Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels set to axe Nathan Hindmarsh in $1.5M cleanout

As I mentioned in a earlier thread, we signed these blokes cause we can't afford the Adam Blair and co's so we had to extend what we had.

Spot on. And if we've retained them for cheap it just means they're squad players who get to start right now because there's nobody better - Morgan and Lasalo have both played for Wenty this year so neither is first choice at their position.

He's not doing the job by himself he's got a stack of assistants, not counting the one who 'stood down' in the off-season.

He's not coaching the side by himself. Arthur and Nolan are both heavily involved.

I'm aware of that... yet it was Jodeci who suggested that and he knows the inner workings of the club better than both of us. Having someone to handle the more admistration side of things, and oversee all grades of as a whole takes the pressure of Kearney and allows to him to focus a lot more on the first grade side which is his most important responsibility.

I'm aware of that... yet it was Jodeci who suggested that and he knows the inner workings of the club better than both of us.

I reckon Jodeci's recent surliness indicates he knows a lot less about the club's workings than he used to.

I used to get a lot of the goss when Steve Edge was at the club, and after he left I was just another mushroom. I've gotten the same vibe from Jodeci these past 18 months.

so ... did we ever identify all these backended contracts that are going to screw us over?

and the whole - Ossie signed the Tongas thing baffled me a bit - so thats not the case?

Maroubra Eel

so ... did we ever identify all these backended contracts that are going to screw us over?

and the whole - Ossie signed the Tongas thing baffled me a bit - so thats not the case?

No we are still trying to figure out the backended contracts.

Anyway I don't reckon there is any. We will have heaps of cash to shop with.

When 3P took over they said that that Fitzy had signed too many incentive based and backended contracts and that he was a merkin for f**king up the cap for the club. They said that they would never lose a player like Kinga again.

So now we find out that we have more backended contracts ? FFS.

eel01s

My 2c worth:

I don't have a problem with Hindy (absolute club legend), Burt (good clubman), Poore (still think he could be OK on lesser money), Shack (IMO has nothing), Smith (injuries cruelled a good clubman) not being there next year.

I support any coach having the balls to get rid of players he doesn't want. After all his butt is on the line.

My only concern is that there is not much talent in the key positions we need left for 2013.

Clearly, something needs to change at the club. We have to become mentally tough, and want to win at all costs. We need the players who can do this. If the current crop can't, I see no reason why we can't develop our junior base to show these traits (hopefully being addressed now), and why we can't buy the rest.

oldmancraigy

I don't disagree with any of the players being let go.
Hindy should come out on his own and state his plans though, so he doesn't have this kind of press in the paper. He should have said something before season started.

He's 32 now and you can see his body has had enough. For the sake of his own future health he should retire.

Poore - $350k is no loss
Shack - no loss
Ben Smith - knee problems, shame he couldn't stay on
Burt - has been discussed enough on other threads

Agreed.

If SK was just telling older players to "get lost" for the sake of it, then that would be one thing.

But surely Hindy's time to retire has drawn nigh?

Hindmarsh 33
Burt 31
Shackleton 30
Smith 28
Poore 27 ($350k!!)

The only one of the players mentioned who we might possibly think about keeping would be B Smith - the others are all over the hill. Nothing wrong with veteran first graders, but when they are fringe first graders, who contribute very little on the paddock, then what's the point?

I'd be more distressed if I read an article about Kearney wanting to keep those blokes.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...nathan-hindmarsh/story-e6frfgbo-1226309151214

This has been bugging me over the weekend.

How long has Roy been "at the club" ?

Or has he just been supporting the club for a long time, like most of us here ? If the answer is the latter rather than the former, why make shit up ?

Hmmmmm

I first meet Roy Spagnolo and his Mate "Dezi" in the early 2000's I was introduced to them by Alan Overton.

At the time amongst my friends they ended up being called "The Italian Gentleman’s Club".

