Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ODI WC Final: Ind v Aust Nov 19, 2023 - AUSTRALIA 2023 CHAMPIONS

King-Gutho94

Amazing to think since the IPL started in 2008 when India unleashed themselves as the superpower of World Cricket.

India have won just 1 x Champions Trophy & 1 x ODI WC and yet to win the T20 WC in that time.

Australia have won 2 x ODI WC, 1 x T20 WC, 1 x Champions Trophy, 1 x WTC.

Rohit Sharma being a World Cup winning captain never looked right to me.

Like him or not Kohli was always a better leader then him. It wouldn't been right if Sharma won more WCs as Skipper then Kohli.

They can now go into the sunset with duck egg together as Captains.

King-Gutho94

I'm not sure too much changes tbh, they 'should' have won that world cup, Windies should have won the third one, we should have won the last one, India should have won this one - none of those things happened - Aust were always going to be the best team post 99, 99 was a big chance for RSA and they blew it
Maybe but since that day we have had that aura at ODI WCs that frightens other sides.

Both world cups we haven't won we have been knocked out by the eventual champion on there home turf India 2011 & England 2019.

To basically to win an ODI WC you have to go through Australia.

South Africa and India by rights could have pinched at least 2 x ODI WCs each i reckon since 1996.

Saffas blew plenty of opportunities and so have India.

Sport is funny game the more big games you lose the harder it is to get the gorilla off your back.

And the more you win the more you get that aura/strut you can win big games.

In the past 24 years the only knockout ODI WC game Australia have been walloped in was the 2019 semi final.

Most wins in those knockout games have been dominant other then a couple of tight semi finals against the Saffas.

Sphagnum

Still not sold on the set up, but when you win you can’t really complain can you?? I’m an Eels fan of course I’m going to complain.

India bottled it plain and simple, some embarrassing shots. It’s the greatest choke ever in world cricket. This isn’t even close to the great Aussie teams.
giphy.gif

King-Gutho94

Still not sold on the set up, but when you win you can’t really complain can you?? I’m an Eels fan of course I’m going to complain.

India bottled it plain and simple, some embarrassing shots. It’s the greatest choke ever in world cricket. This isn’t even close to the great Aussie teams.
Us Parra fans don't know how to deal with championship success and trophies.

AlwaysGreen

Trigger alert eels fans.

I think it was 2003, Eels had dominated the season, in a quarterfinal they played the last 19 minutes against the warriors with 12 men because Brian Smith wanted to see how the team went in that situation or some bullhockey arrogance.

Team India bowling Rohit and Kholi in the last preliminary game smelled of the same arrogance.

Both teams lost.

What's the point of this story? I like stories.

King-Gutho94

Trigger alert eels fans.

I think it was 2003, Eels had dominated the season, in a quarterfinal they played the last 19 minutes against the warriors with 12 men because Brian Smith wanted to see how the team went in that situation or some bullhockey arrogance.

Team India bowling Rohit and Kholi in the last preliminary game smelled of the same arrogance.

Both teams lost.

What's the point of this story? I like stories.
Yeah 2001 flogged the Warriors by 50 then we then lost to Newcastle in the GF

Nice to see the tanning lotion has worn off on your avatar mate. Its gone from tanned face Stoinplod to yellow shirt champions.

King-Gutho94

For the kiwis on here.

One is a World Cup winner as an assistant coach of Australia, a champion of new zealand cricket who carried them for 10 years and now an adopted Aussie.

The flog next to him has made it into oxford dictionary & won nothing but poison the minds of the English.

Vettori > Bazball

1700432141248.png