Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NSW origin side.

Belta

I'm normally not overly excited about Origin. After seeing all the new faces, I must admit I'm really looking forward to the game. Really hope all our boys, including Hunt play well. An added bonus would be Simms being a surprise starter. Our Dragons in blue look awesome

getsmarty

e Belin's rise from choirboy to Blues enforcer
Author
Dan Walsh
Timestamp
Tue 29 May 2018, 06:00 PM

A decade after first experiencing State of Origin as a choirboy, Jack de Belin will finally take centre stage as the Blues' newest engine room enforcer.

De Belin's maiden encounter with the interstate arena came as a teenager while attending famed rugby league nursery St Gregory's at Campbelltown – where NSW teammate James Tedesco also cut his teeth along with a five-star Origin alumni that includes Trent Barrett, Ryan Hoffman, Jason Taylor and Eric Grothe jnr.

But while schoolmates Alex McKinnon, Matt Groat and Jack Stockwell were all being welcomed into the NSW fold in an under 16s curtain-raiser, de Belin was wearing maroon and hitting the high notes as part of the pre-game entertainment before Origin I, 2008.

"I was at St Gregs Campbelltown, I was a boarder there and sung in the choir," de Belin grins when asked about his first Origin game as a spectator.

"We sung the national anthem and 'you raise me up', I was in there.

"I'm a year older than [McKinnon and co] so I was 17, they were 16. I didn't make any rep teams when I was at Gregs. I went in there with a couple of mates and you just had to sing.

"We had pretty decent seats, they weren't bad. I remember both [the singing and the game]. I remember Anthony Quinn scored a try that game."

de-belin_choir_20180529.jpg

Jack de Belin in his high school choir at the first State of Origin game of 2008.
Quinn actually scored a double on debut as the Blues bagged a surprise 18-10 victory in Craig Bellamy's first game as coach, but Queensland still made off with the series as they have done in all bar one of the past 12 seasons.

For much of that period de Belin has been toiling away as one of the more under-rated customers in the Telstra Premiership.

As recruitment boss of Canterbury 10 years ago, Peter Mulholland had the tip that this kid from Cootamundra was the toughest of a talented troop coming off the St Gregorys production line.

But a broken leg during his final year of school meant he missed the NRL cut, returned to Cootamundra and played bush footy until McKinnon had a word to then-Dragons assistant coach Steve Price.

He's come a long way from anonymously running around without a contract at Red V training that first summer in Wollongong to being watched from every angle by the massive media contingent at the NSW camp on Tuesday.

The 27-year-old moved without any obvious discomfort from the "irritating" hip injury that has required pain-killing injections in recent weeks to keep him on the paddock.

de-belinj08.jpg

Blues forward Jack de Belin. :copyright:Grant Trouville/NRL Photos
De Belin is the oldest of 11 Blues rookies and trumped only by 31-year-old veteran James Maloney across the entire team in terms of age.

He was in the NSW camp last year in Laurie Daley's extended squads and was 18th man for the decider at Suncorp Stadium.

With the Dragons riding high at the top of the ladder and de Belin in impressive form, he admits fearing that if the chance to trade his old maroon school blazer for the sky blue didn't come this year, then that long-ago choir performance may have been as close as he would get.

"I kind of had the assumption this was my year," de Belin said.

"If I didn’t make it this year I was never going to make it. Not that that’s [entirely] correct, but I’ve been on the verge for a couple of years and my name has been tossed up and have been in camp as 18th man.

"Anyone knows that has ever played with me or trained with me knows that I’m definitely suited to [Origin]. It was just about letting the selectors see that. This year I’ve stepped it up a little bit and certain aspects of my game are suited for Origin being such a physical game."

Witness Australia's greatest sporting rivalry when Origin comes to the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Wednesday, June 6. Bronze tickets available from $49 here.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/05/29/de-belins-rise-from-choirboy-to-blues-enforcer/

getsmarty

Dragons trio Tyson Frizell, Jack de Belin and Paul Vaughan named for NSW
  • Local News
    r365_68_2920_1437_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

One in, one out: Tyson Frizell was chosen for NSW but Wade Graham missed out. Picture: Wolter Peeters
    NSW coach Brad Fittler has named 11 debutants for State of Origin game one with three St George Illawarra stars included.

Incumbent back-rower Tyson Frizell was chosen alongside new faces Paul Vaughan, who will start from the bench, and Jack de Belin who will start at lock.

Tariq Sims was named as 18th man.

The Dragons were rewarded for an outstanding start to the season where they have been the NRL’s best team, surging to the top of the table.

New NSW coach Brad Fittler fronts the media after his first team announcement @theleadernewspic.twitter.com/njdCZSs4ha

— Andrew Parkinson (@andy_parko) May 28, 2018
    Euan Aitken and Cameron McInnes, who were believed to be chances to be named at centre and hooker respectively, missed out. The Dragons will also have Ben Hunt playing for Queensland after he was named as the Maroons’ No.7 to replace Cooper Cronk.

