Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Current Affairs and Politics

Is it true if the YES vote gets up we are going to be getting hit with another tax? I've heard a few people mention this now.
Paying enough tax

I think a lot of the bullshit that goes on now is pushed by silly rich white people who feel guilty and have to much time on their hands.
They got where they are based on advantages via the system and capitalism exploding while the minorities and many others where abused and taken advantage of and all of a sudden they want to make it fair?
Think if the shoe was on the other foot. Do you feel some of these other countries would be saying oh let's make things fair for the plebs?

People need to find their own happiness. Life isn't fair and it never will be. I wish I was 6ft 3. But I take the little wins. I got a park right out the front today and a cherry ripe 1/2 price. Not bad at all.

Everyone has problems. Nothing will be perfect and many slip thru the net. Just how it is. Unsure what type of world/fantasy some people want to create.
Humans are tribal. We will always have divide and fight. Its the nature of the beast.
World would be better if people worried more about themself and stopped sticking nose up the cats arse

Is it true if the YES vote gets up we are going to be getting hit with another tax? I've heard a few people mention this now.
Paying enough tax
Yep, for every scuttlebutt story that anyone said during the referendum campaign, the Global Elites will tally up and slug you $250 next tax return.

Paying enough tax
f**k, no offence... but you seem to hang out with a lot of dumb people, or just hear them talking a lot?

Was it you that was responsible for bringing The Racist Ram back here as well...

I think a lot of the bullshit that goes on now is pushed by silly rich white people who feel guilty and have to much time on their hands.
They got where they are based on advantages via the system and capitalism exploding while the minorities and many others where abused and taken advantage of and all of a sudden they want to make it fair?
Think if the shoe was on the other foot. Do you feel some of these other countries would be saying oh let's make things fair for the plebs?

People need to find their own happiness. Life isn't fair and it never will be. I wish I was 6ft 3. But I take the little wins. I got a park right out the front today and a cherry ripe 1/2 price. Not bad at all.

Everyone has problems. Nothing will be perfect and many slip thru the net. Just how it is. Unsure what type of world/fantasy some people want to create.
Humans are tribal. We will always have divide and fight. Its the nature of the beast.
World would be better if people worried more about themself and stopped sticking nose up the cats arse
And that's also not what the referendum on Constitution recognition or the Voice advisory body is even about...

Just hear stuff at factories I work at and general talk on the street. Not my circle of friends. We wouldn't discuss this type of stuff.
Ok, so it's just that you come across a lot of dumb people then.

But when you hear whatever they say - like the new Voice tax, lol - do you believe it, honesty not know, or guess that it's silly talk (and/or maybe correct it)?

I never said it was. I just mean life in general. Its like we are trying to make everything perfect all the time.
No worries, I didn't realise you were onto a different topic. Agree nothing will ever be perfect, but to me it doesn't mean we can't agree with things that have some hope of maybe making it better.

eels_fan

Discussion is getting old real fast

everyone should just vote how they want and let it be. No one is changing another’s opinions based on back and forth on this forum.

whether you’re a yes or a no, I’d happily buy you a beer and chat about footy, just like I said I would last time there was a shit fight about vax/no vax here. Or pro-BA vs anti-BA.

what makes this country great IS our differences

The day we stop tolerating that people have a differing of opinion and respecting their right to have that, is the day we go to shit and no amount of referendums will save us

TheRam

they don't all live like that and that was from 1965

f**k me, get off Youtube maye and try living in the real world

Oh so we agree then, that is exactly what my little racist arse has been saying. They don't all live terrible and impoverished lives like you want to paint them and it's not a money problem anyway.

Like you guys get your info from the secretary to the Governor-General?

Why don't you get off the internet mate. It seems to have made you racist too.

TheRam

I don't think any reasonable man or woman could argue with what is presented in this video, but I'm sure a few racist and dividers would.

everyone should just vote how they want and let it be. No one is changing another’s opinions based on back and forth on this forum.

whether you’re a yes or a no, I’d happily buy you a beer and chat about footy, just like I said I would last time there was a shit fight about vax/no vax here. Or pro-BA vs anti-BA.

what makes this country great IS our differences

The day we stop tolerating that people have a differing of opinion and respecting their right to have that, is the day we go to shit and no amount of referendums will save us
I am totally on board with merkins who have different views. i like broccoli, you don’t. However shit gets toasty in the vote to adopt broccoli as our national vegetable.

What grates my gears are merkins who then feel the need to add colour to their side of the argument that;

1. science is unsettled about the benefits of broccoli.
2. some people who say that they like broccoli only say they that because of reasons. They don’t really like it cos I know a guy.
3. It’s a plot. The broccoli in the shops is GM modified and you will turn into a zombie worker for the lizard people.
4. Anyone who eats broccoli will be hit with a broccoli tax. It’s already been decided. Mark my words.
5. Broccoli didn’t exist 200 years ago, so …
6. No I don’t like broccoli, hey are you calling me a carnivore merkin ? ARE YOU ? :mad: HEY HE’S CALLING ME A CARNIVORE! See this is who the broccoli eaters really are. #sayNOtobroccoli
7. The traditional eaters of broccoli don’t want it as our national vegetable. The broccoli eaters from Canberra don’t speak for them.

So we have a misinformation problem. A misinformation problem that requires rebuttal and unfortunately it will be a bitter pill to swallow.

Of course the NO broccoli brigade will say that the premise put forward by the YES broccoli brigade are full of untruths, which creates a whole new level of noise.

Paying enough tax

well just use your own grey matter for a moment

the referendum is all about giving a voice to an advisory committee to advise parliament on indigenous affairs, they cannot make law, just give advice on behalf of the first nations people

now what would any of that have to do with any sort of tax ?

Like you guys get your info from the secretary to the Governor-General?

Why don't you get off the internet mate. It seems to have made you racist too.

if you must know, I lived on the west coast of Sth Australia for about 5 years among first nations people, I also worked in Arnhem Land for a year and a half while living in Darwin.

I got to know a lot of people and communities, and I am referring to first nations people, not the part indigenous people that live in the cities, unlike you who get ALL your info from Youtube or other racist RWNJs

Soren Lorenson

I am totally on board with merkins who have different views. i like broccoli, you don’t. However shit gets toasty in the vote to adopt broccoli as our national vegetable.

What grates my gears are merkins who then feel the need to add colour to their side of the argument that;

1. science is unsettled about the benefits of broccoli.
2. some people who say that they like broccoli only say they that because of reasons. They don’t really like it cos I know a guy.
3. It’s a plot. The broccoli in the shops is GM modified and you will turn into a zombie worker for the lizard people.
4. Anyone who eats broccoli will be hit with a broccoli tax. It’s already been decided. Mark my words.
5. Broccoli didn’t exist 200 years ago, so …
6. No I don’t like broccoli, hey are you calling me a carnivore merkin ? ARE YOU ? :mad: HEY HE’S CALLING ME A CARNIVORE! See this is who the broccoli eaters really are. #sayNOtobroccoli
7. The traditional eaters of broccoli don’t want it as our national vegetable. The broccoli eaters from Canberra don’t speak for them.

So we have a misinformation problem. A misinformation problem that requires rebuttal and unfortunately it will be a bitter pill to swallow.

Of course the NO broccoli brigade will say that the premise put forward by the YES broccoli brigade are full of untruths, which creates a whole new level of noise.
Um you forgot broccoli has toxins to defend itself from being eaten. The only good broccoli is made out of steak.

it's a forum mate, you know, an exchange of views

I don't recall anyone telling others how to vote