Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Origin

LeagueNut

Why are NZers 'staunch/diehard/loyal' supporters of either Origin side? You are a staunch supporter of repersentive side repersenting an Australian state. I have never understood the New Zealanders who claim to be huge passionate loyal fans of either SOO team.
Look at it the other way though - perhaps people find it easier to cheer louder when they don't actually give a shit who wins. Maybe it's a psychological thing, people don't want to get too passionate about their "normal" team because it affects them more if / when they lose. So by comparison, their support for a "nothing" team seems greater.

But GO THE BLUES!! When I was about 11 or 12, my mum had this boyfriend who came across as a sleazy mooch with a suspicious moustache, and he wore a Kweenzlanduh jersey around the place. I'd only just realised what Rugby League was and became an instant Blues fan for life. It helps that most of the Kweenzland team appear to be Grade A merkins as well.

Warriors or any other NRL team are clubs, not rep sides!

yeah they are - they're representative of their region you drongo!

Yeah for me they represent a region, for example sides like Nth Qld and Melbourne etc. And if you are passionate about 1 of those sides, and that side has 4-5 players in an origin side, you are gonna get passionate about wanting to see that side go well

Or players you hate being in the other side, like Slater and co ;)

Going back many years in the old NSW comp, you weren't allowed to play for a side unless you had lived in the area for at least 12 months

Fast Eddie

Yeah I can see why you may care about it a bit more since you are a Manly fan and will usually have a few players every year involved but for me I have no desire to cheer on an Australian repersentive side made up of players I mostly dislike playing against another Australian rep side I couldn't care less about. It's just weird how people who say they have been a fan of either side for 20 years or whatever, because it is just a revolving door of players coming through mainly from clubs you dislike, players you dislike but you suddenly cheer them on when they pull on a jersey that doesn't repersent you or you have no affinity with.

Bring on NZ/Aus 3 Test match series. Might happen after QLD win there 15th series in a row.

Aragorn

mate, the SOO is a one-horse race just like our so-called trans-tasman rivalry with aus... call it betrayal, but I would choose SOO over a test match series between NZ and Aus.. judging by the turn out at eden park this year, i think your average joe bloggs would agree...

Manu Vatuvei

I'm a staunch hater of Origin (in comparison to tests) but in reality I'm a hypocrite because I enjoy Origin time. It gives me and a few mates an excuse to drink a few beers and watch a big game of footy mid-week 3 times a year. It's an opportunity to rate the respective merits of the top Aussie players which for league geeks is good fun.

Overall though it means nothing to me compared to international league and I don't passionately support either side.

What annoys me most about Origin is that I genuinely believe that NZ v Australia DESERVES to be ranked as the pinnacle of the game, not just in theory but in reality as of right now. I simply think that if you compared full strength NZ and Aus teams to full strength Queensland and NSW teams, the former have a slight edge in overall quality. Origin only remains the bigger game because people keep saying it is- it's a self-perpetuating myth, not actually based on the quality of the teams.

Origin has lost its spark since Queensland has dominated, I remember the stats about 5years ago when over the 20+ years there was only a few points difference in total points scored and maybe 1or 2games. NZ has won more series recently. But channel 9 team will do its best to promo it as the best game/series ever.

JoeD

What annoys me most about Origin is that I genuinely believe that NZ v Australia DESERVES to be ranked as the pinnacle of the game, not just in theory but in reality as of right now. I simply think that if you compared full strength NZ and Aus teams to full strength Queensland and NSW teams, the former have a slight edge in overall quality. Origin only remains the bigger game because people keep saying it is- it's a self-perpetuating myth, not actually based on the quality of the teams.
Yeah but we still don't win often enough. What is our win % over the last 5 years? I think we need to be winning 4/10 before the Aussies start caring more. There's still some of them that cheer us on in the hope that it's a good game FFS.

Manu Vatuvei

Yeah but we still don't win often enough. What is our win % over the last 5 years? I think we need to be winning 4/10 before the Aussies start caring more. There's still some of them that cheer us on in the hope that it's a good game FFS.

That's like saying Crusaders v Reds was more important than ABs v Wallabies last year because the former was tough to pick whereas everyone knows we consistently dominate the Wallabies. I don't think there's any logical reason why SOO is bigger than international league. Of course I can point to the historical reasons, but as of right now it doesn't make sense however you spin it.

Fast Eddie

It's because we lose one off Tests, the average Aussie looks at it and says our wins in Tournaments were flukes. Fact of the matter is since 05 NSW have won one series in 7 attempts, we've won 3 out of out 6 tournaments. They should put origin where city/country is now, as a one off game, we can have a trial sort of game the same weekend. Both countries pick their sides from then and have a 3 match Tests series like Origin is at the moment and then at the end of the year England tours Australia or us and then every second year its our or Ausssies turn to to go up there. Every year you have a Pacific tournament. International League would quickly become awesome. I honestly have no doubt that in one year or two a 3 match NZ/Aus series would trump Origin easily.

TheDMC

State of origin is bull-pucky. I used to like it, but like your favourite razz rag, its gotta go.

Its not the pinacle/pinnicle of rugby league, the pinnacle is test match footy, its been around for 100+ years whereas maaaate against maaaate has been around 30 years.

Shorten the NRL season bit, do away with anzac tests and have a yearly tri-nations tourney.

Ranfurly shield was the big Kahuna of NZ provincial footy for 100 years, few care about it now because union has moved on. Its time league does the same.

As a Kiwi, if you support Origin, your not supporting test footy.

Fast Eddie

As a Kiwi, if you support Origin, your not supporting test footy.

Agreed to an extenet. It's why I made this thread, all these people who come out around Origin time and are 'loyal' NSW or QLD fans who seem to support Origin more than when it comes time for the Kiwis to play. All it does is help Origin stay this hyped event and meanwhile Tests get put on the backburner, such as this year for the perfect example.

Blair

NSW supporters are homos...

If that's the case then I'm just recently out of the closet.

Go the Blues!

Look, Qld have gone from underdogs to obnoxious favourites in the course of the last 32 years.

Add the fact they reap the rewards of the mining boom, have Clive Palmers running around, which has an adverse effect on our economy in NSW (ie manufacturing jobs going capult, high dollar, etc) and it's all the way with the Blues for me.

Aragorn

Agreed to an extenet. It's why I made this thread, all these people who come out around Origin time and are 'loyal' NSW or QLD fans who seem to support Origin more than when it comes time for the Kiwis to play. All it does is help Origin stay this hyped event and meanwhile Tests get put on the backburner, such as this year for the perfect example.

All this thread does is hype the event even more....... the irony huh?