Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

O/T Bird to walk free as conviction quashed

An off field incident and he has been found NOT GUILTY.
Not GUILTY....

Notwithstanding the verdict, he glassed his woman. The only reason he got off the charge of assault was the issue of reasonable doubt. She attested that there was a scuffle and she ended up with a fractured eye socket and lacerations from the glass. He's a merkin of the highest order.

born an eel

The bloke was found to be NOT GUILTY. What part of that don't you understand???
Not putting my head in the sand. Just putting it all into perspective. AND most people out here are very good people by the way. The town has one of the lowest crime rate in NSW of any country town http://www.bocsar.nsw.gov.au/lawlink/bocsar/ll_bocsar.nsf/vwFiles/HayLGA.pdf/$file/HayLGA.pdf

AND Greg Bird is not from HAY....

If you KNOW he is guilty (apart from what you read in the Press) go tell it to the lawmakers. OR better still post it on here with your full contact details so he can hit you with a defamation action.
yes he was found to be not guilty of the one charge, but still has another 5 charges to be defended next month. He should be used to it by now with all these unlucky situations he finds himself in because of others.

Did he lie to police investigating the event? Is this a crime? Should this be taken further?

If he is of such great character, invite him to your knockout carnival, I'm sure the Hay fans would love a "not guilty" great bloke to associate with their kids and wives.

born an eel

I hope that I never run into a glass that I have broken, to try to hurt someone with - it all sounds to complex to me! As for snorting my anti-depressants??

Surely the outcome of this should have been, that the young lady should be given some intense therapy? Sounds like she was and could possibly still be, willing to do some serious harm to herself.

(My true feelings are - the cops have done a botched job at getting things stated & signed at the time. They are the ones that people should be directing their anger at)
Don't forget they got a guilty verdict and 8 months prison sentence without a victim statement at the first hearing.

What more could they do, if victims are prepared to lie the truth can be lost without any reliable witnesses to the actual event.

Don't forget they got a guilty verdict and 8 months prison sentence without a victim statement at the first hearing.

What more could they do, if victims are prepared to lie the truth can be lost without any reliable witnesses to the actual event.

From what I understand, it was 2 nurses at the hospital that brought it to the attention of the authorities. I would have thought that they would have asked for a statement at that point from her, so that they had something in writing? If she wasnt willing to make a statement, they should have been asking why. Im not justifying what anyone did, but, the fact is, these laws apply to everyone, and anyone could have got out of it, when there was nothing in writing, therefore, making it "legal".

parra pete

yes he was found to be not guilty of the one charge, but still has another 5 charges to be defended next month. He should be used to it by now with all these unlucky situations he finds himself in because of others.

Did he lie to police investigating the event? Is this a crime? Should this be taken further?

If he is of such great character, invite him to your knockout carnival, I'm sure the Hay fans would love a "not guilty" great bloke to associate with their kids and wives.

Knockout Carnival ???...He'll be playing with the Titans or the Cowboys in the NRL.
I don't think they would clear him for a guest appearance like the other star players we have attracted to play with the Club over the years - David Furner, Snoopy Collins, Andrew McFadden, Gary Belcher, Darren Smith, Mark Tookey, Simon Woolford, Shane Millard and Ben Roarty.
See http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_i...ews_task=DETAIL&articleID=9589021&sectionID=7
AND ...we have another couple of internationals in line for our 'Annual Pie in the Sky' match in 2010..probably to be held on July 4.
Maybe after Greg retires..He would certainly create some interest, thats for sure
BUT, if he did come out here, people would treat him like any one else...that's the good thing about living in a country town.

An off field incident and he has been found NOT GUILTY.
Not GUILTY....

He was found GUILTY of lying to police though pete.....

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/ne...r-katie-milligan/story-e6freuy9-1225739340975

For making a false statement to police about the incident - blaming his mate - Mr Clisdell described the crime as "un-Australian".

For that offence, Bird was sentenced to a three-year good behaviour bond and fined $5000, plus court costs of $73.
"It was a despicable act and most un-Australian," he said in his sentencing remarks.

born an eel

I hear Dennis Furguson is looking for somewhere to live.

Maybe you can offer the great country hospitality to him.

He was found GUILTY of lying to police though pete.....
I am guilty of that too.

Quite a few times.

Officer wanting to charge me jay walking: Name sir?

Mr Angry: Steven Cheetham

Officer wanting to charge me jay walking: Address?

Mr Angry: Just moved here from Perth, The regent hotel

Officer wanting to charge me jay walking: I will give a warning this time

Mr Angry: Thanks mate

Three great lies.

