Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

yy_cheng

I have heaps of bank accounts and none charge account keeping fees.

One or Two might have a minimum balance fee i.e I have to maintain a balance > $3k.

I have CBA, Ubank, ING, St George, Citibank, HSBC, Suncorp, ME Bank and RAM bank accounts.

All personal and no fees.

All my credit cards dont charge a fee either and they are with 3 different financial organizations

yy_cheng

See and I thought you were an astute young man.
it was at a time when I was chasing high interest from those online accounts and when the govt introduced the $250k govt guarantee for authorised deposit taking organizations.

I also trade from my commsec account and it's easier to transfer multiple lots of $20k from different banks to settle my trades.

it was at a time when I was chasing high interest from those online accounts and when the govt introduced the $250k govt guarantee for authorised deposit taking organizations.

I also trade from my commsec account and it's easier to transfer multiple lots of $20k from different banks to settle my trades.
My little joke about you banking with @TheRam Bank went over your head.

Three weeks to go... 21 NSW LNP candidates remain unannounced, including in my electorate? Compared to only 4 unannounced Labor candidates.

Perrottet and the NSW LNP just mustn't want to even try to get my vote 🤷‍♂️.

Bandwagon

Three weeks to go... 21 NSW LNP candidates remain unannounced, including in my electorate? Compared to only 4 unannounced Labor candidates.

Perrottet and the NSW LNP just mustn't want to even try to get my vote 🤷‍♂️.

You might remember the federal election had the same kind of issues in NSW with the feds forcing shit over the NSW branch, A candidate like Deves was the result.

Organisationally as a party they really do have some problems, check out the Victorian branch FFS, it's little more than a complete rabble due to the infighting and attempts at takeover by the fundy religious right.

Makes me wonder if it's not the same kind of shit going on behind the scenes in NSW.

Yep, I reckon it must be something evil like that bubbling under the surface - and it doesn't look like Perrottet has any leadership or power in their whole party organisation.

There's literally only a matter of days (Thursday?) before the Electoral Office draw the ballots for the order of names appear on the voting papers - you'd think the NSW LNP might have gotten organised a bit earlier than this, if they were serious!

1678282438971.png

In an eerily similar transport meltdown in the weeks before the 2007 state election, then-Liberal leader Peter Debnam pounced when a train malfunction sent the network into peak-hour chaos.

“I suppose nothing could be more symbolic of the broken-down state government than another peak-hour train breaking down in the middle of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and disrupting tens of thousands of commuters,” Debnam bellowed.

Which they will, and judging by the headlines they have.

Outgoing Minister Elliot's reation might be worth blame though - attempting to imply the system shutdown and hours of commuter delays might be due to cyber attack or terrorism instead, when this had already been ruled out by the department.

system malfunction really has nothing to do with govt, its just an opportunity for the naysayers to attribute blame to the govt of the day

I'm currently finding it extraordinarily hilarious that both major parties are talking complete shite atm. And they are.
Some of the shit that has come out from the opposition over the past 24 hrs is just laughable.
They completely ran the Sydney Trains system down during their last term to cut costs. That was obvious. Trains every 30 minutes on weekends were the norm on major lines. Disgusting.
The system is now the most efficient it has been for decades. Yes, a failure yesterday of some software, but trains were up and running again within 1 hr 15 mins. An amazing recovery.
The only train system that kept operating was the driverless, and guard-less Metro.
We need to build more metros and convert more current lines to metro. Just like we are doing for the Bankstown line which will free up so much more capacity for the city circle and assist in making the whole Sydney train system far more efficient.
God forbid a new party gets in that has no plans and will spend the first term cancelling future currently planned projects. They have a history of even planning and cancelling their own projects! Lol. Parramatta - Chatswood anyone?

And, just on your above point.
It was indeed a system malfunction.
A system that was recommended to be implemented after the inquiry into the Waterfall Train Disaster. Labor did nothing.
Gladys actually instigated the advisory while she was Transport minister when the Libs gained power. The same for the Opal Card which works a treat today, as you know.

Some (not you) should be careful what they wish for. Some others won't give a shit, as long as a particular party is governing.
That attitude is laughable.

So the TL-DR version of that post is: the current government has been in for 12 years, and anything that goes wrong is still the fault of the lot that were in before that? No worries...

Personally I think a change of government (to flush out some sleazy-looking practices that tend to build up after so many years of uninterrupted power) is overdue. But it's a big world and it's ok for people to hold different attitudes.

Oh - and for those that have been following, the NSW LNP finally gave my electorate a candidate at the very last moment before registrations close. - but word is they are a "cooker" and so young they appear to have been put up to it by their pearl-wearing mum, under threat that their inheritance will be withheld.

Personally I think a change of government (to flush out some sleazy-looking practices that tend to build up after so many years of uninterrupted power) is overdue. But it's a big world and it's ok for people to hold different attitudes.
I agree. Would you share the same view if your mob was in power for the same period?