Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT - Moving to the shire advice needed

We can't bust heads like we used to, but we have our ways. One trick is to tell 'em stories that don't go anywhere - like the time I caught the ferry over to Shelbyville. I needed a new heel for my shoe, so, I decided to go to Morganville, which is what they called Shelbyville in those days. So I tied an onion to my belt, which was the style at the time. Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. Give me five bees for a quarter, you'd say.

Now where were we? Oh yeah: the important thing was I had an onion on my belt, which was the style at the time. They didn't have white onions because of the war. The only thing you could get was those big yellow ones...

It was Abbott that ate all the onions.

taipan

I just moved from grays point to south Caringbah.
Picked a quiet street that wasn’t PH road, BB road or Caringbah road and it’s awesome.

Much closer and easier access to the station and shops than grays point but still quiet.
Ride my bike to the station and the beach.
Walk to the sharks in about 20 mins

Recommend the pie shop at South Caringbah, potato ones in particular.And Perfecto pizzas in Lilli Lilli OK,but Crust in Cronulla better.
20 minutes to the Sharks walking? Bloody Olympian:p

shaggs

Recommend the pie shop at South Caringbah, potato ones in particular.And Perfecto pizzas in Lilli Lilli OK,but Crust in Cronulla better.
20 minutes to the Sharks walking? Bloody Olympian:p
I haven’t actually tried it yet. It’s an estimate. Test it out this season.
Some games last year I felt like I had parked further away.

I’ll be testing out the pie shop

txta2

Problem with some spots in the shire is driving...im talking Gray's point, woronora heights kurnell. If you like wasting half your life driving go for it.

shaggs

Got a mate who lives at Grays Point.A long winding road ,that seems to take forever.
Just moved out and don’t miss that road. I was In as far as you could go. Greenhaven road at the roundabout would be alright.

Google maps says 29 minutes. Maybe I’ll ride a pushy. Cops can still get you dui on a pushy?

MilkShark

I grew up in Bundeena back before it became trendy and overrun with foreigners. It's a shit fight there now.

I have lived in Engadine now for over 20 years. It has everything you need, heaps of shops, gyms, pubs, fast food places, a million pizza joints. It used to be quite nice here but now its jam packed full of people and there are a thousand multi story unit blocks going up. Compared to the rest of the shire it's still probably best value for money.

It''s lucky I live about 500m from Coles that I don't ever have to park in Engadine.

But I can't wait to get out of Sydney. I am so over the traffic, the people, the fast paced life, the ridiculous real estate prices.

My next move will likely be out of NSW completely

Eion

Just moved out and don’t miss that road. I was In as far as you could go. Greenhaven road at the roundabout would be alright.

Google maps says 29 minutes. Maybe I’ll ride a pushy. Cops can still get you dui on a pushy?
Mate I’m in port hacking and can confirm it is doable pissed and a pain in the ring sober.

I grew up in Bundeena back before it became trendy and overrun with foreigners. It's a shit fight there now.

I have lived in Engadine now for over 20 years. It has everything you need, heaps of shops, gyms, pubs, fast food places, a million pizza joints. It used to be quite nice here but now its jam packed full of people and there are a thousand multi story unit blocks going up. Compared to the rest of the shire it's still probably best value for money.

It''s lucky I live about 500m from Coles that I don't ever have to park in Engadine.

But I can't wait to get out of Sydney. I am so over the traffic, the people, the fast paced life, the ridiculous real estate prices.

My next move will likely be out of NSW completely
It is busy up the shops.
I’m exactly 1 km from the Bowlo and basically in the bush.
I think the public transport makes it a good spot to build those big unit blocks up near the station.

There is also an Olympic pool and about 5 maybe more soccer clubs
A couple of footy clubs.
ANZAC oval on the hill on a sunny Sunday arvo watching A grade - while smashing the can bar - is one of life’s great moments.

MilkShark

It is busy up the shops.
I’m exactly 1 km from the Bowlo and basically in the bush.
I think the public transport makes it a good spot to build those big unit blocks up near the station.

There is also an Olympic pool and about 5 maybe more soccer clubs
A couple of footy clubs.
ANZAC oval on the hill on a sunny Sunday arvo watching A grade - while smashing the can bar - is one of life’s great moments.
Yep great spot for people with kids with I think 4 primary schools and 2 high schools.

I don't have kids so none of that is appealing to me haha.

I haven't been to a Dragons game since I played for them, but then I ended up playing for Gymea and haven't put a foot on Anzac Oval since. It's such a ''who you know'' club, much like the Sharks. I do however frequent Anzac bakery, best coffee in the area for sure.

Yep great spot for people with kids with I think 4 primary schools and 2 high schools.

I don't have kids so none of that is appealing to me haha.

I haven't been to a Dragons game since I played for them, but then I ended up playing for Gymea and haven't put a foot on Anzac Oval since. It's such a ''who you know'' club, much like the Sharks. I do however frequent Anzac bakery, best coffee in the area for sure.

I am in there almost every morning getting bread.

I’m about a 10 min walk from Anzac oval.
I don’t know anyone from the footy club except the president
His name is ( I shit you not ) Greg Bird.
Ha
I just go for a look with s few mates.
We watch a few other mates 45+ play soccer there as well.

MilkShark

Ha
I'm assuming you're on Ridge Road somewhere?

A few of my mates are Dragons stalwarts and are heavily involved within the club still, coaching etc.
On a nice sunny Sunday arvo with a sausage sizzle or pie at the footy it would be tops!

I'm assuming you're on Ridge Road somewhere?

A few of my mates are Dragons stalwarts and are heavily involved within the club still, coaching etc.
On a nice sunny Sunday arvo with a sausage sizzle or pie at the footy it would be tops!
Down near the tennis courts

Ha

Greg Bird is a really nice bloke- I used to come across him at work.

Big Bloke

I’m an old Engadine boy, Achilles Rd. Was running around the bush up till the age of 9 or 10 and then they built the Olympic pool in that bush area. Played soccer for the Eagles and cricket for the Dragons.

Then got married, lived in Gymea while working in the city, then bought our first house in Heathcote for $299K down near the scout hall in 2000. Sold up in 2007, got $470k for the house and bought in Barden Ridge for $590K which is now worth $1.2m.

Always a Shire boy.

Never thought we’d live out this way but I love it. Plenty of schools and shops, 10 mins to the train line.

Happy days.