Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL's growth mindset points to 18th team. And it ain't Perth.

Iamback

This is very true, the Toyota cup should never have been disbanded, that was one of the best breeding grounds for RL for all clubs, warriors and canberra especially, if they had that back broncos would turn powerhouse in a few years (on field of course) but having all these split qrl clubs feeding into one broncos hasn't worked, not enough cohession in the junior squads to filter into 1st grade

You can blame QRL for that, they are also stopping a National Reserve grade comp

The Great Dane

I don`t think the Dolphin`s being ordinary should affect expansion plans as long as the new club is as cashed up as the Dolphins. The Dolphins are going to be a success, probably sooner rather than later with their wealth, another wealthy club the same. No mincing around get them both in.
How are we defining success at that point?

You're literally suggesting that the Dolphin's NRL side (i.e. their NRL franchise business) could be considered a success despite losing millions of dollars because they're being underwritten by the NRL grant and the Dolphins other businesses (i.e. gambling business), and you're not the only one.

I thought that the NRL was in the sports and entertainment industry, so shouldn't we use it's success, or lack there of, in that industry as the standard by which we measure it's success?

Furthermore, does Rugby League, or rather the NRL and ARLC, really have no higher ambition than to exist as a glorified avenue to advertise betting agencies and pokies?!

It's all just pretty sad really.

Wb1234

This is very true, the Toyota cup should never have been disbanded, that was one of the best breeding grounds for RL for all clubs, warriors and canberra especially, if they had that back broncos would turn powerhouse in a few years (on field of course) but having all these split qrl clubs feeding into one broncos hasn't worked, not enough cohession in the junior squads to filter into 1st grade
Gus saying it didn’t produce good nrl players cause the defence was crap

probably one of gallops best moves bringing it in

plus all a few youth suicides which they felt under 20s put too much pressure on them being on tv

mongoose

Gus saying it didn’t produce good nrl players cause the defence was crap

probably one of gallops best moves bringing it in

plus all a few youth suicides which they felt under 20s put too much pressure on them being on tv
i thought Gus was very strongly in favour of the under 20s? going by the few podcasts I have listened to he seems to be.

Yeh they cited it was due to player we;fare but I wonder if the real issue was cost? With the nrl finances looking much healthier it might be time to revisit with the clubs? U18’s amd U16’s can stay at state level and clubs should be encouraged to set aside X amount for funding these elite jnr programs properly. I suspect there could be a lot of variation in how much each clib is investing in those areas. Finally nrl needs to get ots sht together with partic[ation programs and areas that dont have an nrl club and therefore no elite pathways without moving.

MugaB

That says it’s a mistake scrapping it but I remember him being very critical that it didn’t prepare players for nrl because the defence was terrible
Penrith Panthers toyota cup side is basically the team that has just won back2back NRL titles,
Not sure if defense was ever an issue... probably lack of size back then and speed to burn around them as juniors, when you play NRL, the field wouldn't have the space of skinny teens, more of the wide load hunks

Iamback

Penrith Panthers toyota cup side is basically the team that has just won back2back titles,
Not sure if defense was ever an issue... probably lack of size and speed to burn around them

Besides Cleary who out of that squad didn't do a stint in NSW Cup? Luai and Leota won comps in NSW Cup. Gus saw it for what it was, Others saw it as a quick fix

Doubt it, like a junkie it’s hard to cut off the supply for govt funding
Pollies are always looking to create new taxes. Putting a higher tax on pokies allows them to pretend they're doing it for the welfare of gamblers, similar to their stance on smoking. They may not restrict the total number of gaming machines per venue, but their tax rates might jump so high that it seriously eats into the profit margin of the licenced venues who operate them.

You're literally suggesting that the Dolphin's NRL side (i.e. their NRL franchise business) could be considered a success despite losing millions of dollars because they're being underwritten by the NRL grant and the Dolphins other businesses (i.e. gambling business), and you're not the only one.

I thought that the NRL was in the sports and entertainment industry, so shouldn't we use it's success, or lack there of, in that industry as the standard by which we measure it's success?

Furthermore, does Rugby League, or rather the NRL and ARLC, really have no higher ambition than to exist as a glorified avenue to advertise betting agencies and pokies?!

They'll need to make Lang Park their full time home ground to reach their potential. They're just copying the NSWRL model by playing some games out of Dolphin Oval.

MugaB

He played with Luai and Leota in this beast of a team

Tboon loved that game... i remind him all the time...
I remember watching Sione Katoa (now @Sharks) screaming in tries... i also vaguely remembered Sivo on the other... hell nathan Cleary didn't even play and they got whipped..
Probably would have been the 17-18th team by now... Penrith set them back 20 years

U16 state
u18 state
u20 nrl
reserve grade nrl
first grade nrl

then a second tier comp either state based or national
Newtown
mounties
bears
gosford
illawarra
macarthur
brisbane tigers
ipswich
devils
falcons
capras
wellington
christchurch
png
fiji
or similar

not rocket science! Self interest of the qrl and nswrl needs to be booted and clubs need to stop looking for the cheapest way of doing things

The Penguin #6.

To be honest you`re a bit sad mate with your continual half glass empty attitude in the guise of `telling it how it is`.
I read an interview with the Panthers CEO the other day and he said it is becoming obvious to them that the younger generation have nowhere near the attraction to pokies that the older generation has. He said Panthers Group are preparing for a time coming soon when pokie revenue will make a much smaller part of their revenue. They are basically looking to diversify their income streams.
I think we can assume this will be a nationwide trend.
My definition of success - winning or nearly winning comp`s. The grant - that`s their share of the revenue the competition they are in generates, it`s not a Gov`t handout or charity - they`ve earned it. Back to pokie revenue, it won`t last for ever, rich clubs will diversify their incomes to support the thing that the whole shebang is there to run, the thing they love, their NRL team and Rugby League club.