Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ot- qantas

On the biggest mandate betrayal in australain political history, i will point out to the floor, why this tax is popular with some Australians.
I will direct the question to a representative of %5 of the population. Mr Quigs, how much extra will you pay each year now the carbon tax has been introduced? This after you receive the tax concessions.
I am self employed, own 2 properties & 1 business.
My accountant says I will pay around $1500-2000 extra each year.

I am expecting that Quigs will in fact, pay nothing.

Wouldn't it be great to be a in a postion where you could champion something, that other people have to pay for?

If you understood the act you might see that most australians will be compensated by the big polluters. Its great. The sooner we bring in no plastic shopping bags at shops it will be great too. We should pay for that too.

Moi .... Reefy. It's a lifestyle thing. my choice.

I am self employed 12 years, (my boss is a prick) nearly own one Tora Bora Cave in paradise. Own and drive 1996 Magna. Paid a whopping $1,500 for it two years ago.
Three adult kids, four grandkids, two four legged kids.... (th dogs)
Wife is a nurse that drives a 1998 Hyundai. She just paid $1,750.00 for it 4 months ago.

I Don't receive any guv'ment assistance.

Now the lifestyle I have worked hard to achieve is a basic not worship the dollar existance. I hate greed. Work as hard as I want, when I want, and who I want to have on my books.(clients). I know I could earn a lot more money, but that would mean moving, or commuting, setting up a business location .... STRESS STRESS STRESS, it is bad for your health.

At my age my health is very important. I've knocked on heavens door twice. Luckily they didn't want me yet. Broke my neck C1 & C5. luckily I suffered no serious long term damage and I consider myself reasonably healthy right now.

In my previous jobs I have done a lot of very hard yards and have had too munch strees. And have been shat on by big business.

I am not pissing in my own pocket but I also believe that "if you want to live in a community you should be part of it" and I do more than my share of work around The Park. It's an honour for me to do so. I am gratefull for the cards that fell for me. i have a certificate of Achievement from the Local Council (australia day nomination) and an award for local Charity work... so I hope that I am not considered as a bludger in the community.

Now its not all about the dollars.. remember that.

I just dug out my Notice of assessment for the year ending 30 June 2011.

My taxable income was $11,788.00. We (wife and I) survive on around $35,000.00 - $40,000.00 a year.

And you know what, I love it. I can maintain my chosen lifestyle. No smokies, no drinkies.... ride a pushy, live in paradise. A stress free existance. Its a wonderful experience. You should try it.

I call it practicing until I become an old age pensioner. 9 years to go and I am entitled to a card. Quigs and an old age pensioner card has a ring to it.

In hindsight I have had a wonderful life and if it was to end tomorrow the only regret I will have would be the Sharks not winning thing.

But I worry about you... You do sound very stressed at times.

P.S. I have been told by a reliable source that I could gain benefits if I registered with your Centrelink Community. But I don't believe I should because of a lifestyle I have chosen to live and don't want the stress. It's my choice.

Its a beautifull day here in paradise. Did some work at 6am.... then went for a beachwalk with the dogs.

Vin Fizz

Vin you obviously have a good grasp of this.

My view is that Qantas has over-reached and things are coming home to roost.

They had a good healthy percentage of the domestic market.

A thorough investigation into the books will reveal where what and when.

I have a little motto stuck up on my wall. It goes like this "If you go around sh!tting in your own nest then one day you will walk in it"

I have a hunch it is not the austalian end of Qantas that is the problem. If they provided the product and concentrated on the product instead of expanding and taking over or creating offshoots... (these if not successful are the money burners in my books)

Joycee has farked up .... my opinion.

Edit... and if they were dyin the det of a tousand coots, how come they can now off $25 million dollars worth of FREE FLIGHTS to get disgruntled customers back. 25 mill is a big chunk of a business.

Right back at you Quigs. You're right. I hadn't considered that actually. Ole Dixon wanted Qanats to become global to compete. He always feared Cathay would come in an gobble em up. Maybe they have expanded too quickly and dropped the domestic ball.

