Good to see someone knows their history.Penrith discovered Bathurst. Before they came along it was just 2 dingoes running up and down a mountain.
Pretty much this. The disappointing part is there is a decent story in there somewhere, but the hyperbole over the figures and a few questionable additions to the player list turns it into a turd.
I trust the figures too, just the figures dont tell the story they're telling you they tell!0
those figures, as outlined above, by anyone with a functioning brain, are basic costs, they're BAU... the quoted 17m figure will not, based on their own information be drastically different to any other club relative
the panthers arent suddenly dominant because they're drastically outspending other clubs to achieve it, which requires offsetting advantages. It's a bullshit arguement. And their own numbers as per that article show it as such. Its as simple as that
If you’re running hm, sg ball, a reserve grade/link up and womens teams then you’ll already be doing that! It’s a furphy to say dolphins will be investing it in grassroots just like the panthers story is. They’ll be investing most of it through self interest in elite pathways to develop first grade players. Which is what they’re job is.Its simple apply the NRL Redcliffe rules to all NRL clubs
Invest $2mil at grass roots level in your district
If this comes from from a LC grant so be it
What’s shocking is that panthers LC don’t put any cash into grass roots RL in the region, that’s the real story in that piece!
”There has been a suggestion that the Panthers have abandoned the Penrith and Districts Junior Rugby League and its 24 local clubs after withdrawing its annual $250,000 grant in 2019.”
If you’re running hm, sg ball, a reserve grade/link up and womens teams then you’ll already be doing that! It’s a furphy to say dolphins will be investing it in grassroots just like the panthers story is. They’ll be investing most of it through self interest in elite pathways to develop first grade players. Which is what they’re job is.
what the nrl should be doing is funding ALL the state bodies properly so any kid in australia can play RL for a $50 registration fee and getting free kit, and every club in australia can access decent annual grants for equipment and travel.
You might wanna re-check that timeline mate.Every club reduced or stopped grants in 2019 due to Covid. Once things return to normal I'm sure the grants will resume.
Who cares, good on them, that doesn’t negate the myth thats being perpetrated that panthers spend a motza on grass roots in their region. They’re spending nothing other what benefits them directly in elite Pathways. Not that’s there is anything wrong at all with that, that is exactly where an nrl clubs responsibility should begin and end.Of course you ignore the part that states it is running at a profit
Nope, covid. They’ve said they’ll reinstate it once covid is gone and they can be sure of travel again. In the meantime time the nrlwa has put in an elite U18’s rep program dividing the region up and having players come out of their club sides into these rep teams to play each other so they can keep developing. The Pirates sg ball side is funded through a combination of nrl funding and Cummins (cash co vector guy) support. Costs around $400k a year I heard.Why did Perth stop running a SG Ball side?
costs were too high. Travel and insurance should be covered by NRL
Geez they could have told someone that there was going to be a global pandemic in 12 months time!Every club reduced or stopped grants in 2019 due to Covid. Once things return to normal I'm sure the grants will resume.
In NRL allocated districts the NRL club should pay for rego, insurance a jerseys for all of their junior teams and players up to and including U21If you’re running hm, sg ball, a reserve grade/link up and womens teams then you’ll already be doing that! It’s a furphy to say dolphins will be investing it in grassroots just like the panthers story is. They’ll be investing most of it through self interest in elite pathways to develop first grade players. Which is what they’re job is.
what the nrl should be doing is funding ALL the state bodies properly so any kid in australia can play RL for a $50 registration fee and getting free kit, and every club in australia can access decent annual grants for equipment and travel.
Especially when inflation starts eating into these budgets.You might wanna re-check that timeline mate.
There’s no way clubs would afford this model in the larger areas. Even somewhere like perth you’d be talking probably over $2million to cover everyone of the 3,500 grass roots registered players. Imagine the much bigger regions costs!In NRL allocated districts the NRL club should pay for rego, insurance a jerseys for all of their junior teams and players up to and including U21
If a club has less than 1000 junior players they must play 3 games at a relocation venue
Less than 750 6 games
Less than 500 9 games
Less than 250 club should be relocated
NRL to directly fund via state bodies the non-allocated regional regions jerseys, regos, insurance
But to do so would mean that those regions play in Tier 2 state Cups and in a statewide SGB HMC comps (ie merge LDC and SGB)
I see Perth as a region and Adelaide as a region
Who cares, good on them, that doesn’t negate the myth thats being perpetrated that panthers spend a motza on grass roots in their region. They’re spending nothing other what benefits them directly in elite Pathways. Not that’s there is anything wrong at all with that, that is exactly where an nrl clubs responsibility should begin and end.
the state body should be subsidising every grass roots players rego , kit, insurance, club costs etc through grants from nrl and money it can make through origin or other means. It’s the only way to get national equity at grass roots.
There’s no way clubs would afford this model in the larger areas. Even somewhere like perth you’d be talking probably over $2million to cover everyone of the 3,500 grass roots registered players. Imagine the much bigger regions costs!
nswrl get a $20mil grant a year plus there other revenue, where’s that money going?
for me id have nrl clubs responsible for hm, sg ball reserve grade, womens set ups at elite level or equivalents in their state directly linked to them.
Then the state body responsible for funding the real grass roots clubs and players, largely through nrl grants. Pre covid nrl spent nearly $90mill on states and development, the money is floating around somewhere! Nrl clubs still play a role in coaching clinics, visits to jnr club by players, having club badge on the jnr team sleeves to create connection etc but we can’t have them being responsible, in the modern day it’s really not there role anymore hence why what’s actually happening is all over the place with large areas of neglect.
Whatever they're spending, and it would include the opportunity cost of the Panthers academy and its staff, it isn't only benefiting them, but any club that signs a graduate of the system, and they're paying nothing. That is why clubs don't bother with development, because they can leech on others. That is the point being made.Who cares, good on them, that doesn’t negate the myth thats being perpetrated that panthers spend a motza on grass roots in their region. They’re spending nothing other what benefits them directly in elite Pathways.