Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels set to axe Nathan Hindmarsh in $1.5M cleanout

Every line in that article could have been sourced from this site yesterday, yet, some of the usual suspects are panicking once again.

They should put my name on the article then :lol:

It was Kearneys job to clean this place out, anyone who thought he would snap his fingers and the team would be contenders are kidding themselves. But it looks my theory has more legs than I thought, do I agree with everything he has done????? Not at all but he was given a tough task and he is trying to make some tough much needed decisions.

Kearney is the first coach since Smithy to have the balls to make the really tough decisions, he was always in a hiding to nothing in this one and it was always going to be emotional, however I still believe that it's Hindy who's made a decision not Kearney, stories like these are only fabricated to suit the needs of the caspers out there to feed of..

tough decisions need to be made for the betterment of this club in the future..

Maroubra Eel

If we do get rid of all these guys it will free up heaps of cash.
Can't wait to see who we sign to replace them. I'm looking forward to 2013.

Willface

About f**king time things changed. You all bitch and cry that we haven't one a GF for so long yet when someone starts to make inroads with the shit we have on our roster (I think add Keating and McGuire and pull Hindy off the list) his the worst prick in the world. If it had of been Bennett doing the tapping would there still have been the outcry, I will guarantee the players would still have responded the same way. There is a reason we haven't WON a GF and it ain't just the coach as you all make out. If the reason we our playing so disjointed is because these players have had the tap then these pricks need to stand up and take some responsibility. f**k they are getting a bucket load of money for what, they haven't delivered in the last ten years what the f**k is about to change now they have aged 10 years, please. All this shit about them been clubmen, let them from the f**king sideline and recruit us a decent rake, backrow and centre

Maroubra Eel

I don't think Keating is going anywhere mate. Didn't Kearney extend his contract.

I agree that some of the others need a clean out.

Hindy's time is up. It's sad but true. Physically he just can't compete anymore against younger faster players. Seeing him being palmed off by Walsh was sad on Friday. Writing is on the wall for him unfortunatel.

With Hindy and the other leaving we need to be aggressive in the player market.

yep...thought about this last night and it pains me to say it but I have to agree, it almost brings me to tears thinking like this but he's a spent force, a shadow of himself and a tired man.

but hey! let's get rid of Roy! that will fix it!!

Good on Shak for telling it like it is - interestingly his Twitter account is now closed, so the club has intervened.

Guys like Shakelton deserve a run - I hope he gets a chance at another club, he can play and is being wasted at the moment.

Cleaning out the players is one thing, the club will still go nowhere if the front office, board and coaching staff don't change.

Articles like this had to happen. When teams are down Journos make shit up and the club denies it. Instant story. I'd didn't even bother to post the Weedler one about Hayne.

Good on Shak for telling it like it is - interestingly his Twitter account is now closed, so the club has intervened.

Guys like Shakelton deserve a run - I hope he gets a chance at another club, he can play and is being wasted at the moment.

Cleaning out the players is one thing, the club will still go nowhere if the front office, board and coaching staff don't change.

It's 2005 all over again. :(

ParraManiac

Willface I really could not agree more. I have worked for plenty of bosses over the years who I thought were f'd it just made me work harder to prove them wrong, now I am having the last laugh! But I am over the bleating about Burt and Hindy. The two players who have disappointed me the most in the last 10 years were Hindy and Cayless I love em but they let us down when real leadership was needed in big games it never came. Fui is the only one that tried to take the 09 GF. by the balls and he nearly succeeded. Imagine if someone else stepped up with him (although I will say that EGJ was outstanding on that day also and Haynes efforts to get us there speak for themselves ).

Hindy has done some truely great things for this club but it is these moments / opportunities that will be his legacy in my mind. Burt is nothing more than a solid first grader who disappears when the going gets tough bottom line.

btaag

I agree wholeheartedly with Stagger Eel and Willface - this is all part of a structural change to the football side. It is getting ugly, but we need to gut the squad an continue the rebuilding.
Shakleton-Smith-Poore-Burt and Hindmarsh are all in their late 20's/early 30's and are not the future of the team.

Kearney is shaking up the team and putting his people into the side. I was one of the fans who ribbed Brian Smith when he dumped Chris King, David Woods and Chris Lawler in 1997 (amongst others) when he took charge, though I will be honest when I say I forgot all about these dumpings by the time Hindmarsh, Lyon, Richards, Vaeliki etc were playing really well only a fe years later.

The club is not beyond criticism, Kearney should not be let off the hook based on the results, but he is implementing a massive structural change. If we stop him implementing these changes and go back to being in limbo, in a holding pattern without moving forward and signing new players, we will be in a worse position than we already are.

i hope sk has some replacements in mind and he isnt just axing all these players out of spite if you think we look like shite now imagine next year if we have another 6 juniors running around in first grade and 1.5 million gathering dust

yep...thought about this last night and it pains me to say it but I have to agree, it almost brings me to tears thinking like this but he's a spent force, a shadow of himself and a tired man.

but hey! let's get rid of Roy! that will fix it!!
Yep hate to say it but it looks like time is up for the great man, hopefully it was more to do with him being crook of late but at 32 and all the work he has done he seems to be running on bald tyres :(

Jodeci

The only benefit of letting players like Shack, Hindy, Burty, Poore, Smith going is that it will ease the pressure of the salary cap.

There were extensions in early 2011 given to a few players come into effect next year.

People thinking we will have over a million to spend need to think again.

Not to mention what Hayne is actually earning.

Facebook isn't public, it's not like twitter. Silly thing to do, but not a hanging offence.

it is public in a way if you put something on facebook all your followers see it and all their friends see it and all the friends of friends of friends following them see it
all players need to remember this rule: if you wouldnt say it at a press conference then you shouldnt say it online

SDM

The only benefit of letting players like Shack, Hindy, Burty, Poore, Smith going is that it will ease the pressure of the salary cap.

There were extensions in early 2011 given to a few players come into effect next year.

We will have plenty, stop being a f**king sook

cv8z

You got any idea what Hayne is on?

Jodeci

it is public in a way if you put something on facebook all your followers see it and all their friends see it and all the friends of friends of friends following them see it all players need to remember this rule: if you wouldnt say it at a press conference then you shouldnt say it online

Shack needs to ask himself is he dominating NSW Cup to get a recall?

Same question applies for Horo.

They need to be showing that they are too good for that level.

Yes I agree with some that the blokes in front of him like Poore, Lasalo, Patty are playing poor, but are Shack and Horo doing enough in NSW Cup to justify their selection.

Posting that stupid comment on Facebook is simply weak and stupid.

If u have an issue with the coach, confront him in a private matter and leave it that way. No need to post your dirty laundry on Facebook