Cronulla were snubbed at the selection table, with star back-rower Wade Graham left out after battling injury so far this season. The Sharks will have Valentine Holmes as their only Origin representative in game one.

Fittler described it as one of the most exciting NSW teams in Origin history.

“To me it is at the moment. I think results might determine that for other people how exciting the team is,” Fittler told media at the official team announcement at The Star on Monday night.

“But you’ve got to say it is a team that gets you sitting on the edge of your seat. Week in week out they’ve been fantastic for their clubs.

“I wasn’t concerned about debutants. No doubt we definitely needed some experienced players there. The key was to get the right amount of experienced players. Making sure they were fit as well.

“From the point of view of debutants, these days I don’t think the kids seem to worry as much as we did in the past.

“There was a lot to decide on combinations. There’s a lot of good players playing [well] for their clubs from NSW so I don’t know if any of the coaches before have had that same luxury.

“I spoke to Wade. He’s a good mate of mine and I’ve coached him a few times. There was a couple of tough ones there… you can’t have them all.”

State of Origin 2018 NSW team game one

1. James Tedesco, 2. Tom Trbojevic, 3. Latrell Mitchell, 4. James Roberts, 5. Josh Addo-Carr, 6. James Maloney, 7. Nathan Cleary, 8. David Klemmer, 9. Damien Cook, 10. Reagan Campbell-Gillard, 11. Boyd Cordner ( c ), 12. Tyson Frizell, 13. Jack de Belin. Interchange: 14. Paul Vaughan, 15. Jake Trbojevic, 16. Angus Crichton, 17. Tyrone Peachey. 18. Tariq Sims, 19. Nick Cotric.

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/5434222/dragons-trio-in-as-nsw-name-11-debutants/

getsmarty

Vaughan Honoured To Be A Part Of New Era
Brad Fittler has picked 11 debutants to represent the Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues next Wednesday, and Vaughan is honoured to be a part of that.

Johnny King

This is the first time for years I can remember NSW picking a SOO side based on form (with a couple of possible exceptions).....and there's speed everywhere. I hope the lack of experience at this level doesn't cost us though as the guys with speed won't get the latitude they enjoy in club games. I'm a long-suffering Blues fan and just want to win!!......and hope all the Dragons boys come through unscathed.

giboz71

Big bodies, minimal errors and good defenders, that’s always been the mantra of NSW teams in the past.

That’s how plonks like Gallen, Pearce, Farah, Dugan, Woods, Jackson etc kept getting picked year after year. And somehow, those guys who were all solid and dependable players but with very limited footy skills and brains were meant to counter the likes of JT, Cronk, Smith, Slater, Inglis etc.

FMD, no wonder we’ve only won once in 12 years.

I’m actually keen to some footy played by NSW after years of boring crap we’ve witnessed.

getsmarty

vaughanp-180531_gt_334.jpg

STATE OF ORIGIN

Origin rookie Vaughan's life support care
Author
Dan Walsh
Timestamp
Thu 31 May 2018, 06:01 PM

From life support in the ICU, to the Origin debut of a lifetime at the MCG.

Along the way Paul Vaughan has packed on the pounds required for a career in rugby league's most intimidating environment.

But only after brushing off an experience that would scare the proverbial out of any teen and their family.

Coming through the Raiders ranks as an 18-year-old, Vaughan took the ball to the line for his junior club Gungahlin Bulls.

His left leg went one way, his body the other, and Vaughan's tibia and fibula both broke in two, with plenty present in the crowd that day swearing they could hear the snap from the sideline.

Not until Vaughan went under the knife though, with mum Patricia O'Rourke by his side, did things really turn nasty.

"There was a little bit of a complication," Vaughan says.

"I had a fat embolism floating up on my lung and collapsed my lung. I was on life support in the ICU for a couple of days, which was a tough period.

"It's not common but it does happen. It was [dangerous]. It was a long time ago but mum was a bit nervous. But I've come out the other side obviously."

Cook's journey from unwanted hooker to NSW No.9

Mum just happened to be a nurse in the same Canberra hospital, and refused to leave her son's side throughout the ordeal.

From that horrific hospital tale Vaughan finds one hell of a silver lining, starting with the best KFC he reckons he's ever eaten.

"It was pretty brutal, but I got out of there, I lost a lot of weight out of hospital - about 10 kilos," he remembers.

"That was the first time that I've been down around 95 kilos. [Since] putting it on I've been about 110-116 kilos, that's about the best weight for me to be carrying.

"I did heaps of rehab, heaps of weights and that kind of stuff. I was just eating a lot of carbs. That is when I got into the front-row, packed on a little bit of weight."

After nine months in rehab and a good paddock, Vaughan returned to Canberra's under 20s system and the path that leads to next Wednesday's series opener.

