Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Salary Cap/CBA -2023 - 2027

Vee

All this talk across multiple threads of clubs not being able to grow membership, I’ve not bought mine yet because to be honest with other life pressures it’s hard to fork out the $400+ on something like footy tickets. I’m not the only one who has made that decision I’m sure.
I'm a long-term member but have cut my level of membership over the years as life gets in the way. But worse than that is the woeful service of my club's membership office, drove me to distraction trying to renew each year. I bitched about it for years, now my mate has taken over the role and has not stopped whinging as he struggles to navigate the renewal process each year.

I feel no more than a cash cow to my club, they think they can treat me however they want and I'll just continue to give them money. After two seasons of full 12 game memberships for 4 people, I'm down to a basic no game membership with one mate and most of the reasons revolve around their incompetence and arrogance.

I might add that I'm an older guy with a large disposable income just bursting to support my club but club admin seem to have no clue about how to keep me on the hook so they can keep milking me despite telling them any number of times.

SIGH...(old man runs out of breath and stops yelling at clouds).

MugaB

I'm a long-term member but have cut my level of membership over the years as life gets in the way. But worse than that is the woeful service of my club's membership office, drove me to distraction trying to renew each year. I bitched about it for years, now my mate has taken over the role and has not stopped whinging as he struggles to navigate the renewal process each year.

I feel no more than a cash cow to my club, they think they can treat me however they want and I'll just continue to give them money. After two seasons of full 12 game memberships for 4 people, I'm down to a basic no game membership with one mate and most of the reasons revolve around their incompetence and arrogance.

I might add that I'm an older guy with a large disposable income just bursting to support my club but club admin seem to have no clue about how to keep me on the hook so they can keep milking me despite telling them any number of times.

Screenshot_20190827-135809_Samsung Internet.jpg

Yes and that is something the people who pay the $ want

Ie the fans

Who are being ignored in this dispute

Sorry but the fans are not the players bosses. In fact they have zero involvement in the player-club employment relationship. I wonder if you were told in your profession that you could only look for a new job at certain times of the year because some outside individuals, unknown to you, forced your employer to place this restriction on you. I bet you'd be outraged. On this point I do side with the players.

Some of their demands on other matters I don't (e.g. having a seat on the commission) but this is one i can see from their perspective. It is really none of our business in my book.

Looking at some club threads it seems you're experience isnt unique by any means. Maybe the NRl needs to bring it back inhouse like Dave Smith did, seemed to have much faster growth rate when they did that. Clubs are generally sht at fan revenue commercial things, great at pokie dens though.

AlwaysGreen

Looking at some club threads it seems you're experience isnt unique by any means. Maybe the NRl needs to bring it back inhouse like Dave Smith did, seemed to have much faster growth rate when they did that. Clubs are generally sht at fan revenue commercial things, great at pokie dens though.
And how would you like them to raise revenue?

Sausage sizzle at the local markets?
Full monty calendar?
Rummage sale of their old equipment?
Bingo night? Whoops, sorry that's gambling so a no no.

Pokies are just one, non compulsory, element of revenue. I'm sure you've got information showing that clubs are exclusively looking to pokie dens for income.

Although you're probably too busy trying to solve world hunger, the conflict in the Ukraine, whether Harry's schlong's frostbite has cleared up and other world crises to get back to me.

And how would you like them to raise revenue?

Sausage sizzle at the local markets?
Full monty calendar?
Rummage sale of their old equipment?
Bingo night? Whoops, sorry that's gambling so a no no.

Pokies are just one, non compulsory, element of revenue. I'm sure you've got information showing that clubs are exclusively looking to pokie dens for income.

Although you're probably too busy trying to solve world hunger, the conflict in the Ukraine, whether Harry's schlong's frostbite has cleared up and other world crises to get back to me.
Oh I dont know, maybe attract more paying customers? Yes a radical idea in the world of sales but there you go. Or yes they could stick with their 1980's meat raffle mentality that some seem unable to break away from and just keeping filling the hole with pokie cash at the expense of the community they purport to care about.

Either clubs only have a fanbase of 20-30k fans or they have a much bigger number than that and they are failing to engage miserably in any meaningful way when it comes to revenue. Which is it?

AlwaysGreen

Oh I dont know, maybe attract more paying customers? Yes a radical idea in the world of sales but there you go. Or yes they could stick with their 1980's meat raffle mentality that some seem unable to break away from and just keeping filling the hole with pokie cash at the expense of the community they purport to care about.