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Where is the stuff?

Mr Angry: What stuff?

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: You know what I am talking about!

Mr Angry: (sluring words) Na mate what you on about?

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Empty your pockets

Mr Angry: Empties pockets

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Have you finished it all

Mr Angry: Yeah dude it's all gone

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Don't be so stupid next time.

Mr Angry: Ok fella no worries (Police drive off Mr Angry stokes up)

Shot me now.

parra pete

I am NOT defending the bloke, just pointing out that in relation to this off field incident he was processed through the Court system and found not guilty.
We have to accept court decisions. Anarchy is the other alternative..

I am guilty of that too.

Quite a few times.

Officer wanting to charge me jay walking: Name sir?

Mr Angry: Steven Cheetham

Officer wanting to charge me jay walking: Address?

Mr Angry: Just moved here from Perth, The regent hotel

Officer wanting to charge me jay walking: I will give a warning this time

Mr Angry: Thanks mate

Three great lies.

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Where is the stuff?

Mr Angry: What stuff?

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: You know what I am talking about!

Mr Angry: (sluring words) Na mate what you on about?

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Empty your pockets

Mr Angry: Empties pockets

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Have you finished it all

Mr Angry: Yeah dude it's all gone

Officer trying to get me for smoking a jay in a nightclub: Don't be so stupid next time.

Mr Angry: Ok fella no worries (Police drive off Mr Angry stokes up)

Shot me now.

Were you convicted of it?

born an eel

I am NOT defending the bloke, just pointing out that in relation to this off field incident he was processed through the Court system and found not guilty.
Did Bird accept the original decision? The court system has many stages to go through to get an end result.

Laws are changed and applied retrospectively all the time, I am not saying that this should happen in this case but pointing out that public opinion can change laws and decisions, just look at the Victor Chang bail hearings.

sportive cupid

But there are different courts as well.
There are civil courts and there are criminal courts
(there are even others I think)

For example,sometimes a criminal court will find someone not guilty of sexual assault due to lack of evidence. A civil court may find,in the same case ,that the victim should be paid compenstation because on the balance of probability the crime was committed.

IS such a person guilty or not?
It's not that simple.

born an eel

is Al Capone remembered as only being a Tax evader?

There are many ways to skin a cat and should not be looked at in isolation, he is not being targeted because he is a football player but we and the media are talking about it because he is a football player.

No I guess being a nobody clearly helped. If I was a famous footy player I am guessing I would have been.

Or if they considered that it was serious enough to do so..... I mean perverting the course of justice isn't like jaywalking or having a bit of a puff.

Sorry Mr A, your defence of the bloke is really bordering on ridiculous. He broke the law. He may have been acquitted for malicious wounding however he still lied to police and fingered a completely innocent party...... instead of coming out in the first instance and telling the truth.

I can see what is going to happen in this thread...I am going to be slammed from pillar to post because I have a view different to the 'flow'.

no - you'll just sook, cry and carry on about being outcast for having a different opinion despite the fact ppl are just expressing their own other opinions ...... oh hang on - its alreayd happened :-s

I don't think anyone is planning a lynch mob or anything :lol: .... we're just saying we think he is still a prick and lucky to get off

parra pete

Did Bird accept the original decision? The court system has many stages to go through to get an end result.

Laws are changed and applied retrospectively all the time, I am not saying that this should happen in this case but pointing out that public opinion can change laws and decisions, just look at the Victor Chang bail hearings.

Get on to your local MP and get it changed if you are so convinced he did it.!!!!
Did you attend the Court hearings and form an opinion other than what the Appeals Judge did - after the Appeals Judge had listened to the evidence.
You probably think Lindy Chamberlain is guilty too

parra pete

no - you'll just sook, cry and carry on about being outcast for having a different opinion despite the fact ppl are just expressing their own other opinions ...... oh hang on - its alreayd happened :-s

I don't think anyone is planning a lynch mob or anything :lol: .... we're just saying we think he is still a prick and lucky to get off

Baaa, Baaa,

Me sook....:lol: I couldn't give a f**k if I am considered an outcast by having my own opinions

born an eel

Get on to your local MP and get it changed if you are so convinced he did it.!!!!
Did you attend the Court hearings and form an opinion other than what the Appeals Judge did - after the Appeals Judge had listened to the evidence.
You probably think Lindy Chamberlain is guilty too
Did she accept the decision of the court?
two way streets here, doesn't seem the case in the bush :sarcasm: