Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Organised crime and ElephantJuice in sport investigation part IV

POPEYE

Makes you wonder if this drug's really only meant to get players on the paddock rather than enhance their ability when they get there shouldn't it be regarded in the same way as a player using something to overcome inhibitions to get on the field . . . not saying Earl should be allowed to become an immortal but maybe the reason he partook should be taken into account

Earl was a very stupid and naive kid and made a mistake, he'll have to cop some punishmentfor that. But there is no doubt he had his trust abused by Dank and possibly the Panthers. It shouldnt end his career.

1-2 year ban seems about right to me, serves as a sevre warning to athletes that ignorance isnt a defense, but also takes into account the circumstances which led to this. Penrith's involvement in this should be heavily investigated. If Earl is right and they both recommended him to Dank and paid for this treatment, heavy fines and sactions should be handed down to that club.

Edit: I am not saying that is true, but the allegation has been made and must be fully investigated. If proven correct, it's pretty damning on the Penrith club. But it could all very well be a load of shit designed to garner sympathy for Sandor, either way it needs to be investigated.

sneagle

I find it funny he says no alarm bells rang for him when he was told to keep his treatment between himself and Dank and not to tell the club doctor.
I also think Earl must have had some concerns based on his own admission that he asked "several" times whether he could get in trouble for what he was taking. Why keep asking if he was simply naive and trusting.....
How were the treatments invoiced to Penrith, what terminology was used?
Touch wood, I haven't experienced any major medical expenses does anyone know if over $1,000 is alot?

Touch wood, I haven't experienced any major medical expenses does anyone know if over $1,000 is alot
$1000 is f**k all really.

Depends on what the issue is.
snapped Achilles is about 5 grand whereas keyhole shoulder day surgery is about $1500.

A bloody crown on your tooth is about $3000

betcats

I find it funny he says no alarm bells rang for him when he was told to keep his treatment between himself and Dank and not to tell the club doctor.
I also think Earl must have had some concerns based on his own admission that he asked "several" times whether he could get in trouble for what he was taking. Why keep asking if he was simply naive and trusting.....
How were the treatments invoiced to Penrith, what terminology was used?
Touch wood, I haven't experienced any major medical expenses does anyone know if over $1,000 is alot?

This. It seems a bit strange to me.

sneagle

snapped Achilles is about 5 grand whereas keyhole shoulder day surgery is about $1500.

So paying it probably wouldn't even raise an eyebrow at Penrith, unless they listed the treatments as peptides and CJC-1295......:sarcasm:

Pierced Soul

$

wtf are they making your crowns out of? I've had 3 crowns and most expensive was my most recent which is solid porcelain and cost under $1600. the other 2 were about $1100

i didnt see the earl interview, i have read quotes so perhaps i shouldnt be commentating, but i have issues with someone who's admitted using illegal ElephantJuice then getting paid to do an interview. i dont know if he came across as credible or naive or whatever but the blokes done the wrong thing and then gotten a payday out of it so i dont think theres a lot of credibility there

ACTPanthers

Earl was a very stupid and naive kid and made a mistake, he'll have to cop some punishmentfor that. But there is no doubt he had his trust abused by Dank and possibly the Panthers. It shouldnt end his career.

1-2 year ban seems about right to me, serves as a sevre warning to athletes that ignorance isnt a defense, but also takes into account the circumstances which led to this. Penrith's involvement in this should be heavily investigated. If Earl is right and they both recommended him to Dank and paid for this treatment, heavy fines and sactions should be handed down to that club.

Edit: I am not saying that is true, but the allegation has been made and must be fully investigated. If proven correct, it's pretty damning on the Penrith club. But it could all very well be a load of shit designed to garner sympathy for Sandor, either way it needs to be investigated.

From my understanding it already has been investigated - This came up months ago in the Papers and the Panthers were co-operative with the investigation

What I find a little confusing is the invoices shown had "Overdue Account" (or words to that effect) stamped on it - This leads me to believe the invoices havent even been paid.

betcats

So paying it probably wouldn't even raise an eyebrow at Penrith, unless they listed the treatments as peptides and CJC-1295......:sarcasm:

On the BSB this morning Webby was saying Penrith didnt get the invoice until Jan 2012 with the tretments being in Sep 2011, so it was a few months overdue I guess there is a good chance they just paid it without really looking into it.

I reckon $1000.00(speculating here) would be a smallish medical bill for an NRL club.

I am not very worried about Penriths involvement with this, Earl was treated off site and not told about the treatments....negligent by the club maybe but nothing to serious.

Diesel

Shit, thanks for the heads up, might just leave it then

taipan

I don't think the Panthers have too much to worry about.
What I can't get around if someone in authority tells me to take something,but keep mum about it,I would be saying why the secrecy.
If a chemist told me to take a pill,but don't tell anyone,geez I would be worried about the contents of the pill.
I notice he mentioned the GC Suns as well as the NRL clubs<I wonder if that goes any further.:sarcasm:

Only suss thing for me would be the idea that the club wasn't interested enough in one of their players rehab from injury programmes to actually ask what he had been doing and taking before they paid the bill. Then again good governance at NRL clubs seems to be non existant on the most part.

wtf are they making your crowns out of? I've had 3 crowns and most expensive was my most recent which is solid porcelain and cost under $1600. the other 2 were about $1100

i didnt see the earl interview, i have read quotes so perhaps i shouldnt be commentating, but i have issues with someone who's admitted using illegal ElephantJuice then getting paid to do an interview. i dont know if he came across as credible or naive or whatever but the blokes done the wrong thing and then gotten a payday out of it so i dont think theres a lot of credibility there

oh I dunno ..I know I had to get one ...probably other shit as well.
$3000 it cost me all up. May have been the root canal as well.
It was a few years ago.
Still bloody expensive.

Card Shark

Only suss thing for me would be the idea that the club wasn't interested enough in one of their players rehab from injury programmes to actually ask what he had been doing and taking before they paid the bill.

Particularly if they were broke.

NRL clubs are run like a chook raffle on the most part, due to old timers in power, but are multi-million dollar business'. I'm sure the NRL are trying to change that.

franklin2323

Only suss thing for me would be the idea that the club wasn't interested enough in one of their players rehab from injury programmes to actually ask what he had been doing and taking before they paid the bill. Then again good governance at NRL clubs seems to be non existant on the most part.

We never play footy in Sept the place is a ghost town. Off season treatments wouldn't be rare. Though not telling the doctor would be. When the invoice came in there was no one left from that time. If an ex employer rang you would you answer?

Doomednow

I'm not sure about the inner workings of football clubs but I'm 90 per cent certain we had already moved Earl on to Canberra by the time the invoices came in. Maybe that played a part in the lack of interest.

Pierced Soul

oh I dunno ..I know I had to get one ...probably other shit as well.
$3000 it cost me all up. May have been the root canal as well.
It was a few years ago.
Still bloody expensive.

with the root canal the price would get closer to $3k.

i had to recently get a re-root canal. got an infection in the intial root canal. had to go see a specialist cost another $1200 or so... :fist:

BunniesMan

I'm not sure about the inner workings of football clubs but I'm 90 per cent certain we had already moved Earl on to Canberra by the time the invoices came in. Maybe that played a part in the lack of interest.
This happened in 2011. He was still at the Panthers at the start of 2012.