Either clubs only have a fanbase of 20-30k fans or they have a much bigger number than that and they are failing to engage miserably in any meaningful way when it comes to revenue. Which is it?
Well its obvious that clubs have more than 30k fans each, unless they are all millionaires providing hundreds of thousands of dollars each in revenue.

Are you seriously saying that the 'pokie dens' are supplying the bulk of the revenue?

AFL Red, marketing expert and community engagement expert purporting to know what is going on in Sydney from 6000 kms away.🤣🤣🤣

Unlike you and your fellow AFL fans, NRL supporters don't have to flop their dicks out to show they are fans.

Well its obvious that clubs have more than 30k fans each, unless they are all millionaires providing hundreds of thousands of dollars each in revenue.

Are you seriously saying that the 'pokie dens' are supplying the bulk of the revenue?

AFL Red, marketing expert and community engagement expert purporting to know what is going on in Sydney from 6000 kms away.🤣🤣🤣

Unlike you and your fellow AFL fans, NRL supporters don't have to flop their dicks out to show they are fans.
Ive never suggested its supplying the bulk of the revenue stop making sht up. For some clubs it is equal to a thrid or more of football club revenue. eg Bulldogs $8mill FC generated revenue, $3.6mill LC funding.

Ok so they've got a lot more fans than the current 20-30k that are putting money into the club. So what's that tell you?

And there you go, a sensible discussion once again dragged down to playground level. Well done you.

siv

I know of fans who engaged but are not interested in spend money on membership

They have their 15 caps

And now happy to sit back and enjoy the game on a big screen

AlwaysGreen

Ive never suggested its supplying the bulk of the revenue stop making sht up. For some clubs it is equal to a thrid or more of football club revenue. eg Bulldogs $8mill FC generated revenue, $3.6mill LC funding.

Ok so they've got a lot more fans than the current 20-30k that are putting money into the club. So what's that tell you?

And there you go, a sensible discussion once again dragged down to playground level. Well done you.
I've never has a sensible discussion with an AFL fan so why would it start with you?

I know of fans who engaged but are not interested in spend money on membership

They have their 15 caps

And now happy to sit back and enjoy the game on a big screen
Makes for an Interesting discussion on what makes a Fan a fan? Does watching the team occasionally on tv and maybe going to a gf if they get there make you a fan or a casual supporter? Then the $1million question, quite literally, is how do you convert your casual supporters to engaged fans who contribute to the club?

siv

Makes for an Interesting discussion on what makes a Fan a fan? Does watching the team occasionally on tv and maybe going to a gf if they get there make you a fan or a casual supporter? Then the $1million question, quite literally, is how do you convert your casual supporters to engaged fans who contribute to the club?
First definition what does it mean to

- Contribute to the club

Eg Watching on TV generates TV ratings. TV ratings generate revenue for the NRL & clubs

Pneuma

You destroy every thread here with your crap about sock puppets, pistol Pete and Pokie dens. Accusing anybody else of derailing threads is utter hypocrisy.

Wb1234

Sorry but the fans are not the players bosses. In fact they have zero involvement in the player-club employment relationship. I wonder if you were told in your profession that you could only look for a new job at certain times of the year because some outside individuals, unknown to you, forced your employer to place this restriction on you. I bet you'd be outraged. On this point I do side with the players.

Some of their demands on other matters I don't (e.g. having a seat on the commission) but this is one i can see from their perspective. It is really none of our business in my book.
Without fans there is no money

people in normal jobs can find a new job in weeks
I hate stereotyping.

But if you looked up whinging pom in the dictionary you'd see a pic of old mate AFL Red.
why anyone would listen to a pommie league fan who moved to an afl state as having any idea about rugby league in australia

Iamback

- Contribute to the club

Eg Watching on TV generates TV ratings. TV ratings generate revenue for the NRL & clubs

I am sure those people watch games at the club and buy merch from time to time

- Contribute to the club

To answer that you would have to know how many of the tv Audience we’re fans/supporters of the two clubs participating and how many are neutrals. We don’t have that data unfortunately so it’s impossible to say how valuable that is.

Pneuma

Without fans there is no money

people in normal jobs can find a new job in weeks

why anyone would listen to a pommie league fan who moved to an afl state as having any idea about rugby league in australia
Beautifully put but you forgot ‘with a massive chip on his shoulder’