Ere reefy,

You know that bloke Ballieau who wrote a letter along with Farry O'barrell with the help of that great legal mind Senator Abetz.. or was it Brandis..

Anyhow looks whats just gurgling to the top of the cesspit south of the Murray.

Seems like the Vic Fibs are getting inspired ..
----------------------------------------------

VICTORIAN public hospitals have received detailed advice on how to conduct a Qantas-style lockout of nurses, and to consider using a strike-breaking workforce in the event of industrial unrest.

The advice to hospitals, from a group representing them in industrial negotiations, also told managers they should photograph protesting nurses and record the number plates of any potential organisers of unlawful industrial action.

The lengthy ''private and confidential'' advice, obtained by The Age, was sent by the Victorian Hospitals Industrial Association last week and includes a range of form letters that employers would give to workers if they locked them out.

----------------------------------------------------------

Got to love the FIBS and industrial relations. Nurses now, what a radical bunch of lefties are them thar nurses. Geeeze I hope the girls and boys don't wear red ties to work. f**k knows what will happen then.

nurse.jpg

Pssts .. As a side note anyone know who is travelling with Abbott?

Just heard a rumour that's all.

Hey Spide and Reefy, get the popcorn and the toasted sandwich maker ready.

Tomorrow night 10pm AEDT on ABC 24 live.

They are crossing to the UK to the Jimmy Murdochs appearance before the Parliamentary Inquiry into the Big Hack. He has been summonsed to answer his lies from the previous time, and also answer the most recent revelations.

Maybe he will call on Tony NoNo to give him a character reference or even make an appearance. farkkkk we all know that the wingnut definately owes the Murdochs some big favours.

What do we reckon

Exonerated,
Guilty but no time.
Guilty plus time inside with his head in a vice, or
will bribe his way out of it.

I reckon a mob of them will do time. Murdoch will lose control. Murdoch will be forced off the board in Yankland. And then the fun and games in Aus with our mob of lemmings dying the det of a tousand cuts wid falling sales, advertisers drying up. No control over the NBN. It wont happen over night but it will happen.

Oh and the new rules under the media inquiry here. Its all happening.

But lets just let the sunshine walk beside us.

spider

Geez, Julia best cross fingers she doesn't get questioned over her well prepared, scripted lie.

Especially in consideration of how many times she calmly spruiked it.

Fair shake of the sauce bottle Julia.

Psssts Spide its all happening over at (No)NEWS Limited.

Appears Rupes has given the CEO the don't come Monday.

Got some good shIt to post.... back in a sec, just as soon as I compose myself. Can't stop laughin'

The sunshine is definately walking beside me.

'Ere I stopped laughing....

Was he pushed....

This article appeared today Read more.

NEWS Ltd chief executive John Hartigan, one of Australia's most influential journalists and executives, will step down at the end of this month.

His retirement was announced by News Corporation chairman and chief executive Rupert Murdoch in a statement this afternoon...

He will be succeeded as chief executive by Kim Williams, the current CEO of Foxtel

------------------------------------------------------------------------

This article appeared way back in September 22 Read more.

From what I was told last night, Murdoch is coming with the objective of making major changes.

I was told one of these was changing senior management, with News Ltd executive chairman John Hartigan being replaced. The replacement wasn’t known.
If that’s the case (and these things at News have a habit of being denied strongly or reversed when made public ahead of time), it is a major move.

Hartigan hasn’t had a good couple of years. There was the Melbourne Storm salary cap rorting scandal, a problem for News because it owns the Storm. There was also the legal action involving Bruce Guthrie, where Hartigan and the head of News Ltd’s Melbourne business, Peter Blunden, came off badly as Guthrie won.

And now two significant leaks of highly sensitive internal documents that go straight to the heart of the company’s ability to restructure itself, cut costs and reposition itself, and without going through the public scrutiny that rival Fairfax is going through.

And then there’s the media review, which some in News think is still aimed at them. News Ltd editors, specifically Paul Whittaker at The Daily Telegraph and his former boss, Chris Mitchell, editor-in-chief of The Australian, have made themselves into public figures and players.

