Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

I would say Keating on the left and Howard on the right during my lifetime. But that's just my opinion.
I think some PMs get remembered for the right things and some the wrong. Some are in power when the world economic climate is booming or Australia’s resources were booming. They get the tag of being good economic managers and that’s BS.

Every PM has his or her faults but I like to rank them based on their legacies.

What did they do for Australia that left us a better country ?

Whiltlam - universal healthcare, equal pay for women, withdrew from vietnam war, total overhaul family law with no fault divorces etc, legal aid for the common man.

Fraser - He was the guy who made Australians multicultural. He ramped up immigration and refugee intake and moulded us into who we are today.

Hawke - Medibank / Medicare, we launched us into the international space, renewed tge US partnership, floated the AU$ and helped us grow up financially. He was an environmental hero, stopped the damndown the frankin, made kakadu a world heritage site to keep the miners out.

Keating - economic reforms, national superannuation scheme, indigenous land rights, native title act after mabo.

Howard- gun reforms

Rudd - action on climate change, signed Kyoto Agreement, sorry - national apology. Steering the country through GFC

Gillard - NDIS, Royal Commission into Institutional Child Sexual Assault

Abbott - yes he stopped the boats. I don’t agree with a lot with what happened after that, but stopping the people smugglers is a better result than what’s happening to south med countries rn.

Turnbull - SSM, funded NDIS, bunch of free trade agreements.

Morrison - navigated covid19 pandemic

Albo - National ICAC, TBC

What have I missed ?

Eelogical

Keating once called us a banana republic. Are we there yet and have you seen the price of bananas these days?

I think some PMs get remembered for the right things and some the wrong. Some are in power when the world economic climate is booming or Australia’s resources were booming. They get the tag of being good economic managers and that’s BS.

Every PM has his or her faults but I like to rank them based on their legacies.

What did they do for Australia that left us a better country ?

Whiltlam - universal healthcare, equal pay for women, withdrew from vietnam war, total overhaul family law with no fault divorces etc, legal aid for the common man.

Fraser - He was the guy who made Australians multicultural. He ramped up immigration and refugee intake and moulded us into who we are today.

Hawke - Medibank / Medicare, we launched us into the international space, renewed tge US partnership, floated the AU$ and helped us grow up financially. He was an environmental hero, stopped the damndown the frankin, made kakadu a world heritage site to keep the miners out.

Keating - economic reforms, national superannuation scheme, indigenous land rights, native title act after mabo.

Howard- gun reforms

Rudd - action on climate change, signed Kyoto Agreement, sorry - national apology. Steering the country through GFC

Gillard - NDIS, Royal Commission into Institutional Child Sexual Assault

Abbott - yes he stopped the boats. I don’t agree with a lot with what happened after that, but stopping the people smugglers is a better result than what’s happening to south med countries rn.

Turnbull - SSM, funded NDIS, bunch of free trade agreements.

Morrison - navigated covid19 pandemic

Albo - National ICAC, TBC

What have I missed ?

For mine one of the greatest things Turnbull ever did was create Headspace.

Still around after changes in govt and still expanding.

For mine one of the greatest things Turnbull ever did was create Headspace.

Still around after changes in govt and still expanding.
Yes MT was a great advocate for mental health. My son used Headspace during high school and received great mentoring. It impacted him so much that he's completed his psychology degree and is doing his masters to be a clinical psychologist. Wants to work with kids. ❤️

Bandwagon

Inflations gone out of control since he got in charge. A place I grabbed a coffee from today was selling scones for $8

Honestly mate this is nonsense.

Inflation was baked in with the global response to the pandemic, obviously local factors apply, but for the most part it's a global phenomenon.

Here's Australia's inflation rate over the last few years.......

1691277028551.png

Now given the federal election was in May 2022, and you can see from that it had gone 0.7% in the September quarter of 2020 to 6.1% in the June quarter of 2022, all of which bar the month of June 2022 was under the superior economic management of the Liberals, you can see quite clearly that has nothing to do with the current government.

Unless you believe in some yet to be discovered magical economic response that can reign in inflation in a matter of months that doesn't involve a recession, there is simply no way to get inflation back down that doesn't literally take years. Early days, but you'll note from that graph that inflation has dipped in the last quarter and is now sitting at the level inherited from the previous government.

Libs atleast know how to manage a budget.

Nine years of coalition budgets mate.............

Not a surplus in sight, in fact the largest increase in net debt on record by any measure.

1691279127244.png
Labor flap wings about cheap house prices and equality but they've failed miserably every single time

Now this at least is partially true, fact is neither party is particularly keen on making housing more affordable, 'cause that means house prices dropping, and quite a bit, when they've both spent decades pushing policies that are well known and accepted to push housing prices up.

Obviously home owners vote, and home owners that see their major asset drop in value aren't about to reward the government whose policies made them drop, and that's a lot of folk you don't want to piss off or alienate.

Honestly mate this is nonsense.

Inflation was baked in with the global response to the pandemic, obviously local factors apply, but for the most part it's a global phenomenon.

Here's Australia's inflation rate over the last few years.......

View attachment 77750

Now given the federal election was in May 2022, and you can see from that it had gone 0.7% in the September quarter of 2020 to 6.1% in the June quarter of 2022, all of which bar the month of June 2022 was under the superior economic management of the Liberals, you can see quite clearly that has nothing to do with the current government.

Unless you believe in some yet to be discovered magical economic response that can reign in inflation in a matter of months that doesn't involve a recession, there is simply no way to get inflation back down that doesn't literally take years. Early days, but you'll note from that graph that inflation has dipped in the last quarter and is now sitting at the level inherited from the previous government.

Nine years of coalition budgets mate.............

Not a surplus in sight, in fact the largest increase in net debt on record by any measure.

View attachment 77753

Now this at least is partially true, fact is neither party is particularly keen on making housing more affordable, 'cause that means house prices dropping, and quite a bit, when they've both spent decades pushing policies that are well known and accepted to push housing prices up.

Obviously home owners vote, and home owners that see their major asset drop in value aren't about to reward the government whose policies made them drop, and that's a lot of folk you don't want to piss off or alienate.

Sounds like bad luck for Labor government.
Enjoy your $8 scones everyone.

Well its not that it happened. It was inevitable. Its more that you based half an election campaign on promosing to address it when its blatantly obvious you cant.

Bandwagon

Sounds like bad luck for Labor government.
Enjoy your $8 scones everyone.

Not really, they've time to address it before the next election ( unless they pull the DD over the housing bill ).

If they don't then voters will have to decide whether or not they reckon the other mob is worth a shot.

Well its not that it happened. It was inevitable. Its more that you based half an election campaign on promosing to address it when its blatantly obvious you cant.

Again you don't turn a ship on a dime, of course they can address it, but if you expect instant results you're always gonna be disappointed. The question is will whatever they do work over time. If you start seeing inflation trending downwards, and we still manage to maintain some form of growth, then the answer will be yes. Alternatively if inflation remains stubbornly high, then the answer is no.

Fact is, and as displayed by my previous post, the time to implement policy to avoid the inflation we now have was two or more years ago, and even then to be fair to the previous government, given global inflation, it's likely the best they could have done without plunging us into recession would have been to minimize as much as possible the effects.

It's kinda funny how merkins here can see that it takes time and planning to get a footy club up to speed and easily accept it can take a few years to do so, but will readily dismiss such thoughts when it comes to running the economy of an entire country.