Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Parra Stadium sharing

Parraletic

I think everyone needs to calm down a bit here. No reason a solution can't be achieved here.
Green river eel - I think you should look at some of those Penriff & Souffs supporters before you go pointing the finger at football fans.

Suity, I suggest you look at the details on the Cumberland throw , which sets out the reasons and suggestions from the Eels focus group that attended the meeting

You may not like it as it sounds sensible and objective, you really need to get off that wombat sized high horse and do some non soccer research.

Thanks for the tip. Why would I not like it? I've been after reasonable comments from other Eels fans forever, and there is a very small minority here, like Strides, who want to partake in that discussion.
I've had a read of it and yes, there is some good balanced reasoning about what fans want and don't want from a Parramatta Eels perspective, but also some reasoned arguments discussing what both the Eels AND Wanderers need. I point to a blog by Gol as a perfect example.
One thing I'm happy about is that both the Eels and Wanderers are completely dissatisfied with the Government and its steadfast plan of just a 30000 seat capacity stadium.
We as fans, need to put as much pressure on the Govt to increase the proposed capacity to at least 35000.
If there is a feedback contact address anywhere, I will endeavor to post it here.
To restrict the new stadium's capacity to just an increase of 30000, (including at least 3000 corporate seats - so general capacity of just 27000) is just once again, short sighted govt beauracracy. Another M2/M4/M5 situation.
I have no doubt that the Eels would easily outgrow that demand in capacity in 10 years, with the way memberships are increasing. It will just restrict future growth for the club, and western Sydney is growing at an enormous pace.
Parramatta, as a city metropolis is currently undergoing it's largest growth spurt in its history. Check out this site for what is being built and is also planned in the near future.

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=287434&page=182

I think it is madness that the govt is just proposing 30000 for this stadium.

Just on the safe standing issue.........
Is there NO Eels fans who like to stand at games? Rugby League fans generally don't mind grassy hills, and plenty have been happy to stand in the past, or are still happy to stand on hills at Brookie, Leichhardt, Shark Park, Wollongong, Newcastle and Penrith. Would there be no demand at League games to stand on a concreted terrace just at one end of the stadium, that would ultimately the cheapest tickets anyway?
This is a serious question.
I know myself I prefer to stand at games.
Also, I'm not sure why Rugby Union is coming into the equation.
It is legal for them to play on the same size field and in goals as RL, so, we don't need a further 10 metres at each end of the pitch just to accommodate a sport that rarely does or will get played there. It just forces spectators back further from the field reducing the atmosphere and viewing experience.

And Delboy, once again, thanks for the tip off re other opinions.

Noise

I hate standing at the footy. I pay for a seat and expect a seat with a decent view, not obstructed by a rail in front of me or some merkin standing in my way.Even when we had the hill I would sit on the hill. At Brookie (an old slum ground) a bunch of blokes stand up the very back of the hill but the vast majority sit down. I always sit on the north terrace and if they made it standing I would simply not go (as the South terrace is alcohol free).

Fair enough. But you don't yet know if the rail would be in your way when you were sitting. I'm guessing it wouldn't be because there is two steps between every row of seats, but anyhow.
What about your view on the proposed capacity?

Noise

Fair enough. But you don't yet know if the rail would be in your way when you were sitting. I'm guessing it wouldn't be because there is two steps between every row of seats, but anyhow.
What about your view on the proposed capacity?

30 000 (including the 3000 corporate seats) seems too small. Obviously 35,000 would be a better number due to growth in memberships and general population. However this number seems like an issue the government might not budge on.

Even though the 30,000 is not ideal I'm taking the view that a new 30,000 seat stadium is still better for Parra/WSW/ the area than the current old 19,000 and something capacity stadium. So could live with it.

30 000 (including the 3000 corporate seats) seems too small. Obviously 35,000 would be a better number due to growth in memberships and general population. However this number seems like an issue the government might not budge on.

Even though the 30,000 is not ideal I'm taking the view that a new 30,000 seat stadium is still better for Parra/WSW/ the area than the current old 19,000 and something capacity stadium. So could live with it.

Cool.

My thoughts - A 30000 (27000 excluding the corporates)) capacity will still see us having to take bigger games to ANZ.
Don't forget, when Parra stadium was opened, it was touted as a 30000 capacity stadium. It never reached that, but did get close.
All the govt are giving us now is primarily a new stadium with the same capacity as it did before, albeit with some extra seats instead of grassy hills for the general public, and 3000 seats for the toffees..
Sydney's population is now 1 million more than it was back then. In 25 years, it's going to be another 3 million bigger.
Like I said before, we don't want the govt to build a new M2 and then find that 10 years later it is inadequate. We need the govt to build something a little bit more future proof.

Noise

I reckon (and I don't support it) that the government probably want bigger games taken to ANZ to utilize the whole precinct more

Probably right.
Also, the govt is about to spend mega bucks on ANZ and Allianz as well. They will want their money returned on that investment, so the poor old west loses out again.
Don't forget, the SCG trust has some pretty powerful people on it with a lot of political sway, therefore influencing a budget that is restricted for Stadium spending.
It's pathetic, and that is why we of the west need to have a voice and comment to as many local members and politicians as we can to give the Pirtek upgrade as much voice as possible.
This is our last chance for many generations to get Parramatta the truly decent stadium it deserves as Sydney's second city.
Politicians are our servants.

