Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

TheRam

Is it true if the YES vote gets up we are going to be getting hit with another tax? I've heard a few people mention this now.
Paying enough tax

Hindy, what you heard is right but will happen a little down the track.

People here are trying to paint me as a racist, but all I am trying to do is show what this referendum is actually about. Now I may not be the most educated person in the world or patient, so I lose it with them on occasion, but I'm not naïve either.

Pollies are sellouts and only care about more power. They don't run our country anyway and are only following the greedy evil globalist wishes. Since most Australians have spoken against illegal migration(boat people) and it would be a death sentence for even the Labor party to allow the boats to come back in again, and we have no boarders like the US or Europe, the next best way to destroy our Sovereignty is to divide us on race. Sounds far fetched? Well how come everything that is ever suggested or considered is full of evil unintended dividing consequences?

How come they didn't word the referendum the way this gentleman suggested? It would have made a lot more sense right?

Anyway, you are a smart man, I think you know I am not a racist, but love all Australians and our Country very very much. I just don't want to see what is happening in the US and Europe here and have all of us at each others throats the way those places have now turned out. These things don't just happen, they are years in the planning and greedy evil decision making one step at a time. This is one of those small but massive steps.

Watch the video and see what you think. There are two sides to this story and this is the other one. Cheers

No worries, I didn't realise you were onto a different topic. Agree nothing will ever be perfect, but to me it doesn't mean we can't agree with things that have some hope of maybe making it better.

Better for who? Sometimes people do thjng to feel better about themself and not for the person they are doing it for.

Ok, so it's just that you come across a lot of dumb people then.

But when you hear whatever they say - like the new Voice tax, lol - do you believe it, honesty not know, or guess that it's silly talk (and/or maybe correct it)?

Well they aren't dumb people and I don't trust governments so I can't rule it out

TheRam

if you must know, I lived on the west coast of Sth Australia for about 5 years among first nations people, I also worked in Arnhem Land for a year and a half while living in Darwin.

I got to know a lot of people and communities, and I am referring to first nations people, not the part indigenous people that live in the cities, unlike you who get ALL your info from Youtube or other racist RWNJs

So the indoctrination is very strong in you.

Don't you think that they would fare better if they were given exactly the same benefits as all the rest of us Australians?

I know if you gave me hand outs I would learn real fast to sit around and demand for more too and never want to move or go to where there might be work for me. Work what the Hell is that. I'm Aboriginal I demand welfare cos I was here first. I have first Nation status. Give me more and I will be happy.

It's not a money thing. Never has been, never will be. See I would cut almost all Aboriginal programs and only look after the women and children that are getting abused. End of. Everyone else would be treated just like the rest of us. Full Stop!

Oh does that sound racist to you, equal rights? What a racist I must be. I must have a lot of hate in me and need to get off you tube. Please save my soul Twizz. Thank God you lived amongst them and thus have a better perspective.

Forrest for the trees comes to mind.

TheRam

quiet simply because his talk about equality would mean that First Nations people would not be given a voice, but that's his MO, he doesn't want them to have a voice

Just like he explains in the video, they have a voice now, just like the rest of us. To enshrine another level in the constitution for just them would mean that they get an EXTRA voice, something more then the rest of us now.

Why would you do that? If they had no voice now, how the hell are they getting $30B worth of voice benefits then as an example?????

Reality just doesn't match up with you bogus nonsense, does it?

Watch the video if you are so uninformed.

Yes it's on Youtube....OOOOOOH!

Don't you think that they would fare better if they were given exactly the same benefits as all the rest of us Australians?

what you don't seem to understand is that that's not what they want, they just want to be left alone

Please save my soul Twizz.

Do you feel it needs saving ? I had some Jehovah's Witnesses come to my door the other day, we had a great laugh, maybe they can help you

Thank God you lived amongst them and thus have a better perspective.

I'm no expert on Aboriginal affairs, I just share my experiences

TheRam

what you don't seem to understand is that that's not what they want, they just want to be left alone

So would I. Just keep giving me stuff and leave me the f**k alone.

But never stop giving me stuff for f**k sake or then there will be hell to pay!

Show of hands who doesn't want to be given stuff and left the 'F' alone.

We in the rest of the world call it enabling. You seem to think its charitable behavior.

Better for who? Sometimes people do thjng to feel better about themself and not for the person they are doing it for.
Better for themselves, but also potentially better for others and the broader community around them.

It's a hard concept for some to grasp... but it's all about hopes, rather than (like the crap your old mate posts above) all about fears.

Hindy, what you heard is right but will happen a little down the track.

People here are trying to paint me as a racist, but all I am trying to do is show what this referendum is actually about.
But again, what you post is not what the referendum on Constitution recognition or the Voice advisory body is even about... 😂

It's sad that people like Hindy111 seem to hold you in esteem and potentially be influenced by your ravings. Instead of all the tin-foil-hat-fearful-conspiracy-theory-nonsense you seem to devour and regurgitate here, if you are trying to talk about the referendum why not simply stick to:

a) do you support or not support recognising the original inhabitants of our country's land via our country's Constitution (and why/why not)?

b) do you support or not support providing descendants of the original inhabitants of our country's land with their own Constitutionally-recognised representative advisory body that Parliament can ask to give advice on relevant matters that impact Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples (and why/why not)?

TheRam

Differing of opinion is fine. What we were seeing in this thread was a differing of facts. That shit should always be called for what it is.

Yes agreed. Like when someone like Bruce Alexander breaks it down so eloquently and succinctly. Facts are a wonderful thing.

I was actually referring to the time when someone suggested that the vast majority of indigenous are middle class, just like whities.

That was shown to be a factually incorrect statement but those facts were ignored because it completely eroded the rest of their argument.

The honourable thing for them to do would have been to acknowledge that they were wrong in that instance. But bringing into question established facts is all part of the smoke and mirrors act.

I was actually referring to the time when someone suggested that the vast majority of indigenous are middle class, just like whities.

That was shown to be a factually incorrect statement but those facts were ignored because it completely eroded the rest of their argument.

The honourable thing for them to do would have been to acknowledge that they were wrong in that instance. But bringing into question established facts is all part of the smoke and mirrors act.
It would be nice if the merkin in the video who seeks that we are all equal, could deal with the facts that there ARE disparities in life expectancy, education, incarceration, health and well being, employment etc and that it is NOT a level playing field.

If we start with that established (incontestable) premise and then have a discussion about why that would be more productive.

And that goes for the merkin that posts that merkin's videos three times in this thread as well...