couldn't see how this benefits a code!

Stallion

Not a very good reader are you?Inferential knowledge not in your capacity!? Work it out dodo!

The Great Dane

Lol. Handful of kids!? I teach at numerous schools. Thankfully I'm trying my best to proactively promote Rugby league /tag etc. Then again you wouldn't or couldn't see how this benefits a code!

Yes relatively a handful!

Even if you were teaching thousands of kids and you actually knew all of their opinions on Leeds United (which let’s be honest you haven’t been asking them all about Leeds United and don’t know whether or not the vast majority know if they exist or not) it’d still only be a drop in the ocean and not reflective of a segnificant proportion of the population.

You also don’t have any idea about how popular they were beforehand to compare your ‘findings’ to, so it’s impossible to know whether there’s actually been a drop in interest or whether they just weren’t that well known in the first place.

Also you’d have to compare the average visibility of football clubs from around the world to be able to see if Leeds United are a particularly let’s say unknown club compared to the others, cause I’d bet that outside of a handful of the big clubs that comparatively most clubs wouldn’t be very well known at all...

Even then we are talking about Newcastle in Australia, not exactly one of Leeds United’s target markets, so it’s likely that whether or not they’ve become more or less visible in Newcastle wouldn’t be at all reflective of there visibility or popularity in their target markets.

The Great Dane

Not a very good reader are you?Inferential knowledge not in your capacity!? Work it out dodo!
Throughout history people have inferred all sorts of things that were just plain wrong once they were properly assessed, like it was inferred that the sun orbited the earth and the not other way around, and on occasion inferential knowledge has lead to some terrible ‘knowledge’ that has lead to terrible things, like that different races of people are different species and that some of those species are superior to others...

If it doesn’t use the scientific method it isn’t worth the effort.

Stallion

Throughout history people have inferred all sorts of things that were just plain wrong once they were properly assessed, like it was inferred that the sun orbited the earth and the not other way around, and on occasion inferential knowledge has lead to some terrible ‘knowledge’ that has lead to terrible things, like that different races of people are different species and that some of those species are superior to others...

If it doesn’t use the scientific method it isn’t worth the effort.

Lol. Inconsistent and on yourself! Ignorance and apathy plus self indulgence doesn't cut it with me or others .

Talking top.flight champ. As a fan I would not be following the Roosters if they were shafted to 2nd division. Fans seek and want relevance in the top flight. If that isn't there the code loses most of them. It's quite logical but doesn't seem to have merit status on this forum.
'merit status'? lol.

You specifically called 2nd tier a death knell. "Death" indicates ceasing to function as a club, which neither Norths or Newtown have done.

titoelcolombiano

Because it is 2nd tier necessarily is that clubs death knell . You seriously reckon fans whom.have supported a club in the most attended and viewed top flight rugby league competition on Earth would settle for 2nd rate status!? It just doesn't pass the pub test!

You are taking the narrow view that the second teir should always be relegated to a feeder system for the NRL. The NSW Cup should have stand-alone clubs. In fact for me there is no reason, other than historical that the QLD and NSW Cups should be separate competitiions. They should be one comp, all matches broadcast on Fox Leage, maybe one a week on 9. The comp would generate as much revenue and ratings as the NBL in Australia for example and they manager to fly teams around from NZ all the way through to Perth. The league should feature clubs that can't quite keep up at NRL level. That way they can play out of traditional grounds and keep route in their community. The NRL can be the big show in the big stadia and the Intrust Super Cup can be the community game offering fans a point of difference to the NRL. In the ISC would go initially with:

North Sydney Bears
Newtown Jets
Wyong Roos
WA Pirates
Fiji
Central QLD Capras
East Brisbane Tigers
Ipswich Jets
North Brisbane Devils
PNG Hunters
Redcliffe Dolphins
Souths Logan Magpies
Sunshine Coast Falcons
Wynnum Manly Seagulls

All other current second teir clubs can play a level down in QLD Cup and NSW Cup alongside any other feeder clubs that want to enter a team. This league could be very well respected and would pull decent ratings. There would be no shame in a team like Manly moving to this league, getting to stay at Brooky indefinately and renewing their rivalry with the Bears. It would in fact elevate the Bears from their current position as an NRL feeder club. This league could also offer want some fans want, traditional rivalries in family friendly time-slots e.g. Bears v Manly at North Sydney Oval at 3pm Sunday, afternoon grand finals (could kick-off at 2 - 3pm at ANZ on GF day).

Then the NRL competition can strop have split-personality disorder and move into the new stadia and the future knowing that the fans of the old-school traditions are being catered for. All new clubs can start from ISP. I know it is a different sporting culture in England but having the excitement of the new big city team in Toronto come through the lower leagues and put focus on some of the old traditional clubs has tugged at the heart-strings. With this two-league strategy, no clubs have to die and no clubs have to relocate cities or even home grounds if they don't want to, they just play in the league that caters most to their fan base.

There is no reason why the NRL can't set up these two league in this fashion to cater for all footy fans as well as inviting new fans to the game. It would be revolutionary and it would be the first of it's kind in Australia, meaning that it would place the NRL in pole position moving forward. Let's get in first, how long do you think before the AFL has a second pro comp made up of second teir teams? Once they do it, we will wish we have acted first.

titoelcolombiano

There is no tyranny of distance mate! The Warriors can afford to fly a team around to compete in the NSW Cup, the PNG Hunters can afford to fly them around in the QLD Cup, Toronto can afford to play in league 1 and the championship, Perth and NZ both compete and fly around in the NBL (much, much lower revenue). It is not 1980 anymore, there is no tyranny of distance. These organisations have airline sponsorships and even semi-pro comps generate revenues that are very healthy.