Dibs

Not a big fan of the standing idea but if it didn't effect my viewing then no big deal I guess. However if you are going to upgrade the stadium then an increase in capacity should be significant. I would think at the least 35 000. Maybe even pushing up to near 40. If the structure of the stadium is done right it would be possible to still have a good atmosphere with smaller crowds. Mind you that is a very uneducated opinion on the subject.

No, it's a very good opinion.
Noise, and a very good atmosphere is a large part of the game day experience.
The structure of the stadium plays a big part in this, with enclosed stands and decent designed roofing to contain the noise.
It works for all sports. And as you say, a decent designed roof structure helps that immensely.
I remember the first game at Parra in 86, I was astounded by the noise the roof on the Cronin Stand created. In reality, I was comparing it to Cumberland Oval which was all I ever knew before then.
This is the type of stadium the Wanderers are pushing for. Steep sides. Fully roofed. It makes a hell of a difference and it would be sensational if us Eels fans wanted the same.
There are hundreds of stadiums like this all around the world.
It would be great if we could get one here.
The Titans and Melbourne are the only clubs who have something even remotely like what we should be building.
I only hope we get something equal or better than those two stadiums.

re: capacity ... agree - should be 35K minimum .... even a stadium claimed to be 30K (27K non corporate) means capacity is actually much less - stated capacities are never reached .... the bigger the better. The reasoning behind making it 30K does sound very political/strategic

re: standing ... I can't stand at games anymore - got a bit of a shitty back ... I remember we stood at shark park a few years ago and I had a sore back for a day afterwards - lol (old man!!) - I assume standing on a flat cement surface might be better

T.S Quint

I'm not one for standing at the footy.
The only times I get out of my seat are to cheer (or jeer) something that's happening on the field. Id on't sit on the Northern Terrace though, so it makes little impact to my gameday experience. If they can work out a reasonable way to have standing room that's not going to affect others negatively then I say go with it. The Wanderers are joint tenants of this stadium and they deserve to have their opinions heard.

When it comes to League though, how many people do actually stand up for the whole game? Admittedly I don't go to many games where there are hills, but the ones I do go to most people are still sitting down apart from a very small crew up the back. The only time I see everyone on the hills standing is when it is sold out.

What I would be concerned about is if Parra have a sold out game. Some bloke is able to buy a ticket, but the only one left is in the 'safe standing' section. He wants to sit down for the game, but is surrounded by people who won't. That poor bloke is a paying customer just like the rest of them, he should be able to enjoy it.

T.S Quint

I think the idea for a small gameday precinct outside the stadium is a great one.
With food, games, music...would create a better atmosphere before the game for those who aren't all about going to the club to sink some schooners. Great for the kids.

Has anyone heard how the parking situation is going to work?
There is going to be a new multi-storey car park, but is that just for the Leagues Club? Can it be used on game day? Will we still be able to park in the hospital grounds next door (still can't believe it's only $5 after all these years).

re: capacity ... agree - should be 35K minimum .... even a stadium claimed to be 30K (27K non corporate) means capacity is actually much less - stated capacities are never reached .... the bigger the better. The reasoning behind making it 30K does sound very political/strategic

re: standing ... I can't stand at games anymore - got a bit of a shitty back ... I remember we stood at shark park a few years ago and I had a sore back for a day afterwards - lol (old man!!) - I assume standing on a flat cement surface might be better

Agree with both your points mate. I stand for 10 minutes and my back aches as well.
Capacity is a no brainer. I just don't trust these Eastern Suburbs SCG Trust types who would do anything to f**k the west around.

I'm not one for standing at the footy.
The only times I get out of my seat are to cheer (or jeer) something that's happening on the field. Id on't sit on the Northern Terrace though, so it makes little impact to my gameday experience. If they can work out a reasonable way to have standing room that's not going to affect others negatively then I say go with it. The Wanderers are joint tenants of this stadium and they deserve to have their opinions heard.

When it comes to League though, how many people do actually stand up for the whole game? Admittedly I don't go to many games where there are hills, but the ones I do go to most people are still sitting down apart from a very small crew up the back. The only time I see everyone on the hills standing is when it is sold out.

What I would be concerned about is if Parra have a sold out game. Some bloke is able to buy a ticket, but the only one left is in the 'safe standing' section. He wants to sit down for the game, but is surrounded by people who won't. That poor bloke is a paying customer just like the rest of them, he should be able to enjoy it.

Believe me mate, that won't happen at an Eels game. That's why it's safe standing. It converts to sitting when it isn't standing, so the solution is simple.
Your other opinions are great.

re: gameday precint ... yep sounds really good too. It gets you buzzing when there is activity outside when you get to the ground

Believe me mate, that won't happen at an Eels game. That's why it's safe standing. It converts to sitting when it isn't standing, so the solution is simple.
Your other opinions are great.

But tbh i dont think anything ive seen is a comfortable seat. It is a shitty seat with a metal pole around it which makes it impossible to sit back comfortably in the seat. Maybe just something ppl will have to put up with in the cheap seats

I agree, it certainly doesn't look comfortable, but then I've never tried it. I don't think the front rail for vision would be an issue. The back one for the head space might be though.