Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Northies paradise lost?

Now some of you may agree and some may be visibly upset that I've dared to question some extremely concerning trends sneaking into Northies

I've got a problem with Northies ( the new version ) .
I got flogged $14 for a Thai salad the other day.
Now normally I wouldn't even bother eating food in a pub because as we all know "eating's cheating" .
However , it was still fairly early in the day and the people I was with were starving and were threatening to indulge in the worlds worst gastronomic crime "Mc Donalds" . So I talked them into that cafe thingy in Northies ( Mango jam???) . Now if this wasn't the most piss weak 14 bucks I've ever spent I'll eat my sharks beanie. A pile of green grated vegetable matter with the odd piece of processed chicken chucked in for good measure , and to top it all off "I GOT SCHMIDDIED!!!!!" yes that's right a f**king schmiddy , the latest fashion accessory next to the scarf and a pair of tenpin bowling shoes.
Can someone explain to me what the purpose of the schmiddy is? If I wanted to drink half a beer I would go to Victoria.

I know I shouldn't have eaten but I didn't think I'd have to request a glass size.

By the way the young lady who served our table was of the highest calibre..as one would expect.

Tadpole

completely agree........slugged 13 hard earned dollars for measley calamari and no joke....3 chips, going to maccas and indulging in a fillet-o-shark would have filled me more for a quarter of the price..CRAP CRAP CRAP

fatshark

Service is questionable at times...way to slow.
went to the Botany View at Newtown on the weekend. Got a massive chicken filet smothered with cheese and nice tomato with garlic bread, massive salad, spagett for the wife.$20

lolesi

I went to the Nulla Nulla last week, got a kick ass meal, good price and service
the big :clap: from me.

I've got a problem with Northies ( the new version ) .
I got flogged $14 for a Thai salad the other day.
Now normally I wouldn't even bother eating food in a pub because as we all know "eating's cheating" .
However , it was still fairly early in the day and the people I was with were starving and were threatening to indulge in the worlds worst gastronomic crime "Mc Donalds" . So I talked them into that cafe thingy in Northies ( Mango jam???) . Now if this wasn't the most piss weak 14 bucks I've ever spent I'll eat my sharks beanie. A pile of green grated vegetable matter with the odd piece of processed chicken chucked in for good measure , and to top it all off "I GOT SCHMIDDIED!!!!!" yes that's right a f***ing schmiddy , the latest fashion accessory next to the scarf and a pair of tenpin bowling shoes.
Can someone explain to me what the purpose of the schmiddy is? If I wanted to drink half a beer I would go to Victoria.

I know I shouldn't have eaten but I didn't think I'd have to request a glass size.

By the way the young lady who served our table was of the highest calibre..as one would expect.

Nice thread carc
I totally agree.
If Mango Jam isnt the most pathetic name for a pub I've ever heard, well I'm forgetting some true shockers. It's right up there with THE ESTABLISHMENT as far as pretension goes. I had a few drinks in there the other day because I was there with a bunch of girls who inexplicably wanted to sit in there so I'm well placed to make some observations

That Mango Jam bit I must admit is nice and open, it's not smoky and it has usually got decent music. But the negatives far outweigh the positives.

the negatives
- the tiles. two times in two weeks that i've been in that f**kin place i've been at a table where a glass has been smashed on the ground. why have tiles in a pub?

- pretentious bar menu and bullshit prices. why the f**k do i want to pay more for less beer? that schmiddy thing is a f**king outrage. and if i wanted honey in my goddamn beer i'd take a pot of it down there and put it in my carlton draught. as for the $20 chicken snitzel with chips the girls got the other day, i was outraged. it had about half the feed you get from the world's best chicken and chips shop, caringbah charcoal chicken and the 'iceberg lettuce' was half brown

- outrageous staff. they fill the place up with lounges and too many tables so
there's nowhere to stand. the only places to stand are 'thoroughfares' and you get moved along by those asshole bouncers whose job description it seems is turning away regular punters in favour of the trendy sunday set. luckily those guys are in danger of losing their contract. the duty managers are just as f**ked - theyre the ones pulling the strings

- the televisions. as the metrosexuals in the mango jam set arent there to watch the sport, i fail to see the logic in having a $70,000 television and another very expensive TV over the other side. youre not even allowed to stand in front of it and watch it! meanwhile the shitty old projector in the sportsbar has had it. the 70K TV should be in the sportsbar. and while i'm on the topic can someone tell me why they advertise sporting events? they have a big friday night footy promo which we got sucked into last friday only for a band to play in front of the projector. unbelievable! and while we're on the topic of the $70K tv, can someone explain why the f**k it has a big cross in the centre?

-the people. when i go to the pub i go to have fun and drink beer and watch sport. i dont go to be seen. it's a bloody fashion parade in that mango jam. i dont mind looking at the tarted up chicks but the blokes have taken it one step too far. as carc said, it's the scarf and the bowling shoes that do it for me. and the jeans with the white paint splashed all over them. then there was the guy who was wearing his sunglasses in the ATM line. trying waaaay too hard there buddy.

-the ATM line - they had to f**kin rope this thing off the other day! at one stage the line was 15-20 metres long!!

the sportsbar is the place to be i reckon, no pretension, the bar chicks are nice and they have the sport on (most of the time)
most nights when i go to northies i enter thru the side of the sportsbar and leave the same way - f**k the mango jam and f**k the oldies bar at the other end. but after ejecting us the other night for no reason, i dont know if i'll be back. now that pokies make up the majority of their earning capacity, they probably wont care if they lose a few regular drinkers but i dont think this is over by a long shot

:x

Jimbo

He's the toeyest of toey humans, is our ShireShark. Almost as bad as me when I see a pic of Chanelle.

Mmmm, Chanelle...

=P~

Jimbo

Me Luv Stevo said:
jimbo, i seen chanelle on sunday night at thai box in cronulla sitting across from us..

You mean you 'saw' her on Sunday night...

Jeez, is that what listening to Shannon Noll does to you?

:?

lolesi

I was going to goto northies on sunday.
What are you all saying? I shouldn't go?!!