Hartigan has also tried to distance himself from News Corp and News International in London and the phone-hacking scandal that continues to dominate the company. He has started a probe into its spending, led by two former judges.

-------------------------------------------------------------

IT'S ALL HAPPENING REG... IT'S HAPPENING NOW !!! THE UNHINGING.

Tones and the Fibs supporter base is crumbling.

I would lead a much stress less existence if i had all of labors taxes removed.
Payroll tax
Land Tax
And now Carbon tax.
I would also have a much stress less existence if somebody else had to pay for those things & not me.
But hey, somebody has to pay for it. We cant all be labor & greeny voters.

Sheeeze Reefy being from the Big end of town how come you pay Tax. Crikey even the richest men in aus dont pay tax. Twiggy Forrest just admitted that he hasn't paid tax for 12 years. He is going to make it up though.

He said he will pay $100million this year and $800 million the following year to make it up.

So your accountant reckons the Clear Air Legislation will cost you $1,500 per year. Gee you must be on a good wage.

I know you own two properties and a business. Are you married with dependants? Live in a Rural enviroment?

You need to slow down a bit. Drop down a gear, put the left blinker on and relax. Aus, the greatest country in the world, you should enjoy your time here.

Rexxy

I think of all the reforms, the plain packaging of cigarettes could be the most interesting.

Agreed, you starting taking away company rights to trademarks etc and it's setting a dubious precedent - but this is big tobacco.

Saving people from a painful, miserable death is something even the boffins at think tanks like the Cato institute would waver on. Right?

It's the do-nothing Guv'ment Rexxy.

I love it. Whyalla is still standing too they tell me.

Anyhow just had a lovely chat with my Federal Member at our Remembrance Day. I asked her to convey my thanks and best wishes to Prime Minister Gillard. We chuckled over a lot of things happening. Some Goss, some fun when she chaired Parliament, whispers about Dr NoNo. Poor Sophia and her dead sugardaddy. Wait till the sh!t hits the fan there.

And now plain packaging has passed through.

World leaders I tell you, and the world is envious of us Aussies right now.

It's a beautiful day.

Oh yeah Ads which one of Rupes mates told you that.

Howse the annual cost of medical bills and cost in palliative care australia wide. I wont go into an indepth argument with you. You just keep believing what you read in Uncle Rupes rags.

Ads

Im all for it Quigs, dont get me wrong on that. Dont smoke, cant stand them. If they are serious though just pull em off the shelves all together.

This is a trademark and branding issue and they are going up against huge companies with deep pockets.

And they won't have a leg to stand on Ads you know why ... it's called the effect of public health.

And guess what the K.Hunts know it too. It's just that this reform action by this dooo nuffin' guv'ment will set a precedent that a lot of other countries are watching and waiting. Those countries are just itching to have ago at Big Tobacco.

and while we are at it ....here is some more happy news for NoNews Limited to go with their happy happy affairs way off in the UK and the States.

Sales of his rags are skyrocketting out here - come on the NBN

Roy Morgan readership figures report 3.7% drop in The Australian and 11.2% drop in The Weekend Australian over the last year, while the other national daily, the Fin Review, is up 4.2% on weekdays and 3.2% on Saturday. The Daily Telegraph is down 7.0% and 5.5%, while its Sydney rival the SMH is only down 1.1% and 1.2%. The Herald Sun is down 2.8% and 5.5%, while The Age is up 2.8% and down 3.0%.

Eat sh!t Rupes.

Quigs, the Australian has always been running at a loss. Old Rupert used the old Festival Records to cross subsidise the loss making Australian because he wanted to have a serious newspaper for the big end of town. Which is a big pity becuase Festival Records contributed far more to Australian culture and society than the Australian ever did (eg Thorpie, Normie Rowe, The Purple Hearts, Chain, even Sherbert)

And you are right about the ciggies packaging, its all to do with the greater public good, protecting kiddies from the harmful effects of tobacco, been following this issue at work over the past few years.