Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Association Football

If you haven’t already do yourself a favour and watch Fever Pitch on Stan. Fascinating stuff. Maybe I’m the last person who has watched it but my god I’m loving it. Basically talks about the English Premier League and teams that have won it and others who have been relegated and what it take$ to win it. Some great interviews with coaches, fans and owners.

After watching it even though I’m a Man U fan I really hope Tottenham win the title with Ange. Would be a great story. Up there with Leicester City winning it a few years back. Ok maybe not that big. 😉

I reckon Ange winning it for the Spurs would be bigger than when Leicester won it - we're coached by an Australian (hardly renown for being a football powerhouse), and he made the call to let Harry Kane go, which at the time, was a controversial decision.

Aside from being a Spurs fan, I'm rooting hard for Ange's success.

It's so cool that he was nominated as one of the best coaches in the world.

King-Gutho94

I think Spurs may be a year or two from a title challenge, even then I can see how anyone can get past Citihad, they will just keep buying title after title
Yeah it's beyond a joke now.

I look at Liverpool they went 2 seasons there where I think they lost just 1 game in both seasons and still couldn't go past City.

Unfortunately it's a downside of what is a quality competition. City have just got too big and rich for everyone else to compete your basically playing for top 4 and champions leagues spots.

I'm following Spurs and Ange very closely. What he has achieved already in such a short amount of time is extraordinary.
His press conferences are mesmerizing and he currently has the traditionally savage English media eating out of his palm.
He shoots down dumb questions without even the perpetrator being aware of his own stupid question.

1696071447763.png

When one journalist asked him "Should I pick James Maddison in my Fantasy league team?", Ange's reply was "You do what you want mate. It doesn't interest me".
Lol.
Stupid journalist question received the perfect reply. The rest of the press gallery laughed.
Ange is brilliant.

I'm not a Spurs fan but I so hope they are successful this season. 2nd will do me with NUFC winning the EPL. :)

Yeah it's beyond a joke now.

I look at Liverpool they went 2 seasons there where I think they lost just 1 game in both seasons and still couldn't go past City.

Unfortunately it's a downside of what is a quality competition. City have just got too big and rich for everyone else to compete your basically playing for top 4 and champions leagues spots.

It's not just the fact that they are rich, it's their flaunting of the FFP rules and they just keep pouring money into the club and buying the best players in the world. While they are able to do that, there is a limit and any further funds must be generated from within the club.

When they got audited, they (EUFA) found their so-called huge memberships a bit sus. When they looked into it some of them were dead or never existed. So they paid the fine and just kept getting away with flaunting the rules like they don't apply to them.

It's not a level playing field and UEFA are a toothless tiger.

It's not just the fact that they are rich, it's their flaunting of the FFP rules and they just keep pouring money into the club and buying the best players in the world. While they are able to do that, there is a limit and any further funds must be generated from within the club.

When they got audited, they (EUFA) found their so-called huge memberships a bit sus. When they looked into it some of them were dead or never existed. So they paid the fine and just kept getting away with flaunting the rules like they don't apply to them.

It's not a level playing field and UEFA are a toothless tiger.

Much like the NRL...

this is what the EPL are up against........not really similar to the NRL imo

The UK government has admitted its embassy in Abu Dhabi and the Foreign Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) in London have discussed the charges levelled at Manchester City by the Premier League, but are refusing to disclose the correspondence because it could risk the UK’s relationship with the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

In February, the Premier League directed 115 charges at City, which relate to a series of alleged breaches of financial rules between the 2009-10 and 2017-18 seasons.

City are accused by the Premier League of not providing accurate financial information, “in particular with respect to its revenue (including sponsorship revenue), its related parties and its operating costs”.

The club deny the allegations and in a previous statement pointed to “a body of irrefutable evidence” that will clear them of any wrongdoing.

On April 6, The Athletic, using the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (FOIA), requested all correspondence between the FCDO in London and the British Embassy in Abu Dhabi relating the Premier League charges facing Manchester City between December 1, 2022 and March 1, 2023.

An FOI request gives people the right to ask any public authority for the information they hold on record. Once the submission has been acknowledged, the public sector organisation has 20 working days to respond it.

On May 10, the FCDO confirmed it “does hold information falling within the terms” of our request, but delayed handing over the correspondence while considering whether it is in the public interest from an international relations perspective.

And on September 6, the FCDO, citing Section 27(1)(a) of the FOIA, said: “We acknowledge that releasing information on this issue would increase public knowledge about our relations with the UAE.

“The disclosure of information detailing our relationship with the UAE government could potentially damage the bilateral relationship between the UK and the UAE.”

The Athletic has appealed this decision.

