Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Salary Cap/CBA -2023 - 2027

MugaB

God forbid blokes who bash themselves to pieces for your entertainment every week want some sort of access to assistance for issues after their career. I'd imagine the ongoing costs for something like neck or back surgery, or anything to do with CTE or brain issues, are a hell of a lot higher
Here's an idea, howabout those players who are advocating for extra money to go into a retirement fund, start putting their own hard earnt into that, instead of the thousands they are slapping thru the pokies most weeks, i was at the royal oak or tollgate most Saturday arvos, pre covid, and would see tons of NRL players run in for a slap, just feeding pineapples like they were going out of fashion, Jarryd Hayne, Correy Norman and Segeryaro were regulars... amongst other random players, im fairly sure its not just isolated as just parra players.. pretty sure northies has enough in the queen of the nile from both Wade"wheresmychicken"Graham, and Kurt"holdmytowel"Capewell plenty of cash could of been in that slush fund had they not punted it... fancy asking your employers that we need a rainy day fund incase we get injured on the job... its called insurance, wtf has it got to do with a collective bargaining agreement...
Its like we need to line up any wish in the world and attach it to this CBA... howabout adding another 15 free spins per player at the local pokie den.... or a free boxing gloves, headgear and punching bag for every retiring player to transition into boxing at seasons end, or a diamond ring for every retiring players wife... FMD

Reactions: Vee

siv

Interesting that the NRLW want more than 34% of revenue from what is made by the NRLW

Also SOO and IRL match revenue should be excluded from any NRL CBA revenue deals

Wb1234

I reckon they are just dirty about how the six again aswell as other interpretations of rules got ushered in so quickly mid season some years ago, so i get the frustration, but it shouldn't be so drastic with regards to rule changes anymore, and they most certainly should not be involved in creating rules
The continual rule changes is what ticked off dce.

Wb1234

My last knee reco I was still pretty much 8-10k out of pocket with private health when you included scans, excess, surgeons gap, physio gap, and all that shit.

God forbid blokes who bash themselves to pieces for your entertainment every week want some sort of access to assistance for issues after their career. I'd imagine the ongoing costs for something like neck or back surgery, or anything to do with CTE or brain issues, are a hell of a lot higher
Nrl players average wages are probably a lot more than yours and you still managed to pay for private healthcare and the gap

they could just be responsible human beings and pay the 10k out of pocket costs from one of the many houses they own

plus an acl is covered by current provisions anyway as they have 12 months after retirement to get stuff done

Wb1234

I get that but the big picture the NRL did what was best for the game. Clubs, Players will do what is best for them
Players and clubs have a responsibility to the game themselves

they both know they are getting excellent funding levels

stop the talk about breakaway leagues and strikes and stop negotiating through the media

afl don’t do this

Canard

I will always support workers pushing for better compensation and benefits from their employer.

Particularly one that literally relies on said workers to generate hundreds of millions annually.

I can't fathom how anyone can be loyal to administrators who could can be replaced overnight.

shaggs

The fans don’t understand when they call players greedy

it’s not about the salary cap

also why do players have to have operations privately funded ? Why can’t they just access Medicare if they don’t want to pay for private health care like most people on high wages
And join the ever growing waiting list for elective surgeries? Proffessional athletes added to the shit storm that is Medicare funded public surgery. Not the best idea

Maximus

Does Coke or Maccas consult the bottom level staff before they make changes to better the business

Ah because bottom level staff are just as important to Maccas and Coke as the players are to the NRL....

Without the players there is no NRL

Maximus

I will always support workers pushing for better compensation and benefits from their employer.

Particularly one that literally relies on said workers to generate hundreds of millions annually.

I can't fathom how anyone can be loyal to administrators who could can be replaced overnight.

Certain posters just love to lick Vlandys boot for some strange reason.

siv

Nrl players average wages are probably a lot more than yours and you still managed to pay for private healthcare and the gap

they could just be responsible human beings and pay the 10k out of pocket costs from one of the many houses they own

plus an acl is covered by current provisions anyway as they have 12 months after retirement to get stuff done
By law everyone should have Private Health Insurance, unless they choose to not get the gov rebates

Same goes for annual 10% super

Canard

Certain posters just love to lick Vlandys boot for some strange reason.

If Vlandys left tomorrow, the response from the rest of the game would be "next!"

And it wouldn't make one iota of difference to how the game is travelling.

Canard

By law everyone should have Private Health Insurance, unless they choose to not get the gov rebates

Same goes for annual 10% super

I don't believe thats correct

From what I understand, anyone can opt out of Private Health Insurance, you just pay more "tax" as a result. Happy to be corrected on this.

Can you imagine what the premiums' must be for players, it must be f**king massive, and no doubt like most junk insurance policies, only cover very limited amounts of medical expenses.

Wb1234

Administrators come and go, they are as replaceable as British PMs....
Exactly

have you seen how recent British pms have gone compared to someone like the better ones

the game is in a growth phase now because of the current leaders it’s not a fluke it’s happening

Perth are next

Actually I earn more than the minimum NRL wage. Not by much, mind you. But this idea that ALL of the players in the NRL are highly paid earning machines is wrong. David Fifita can pay his way the rest of his life and may not get approved to access the fund, depending on the set up. Can a bloke in the situation of say, Danny Sullivan years ago say the same though? Of course not.

It blows my mind that anyone could possibly argue against access to healthcare funding assistance for these guys. Especially when the folks doing the arguing already have it. And the inference that they're irresponsible for wanting it is frankly laughable

Wb1234

Actually I earn more than the minimum NRL wage. Not by much, mind you. But this idea that ALL of the players in the NRL are highly paid earning machines is wrong. David Fifita can pay his way the rest of his life and may not get approved to access the fund, depending on the set up. Can a bloke in the situation of say, Danny Sullivan years ago say the same though? Of course not.

It blows my mind that anyone could possibly argue against access to healthcare funding assistance for these guys. Especially when the folks doing the arguing already have it. And the inference that they're irresponsible for wanting it is frankly laughable
The nrl average wage is considerably higher

hey I’m waiting for surgery now you don’t see me complaining to my employer because I didn’t get private health care

The nrl average wage is considerably higher

hey I’m waiting for surgery now you don’t see me complaining to my employer because I didn’t get private health care

Bully for you. Unless you got injured at work it's not relevant though. And if you did, workers comp will pay for it. How completely irresponsible of you!