I know that Roy has been a player manager for a few of the Boys over the years, I think there was a time that if a Player was not represented, then the club asked Roy to look after them, either himself or to help get a player manager for the player.

natheel

If we were winning Hindy's age wouldn't even be discussed at all. it's because we are losing he is looking behind the ball a bit.

Look at Menzies when Manly won the 08 premiership, he was getting on but because they were winning he was left alone and no one said otherwise.

phantom eel

A $1.5m cleanout is just newspaper spin. If you aim to have most players on say an average of 3 year contracts (new players on shorter, established rep stars maybe on 4 year contracts), then on average one third of your squad should be off contract every year. One third of the $4.5m salary cap is $1.5m, so the "clean-out" story is rubbish.

It's just simple everyday squad management. Working out who is off contract at the end of the season, which of these guys you want to keep, for how long and how much, and what is the priority order of signing those deals (so you can know what you need to chase in the marketplace as the season rolls on).

Anyone thinking this potential "clean out" is a sign that the coaching staff has a plan is deluding themselves. It is simply the everyday dilemma that every club would face, on average, every single year. Pure spin.

Hindy (and Burt) should decide their own time they wish to call it quits, or what they can offer the club in the future. If Burt knows his time as a regular first grader might be coming to an end, he could sign for less and play a mix between Wenty and first grade - if he wanted to. Or he could consider retirement, or consider finding offers from other clubs. Same for Hindy, if he sees his future as playing less minutes and maybe contributing for another season from the bench (like Menzies), then he could sign for less (or consider retirement or finding other offers).

Either way, Hindy and Burt's choices shouldn't impact massively on the recruitment "plans" for the club, given any new contract might reasonably be for less cash, and with 10-year long service salary cap concessions in play as well. Bottom line, the club needs more of an actual recruitment and retention plan, rather than fumbling along on hype and Bentley's quoted expectation that players will come to him (or Kearney, or Osborne, or Anderson, or whoever is meant to be in charge of signings this week!).

All very nice to say that Hindy and Burt should leave when they are ready. Do you really think that Caylo could have stayed on if he wanted to ?

phantom eel

Caylo? Again, if he was happy to accept an extension for less, and contribute in a smaller way (from the bench, less minutes), and the long-term service cap concession applied then yes.

The offer obviously has to be on the club's terms, with offers made early and players given a chance to consider alternatives (like retirement or other clubs) if they don't like the offer. Not much different to Mateo and Inu or Williams or any young player really?

But my point is more the club doesn't seem to have a plan with these things, doesn't seem to make the offers/decisions with enough notice to allow preparations, and it's going to impact on the squad until they make some progress with it.

Djay

Cayless IMO retired at the perfect time, with hindmarsh i think his gone one year too long and probably same with Burt. yes they have served the club well but when it's time to hang em' up it's time.

phantom eel

I wouldn't be surprised if both retire mid-season? Hindy after he's passed the next milestone, and Burt at the same time if he's demoted to Wenty again. I don't know if there are any cap concessions available to the club if both choose to retire before June 30? From the sound of some of the posts about back ended contracts, we might need it!

No point retiring unless we have cap issues or we are bringing in capable replacements.

Ratchy

I wouldn't be surprised if both retire mid-season? Hindy after he's passed the next milestone, and Burt at the same time if he's demoted to Wenty again. I don't know if there are any cap concessions available to the club if both choose to retire before June 30? From the sound of some of the posts about back ended contracts, we might need it!

I really hope they don't because then it would show the true character of the playing group if 2 senior players decided to do that.

If we were winning Hindy's age wouldn't even be discussed at all. it's because we are losing he is looking behind the ball a bit.

Look at Menzies when Manly won the 08 premiership, he was getting on but because they were winning he was left alone and no one said otherwise.

he was contributing, which is easy to do when the team is playing OK

must be hard for Hindy to do that in this team

Ron Jeremy

I'm sorry if Burt and hindy retire mid year then they're little crying girls