We asked Manchester City whether they had any comment in relation to the fact such correspondence exists and that if they are not state-owned or funded, then why are the UK government concerned about jeopardising relations between the UK and UAE? Manchester City did not comment.

The Premier League was asked whether it has received any correspondence at all from UK government employees in relation to the charges levelled at City. The Premier League did not respond.

Manchester City have reiterated many times that they are not state-owned or funded. The club’s owner, Sheikh Mansour, is the vice president and deputy prime minister of the UAE. His half brother, Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, is the president of the UAE.

Sheikh Mansour is the majority shareholder in Manchester City via Newton Investment and Development, a company he wholly owns, which is registered in Abu Dhabi and possesses a majority shareholding in City Football Group (CFG).

As such, it would be legally inaccurate to describe City as state-owned, despite Sheikh Mansour’s prominent political positions in the UAE and Abu Dhabi, its capital.

Although the correspondence has been sealed by the FCDO, there is no indication as to what has been said between them and the British Embassy in Abu Dhabi other than the fact City’s Premier League charges have been mentioned.

The UK and UAE has a positive bilateral relationship and in September 2021, the UAE pledged to invest £10billion (now $12.2bn) in UK clean energy, technology and infrastructure. This was in addition to previous investments totalling more than £1billion.

Since City was sold to Sheikh Mansour in September 2008, the club have won seven Premier League titles, three FA Cups, six EFL cups and one Champions League, as well as establishing CFG.

CFG operates a multi-club model, whereby the parent company owns or has stakes in multiple clubs around the world. CFG has full ownership of New York City in the USA and Melbourne City in Australia, as well as Manchester City.

The group also has investment in clubs in China, India, Japan, Uruguay, Bolivia, Belgium, Brazil and Italy.

bazza

That is a very accurate portrayal of the current state of football in Australia.
I put one of my kids through one of these academies.
It was as expensive as f**k. I saw many kids whose parents had signed up to these academies whose sons were the most talented players by far but could not afford to keep them there. The less talented kids who had rich parents managed to play year after year.
I was a manager for some of these teams and it was very sad to watch what happened to some of the most talented kids whose parents couldn't afford to continue in the program. I even bought one of the kids from Sudan a pair of football boots one season because he kept turning up in joggers, and he was a gun of a player. His parents themselves couldn't afford to buy him boots after they'd spent their money on his training. This kid was lost to the sport.
This is everything that is wrong with football in Australia.
so at another kids sporting event on the weekend some parents were discussing what there kid does in regards to soccer
- weekly training at academy - $70 per week
- some extra one on one training with a coach - $65 per session
- the kid is going to move from the local club to a club about 5 suburbs away because that is where the "serious players" are

Apparently this is what is required to "get ahead" (their own words)

the kid in question is a girl who is turning 8 in a month or so

so at another kids sporting event on the weekend some parents were discussing what there kid does in regards to soccer
- the kid is going to move from the local club to a club about 5 suburbs away because that is where the "serious players" are

If you can afford to spend the money to help them be better I can’t see why you wouldn’t. Just need to keep it in their heads that if they were any good they would be scouted and all this academy shit would be free. The real shame is that plenty of kids miss out because their families can’t afford this sort of thing.

I'm not surprised at anything you have just said.
While I was managing football teams including some in academies, I saw heaps of kids, many from African countries but also locals, whose parents could not afford to put them in the academies. Yet, some less talented kids whose parents had money did.
It is a major failing of the football pathways in this country.
Australia has so much amazing footballing talent and such a massive junior base to call from. There is so much potential, amazingly enough, for us to become a top 10 team in the world. I honestly believe that.
We just need to seriously nurture that talent properly. Time to bring back the AIS.
The WWC, crowds and tv ratings showed just how much passion there is in this country for football.
No other sport has ever come close to what we just witnessed.
Just imagine a Men's World Cup here! It will happen one day. Not so sure in my lifetime though.

bazza

If you can afford to spend the money to help them be better I can’t see why you wouldn’t. Just need to keep it in their heads that if they were any good they would be scouted and all this academy shit would be free. The real shame is that plenty of kids miss out because their families can’t afford this sort of thing.
Think it comes back to my main point that these soccer academies are probably better at making money from middle class parents rather than producing future premier league players

Chipmunk

That's soccer for you. Rugby league is a simple game.
To be honest I obviously realised there was tactics in soccer, but probably never looked at the strategies utilised as just the very very casual fan, so was good to see them presented like this.

I'd like to see some similar stuff on rugby league tactics presented in this way. There is a few written stuff out there, but would be good to see some on video like this. The little 30 seconds stuff on 9 or Fox pre or post game, is good insights, but would be good to have some more indepth stuff like this.