Slated for a debut off Brad Fittler's bench in front of 80,000-plus at Australia's most famed sporting colosseum, Vaughan will do so as the 1000th player to pull on the sky blue for NSW.

A 2013 World Cup stint with Italy and three eye-catching seasons with Canberra had Vaughan mentioned in previous Origin conversations.

But when Ricky Stuart's bevvy of big men saw Vaughan surprisingly shuffled to Mounties and eventually off to the Dragons, higher honours were the furthest thing from his mind.

"Down in Canberra playing reserve grade, did I think of playing State of Origin? No, I don't think so," Vaughan laughs.

"The reason I left was because of the salary cap. I thought I was playing good football down in Canberra but that's just what happens.

Dancing with the Blues

"I was getting forced out there and had to play a couple of games through reserve grade, but that happens.

"There's a lot of players that go through their careers that have to play reserve grade at one point. I knew that I was a first-grader.

"I knew I had a lot to prove. I went to Saints, did that, cemented that and it's just gone up from there.

"Moving up to Saints was probably the best thing I've done in my career.

"My football has come on in leaps and bounds and now I'm playing Origin which is the coolest thing that I've been a part of."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/06/01/origin-rookie-vaughans-life-support-care/

getsmarty

STATE OF ORIGIN

Frizell relishing big brother role with Cleary
Author
Tanisha Stanton
Timestamp
Fri 1 Jun 2018, 06:01 PM

NSW back-rower Tyson Frizell will play a bodyguard role for Origin rookie Nathan Cleary and a right-side back-line that is full of fresh faces.

The Maroons will send the likes of Gavin Cooper and Greg Inglis towards Frizell's edge in next week's series-opener and the 26-year-old feels it's on his shoulders to watch his young teammates' backs.

"I'll be doing my best to look after everyone," Frizell said.

"It's what you've got to do as a back-rower. You've got to look after your middle but make sure your halves and your edges are sweet.

"There's always traffic defending next to a half. It's what teams are trying to do these days, target your main players, and I'm sure they'll be doing that.

"If you can sort your numbers out and get everything right, you can be the one to stop tries from happening down on the wing."

Frizell, who is rooming with 20-year-old Cleary, says he is enjoying getting to know the talented young half. He is vowed to do everything he can to protect him on Wednesday night.

"I'm always doing my best to look after my half and playing against him at Penrith, he holds his own pretty well so it's good to have a half that can do that," Frizell said.

clearyn-180531_gt_44-1.jpg

Blues teammates Nathan Cleary (left) and Tyson Frizell. :copyright:Grant Trouville/NRL Photos
"He's good (to room with). He's nice and quiet, he's a very respectful young kid and it's nice to room with someone you haven't met before. He's a great player and I look forward to playing alongside him."

Running into traffic will be no different for Maroons halfback Ben Hunt.

Frizell joked about how he is accustomed to having Hunt's back at the Dragons but says it will be a different story in game one at the MCG.

"You want to target the players that do a lot in attack and Benny is on a roll at the moment so I'm sure the boys on the left-hand side will give him a lot of trouble," he said.

"It's funny, I'm use to having Ben on my outside and trying to do my best to look after him but that goes all out the window on Wednesday. We will definitely be doing whatever we can to shut him down."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/06/02/Frizell-big-brother-Cleary/

Drag Queen

Is origin on fox or do we have to sit through the channel 9 commentators rubbish?
I can't stand lockyer.
What's wrong with Lockyer Crush? Probably a personal thing but I can't stand Phil Gould commentating for Union. Instant mute.

How many ball shit articles can these blokes write about footy
Absolutely ridiculous how they try to ramp it all up with the tiniest or most insignificant piece of information

ouryears

Is origin on fox or do we have to sit through the channel 9 commentators rubbish?
I can't stand lockyer.

Hey Crush, I think radio and TV now sync the same time, no more delay on tele to stop us turning tv down and putting the radio behind the tv and listening to that commentary.

I do it on Thur and Fri nights CH 9 / radio and it's the same time frame now.

The Damo

Hey Crush, I think radio and TV now sync the same time, no more delay on tele to stop us turning tv down and putting the radio behind the tv and listening to that commentary.

I do it on Thur and Fri nights CH 9 / radio and it's the same time frame now.
Will try this, hope it works

ouryears

Will try this, hope it works
Give it a go Damo, it makes the game more exciting, much more like you are there at the game, they give great insight into the players and the game and still add touches of humour.

There will probably be a few choices, I like Triple M with Jamie Soward and others, but there will be a few am stations too.

Give it a go Damo, it makes the game more exciting, much more like you are there at the game, they give great insight into the players and the game and still add touches of humour.

There will probably be a few choices, I like Triple M with Jamie Soward and others, but there will be a few am stations too.
Festival of the boot with Roy and HG, I always used to do that for Origin.
“He’s gone bum on into the line, Craig Young style” classic.