Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW Cup 2023

nswarrior

Rooster leading 18-16 at half time.

lot of mistakes on both sides with the wet weather. We need to improve our discipline and should win this

Roosters have Walker, Napa, Nathan Brown in reserves. Amazing 1st grade experience there

Grizzman

The forwards have not dominated like they have in other games but as you say, mistake free football will help. Volkman looking very calm. Super impressed with this guy.

Leber

We are ahead now 28-18. So impressive considering there’s a huge number of outs in this team aswell

SpaceMonkey

I hear Dale Husband is calling the game, good to know he’s still around. I reckon he was a man ahead of his time when he had his shot at the big time, when his pronunciation was too much for people used to Rabs and co’s zero effort mangling of Polynesian words.
Met him randomly at a pub in Sydney one afternoon, really nice genuine bloke who loves his footy.

34-22 to us FT, we stay top of the table.

great effort to keep winning with the number of call-ups to cover injuries in FG

Grizzman

Really solid and generally composed second half. Vaivai and Maiu'u stepped up and Volkman made some key plays. Nice result.

Leber

Sifakula is playing today. Even tho he played first grade yesterday. Interesting.

SpaceMonkey

I've just re-checked the NSW Cup draw. After last night's tepid first grade performance I can see myself back in my safe-space at the Reggies.
Judging by the second half fade in Reggies we might be lean in both grades til we get some troops back. I think missing Egan, TMM, Walker and Volkmann really overstretched our spine capabilities

nswarrior

Funnily enough I think Volkman played in the Reserves game which we ended up losing to the Panthers - the score updates on the nswrl site were wrong and kept changing

Blair

I think I'm on for Henson Park versus Newtown tomorrow (Sat 1 PM) for my first reggies game since we lost a ripper semi-final at Leichhardt versus Wyong in 2017.

Blair

I went last Saturday to Henson. A nice day out, quite warm but a Warriors loss. There were old, worrying signs. We were just so on and off throughout and the Jets deserved their win.

I don't think we'll see Vailea in first grade anytime soon. I watched his body language and wasn't impressed. Maybe I'm prejudiced because of the bad rap he's been getting but he let in two soft tries and had moments where he looked disinterested in general.

henson-reggies.jpg

Henson Park isn't great though. Sure it's iconic, there's tradition and it's good having the fans turn out for league in what is a different demographic to what it was in, say, 1981. But you can't have round fields. The action's just too far away.

Maybe I should've jumped on the sunny hill (but I'd forgotten my sunscreen) or the small grandstand (but there were some old-skool Jets fans behaving like yobbos and I wasn't in the mood) so I stood on the sideline in the shade. From the picture you can gauge how distant the players were.

NSW Cup is great footy though. I'll be back.

Grizzman

Disappointing about Vailea. I had high hopes for him when it came onto the scene. The Professional grind of week to week just doesn't seem to stick with some blokes.

SpaceMonkey

Disappointing about Vailea. I had high hopes for him when it came onto the scene. The Professional grind of week to week just doesn't seem to stick with some blokes.
I’m not too worried now as we’ve potentially got excess centre stocks for next year. Six months ago I’d have said different.

Blair

Has Curran got a doppelganger at the club? If not then he played Reggies last week at Henson. Came on for a second-half stint and showed he was first-grade quality.