Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Leagues Club board sacked, administrator appointed

Green River Eel

Good on you Dellboy

If you white ant the blokes who went againstyour mates who used to have positions on the board and made you feel important when they said G'day to you on game day, it is only a matter of time before our club is restored to glory.

Bart and Gronk are certainly giving it a good crack.

I can almost feel the golden years returning now

Mate if a bloke like Eagleston got in with Price and co, THATS restoring the club to its golden days lol, what do you expect fans to sit back and say nothing about these imbeciles?
How is it white anting, he holds no role atm? and never will.

ash411

Good on you Dellboy

If you white ant the blokes who went againstyour mates who used to have positions on the board and made you feel important when they said G'day to you on game day, it is only a matter of time before our club is restored to glory.

Bart and Gronk are certainly giving it a good crack.

I can almost feel the golden years returning now

So.. you're a Spags guy, right? I'm not trying to pick a fight, but you are, aren't you?

You seem to be in support of Eagleston's ticket idea, who is fairly obviously also a Spags guy. You've been jumping on anyone that expresses concerns over his ticket idea.

It's fine if you are, people are entitled to their opinions, I personally don't care who's in charge as long as they're doing a good job, but that's me.

Am I right though? If I'm not, I've obviously misjudged, please correct me if so.

Delboy

so, Big F, you don't like the idea of a selection process that assists in choosing candidates with the best qualifications

Sure I can be a unicorn for the club I have followed for over 40 years, but please, when you talk agenda , check the mirror.

Of course we want is the best solution for the club, tell us all why you think Eagleston is worth a shot, I saw no evidence at the AGM or elsewhere, by the way did you attend the AGM and observe his time at the microphone?

Bigfella

No I think I've lost all interest.

I'm just going to assume that this ultra optimising, hyper-judgmental ignorance is all a cunning schtick and just ignore it.

I'll leave this thread to the people who deserve it.

ash411

No I think I've lost all interest.

I'm just going to assume that this ultra optimising, hyper-judgmental ignorance is all a cunning schtick and just ignore it.

I'll leave this thread to the people who deserve it.

Can you define "ultra optimising, hyper-judgmental ignorance" for me? like give an example? or are you referring to Delboy?

Like I said, If I'm off the mark about you being a Spags guy, please let me know...

Unless I'm right, and you don't actually want to say it, for whatever reason..

Bigfella

so, Big F, you don't like the idea of a selection process that assists in choosing candidates with the best qualifications

Sure I can be a unicorn for the club I have followed for over 40 years, but please, when you talk agenda , check the mirror.

Of course we want is the best solution for the club, tell us all why you think Eagleston is worth a shot, I saw no evidence at the AGM or elsewhere, by the way did you attend the AGM and observe his time at the microphone?

I will respond to this as apart from many thing I was asked nicely.

I have expressed some cautious reservations about the merit proposal. I am not against it at all.

I reckon anyone putting their hand up at this stage deserves a chance to express their ideas.

I am not in favour of the Eaglestone ticket.

I am certainly not a Spags man. I don't think anyone is. I don't think he is even running and I don't think any of the new tickets are seriously running for the old factions.

I agree with the criticisms of a ticket platform.

I accept that there should be some scepticism of people who have stood before and possible links with other failed leaders.

I don't accept and can't tolerate the deliberate targeting of certain candidates or camps by people who have been aligned with previous regimes.

People are on here badmouthing parties in a way that makes me more suspicious of their motives than any candidates. That also suggests to me that f**k all is ever going to change.

Its gotten to the stage now where people are masquerading their support for a particular faction by simply denigrating candidates by linking them to a competing faction.

I don't know why that is so hard to understand. Well I do. There are a heap of stupid merkins involved.

But when people say things like "I saw Ray price's name and that's enough for me" or "we must band together to rule out Eaglestone because he's linked to spags" I truly despair. It's not getting rid of factionalism by constantly relating every decision or election to the factions.

And as for someone saying "you refuse to immediately denigrate the Eaglestone proposal so clearly you are a spags man" they are committing an act of sophistry and appalling ignorance.

So the Question left from your post Big Fella, Do you believe based on his previous career and experiences, that Ray Price would be an acceptable chairman for the Parramatta Leagues Club ?

ash411

Bigfella said:
I am certainly not a Spags man. I don't think anyone is. I don't think he is even running and I don't think any of the new tickets are seriously running for the old factions.

Fair enough, thanks for answering. You won't hear me mention it again.

Bigfella said:
But when people say things like "I saw Ray price's name and that's enough for me" or "we must band together to rule out Eaglestone because he's linked to spags" I truly despair. It's not getting rid of factionalism by constantly relating every decision or election to the factions.

I'm one who actually said this, not necessarily to do with beating down a faction that "isn't mine" (as I don't have one) but because it's more of the same. Unqualified people running for the board for name recognition only. It hasn't done us any good so far. We don't need someone on the board just because they used to play for the Eels, that in itself isn't a valid qualification.

The other reason people are, I guess, warning people on the basis that tickets are aligned with old factions is for more or less the same reason. Yes I will admit a lot of it must be adgenda driven, people that support rival factions not wanting their "enemies" (god I hate that I just used that word in this context but it fits, it's so stupid" to get back in power, but also, its about not want anyone, from any faction getting in, because then (like my other point) it's just more of the same, which is doomed to fail.

I know a lot of times when a question is asked, people's first instinct is to assume it is some sort of attack on them, it's not always the case, sometimes people ask questions because they want clarification, so they can put a persons comments into the right context.

I've got that now, thanks for clearing it up. I actually agree with you on most of your points.

Bigfella

So the Question left from your post Big Fella, Do you believe based on his previous career and experiences, that Ray Price would be an acceptable chairman for the Parramatta Leagues Club ?

On balance of everything that's happened - probably not - and an ex player as chairman seems less than ideal

But - and this is a big but - that's not the same question as - should any person putting their hand up to help at a time of unprecedented crisis be denigrated out of hand - and/or should one of our all time greats be ruled out altogether because of his history of having tried to reform the club before?

I would say no to those last two questions.

Frankly, it's not the team I would assemble. That doesn't mean I'm going to campaign against them online or rule out what they have to say.

And my criticism would have to be tempered by the obvious fact that I haven't assembled a team. Someone has and I think they deserve to be heard.

Otherwise we just give in to all the hidden interests campaigning against any of them, which repeats the cycle.

His history of trying to reform the club before. . . .

Sorry what the hell are you talking about ? You are talking about Ray Price right ?

Don't get me wrong I loved him as a player, without doubt one of the best I have ever seen, but he was on the board in the 90's and didn't "reform" the club. He was then declared bankrupt and had to leave the board, after his years away he comes back to the club to "Oust Fitzy" with some powerful backers (including his employer at the time) and then what happened ?

Reforming the club, and getting back at a person who you believe has wronged you are two different things. Don't get me wrong, I don't want Fitzy back, I am hopeful his influence at the club will continue to wane, but his removal has only sparked one reform, a CEO of football as separate from a Group CEO.

Bigfella

His history of trying to reform the club before. . . .

Sorry what the hell are you talking about ? You are talking about Ray Price right ?

Don't get me wrong I loved him as a player, without doubt one of the best I have ever seen, but he was on the board in the 90's and didn't "reform" the club. He was then declared bankrupt and had to leave the board, after his years away he comes back to the club to "Oust Fitzy" with some powerful backers (including his employer at the time) and then what happened ?

Reforming the club, and getting back at a person who you believe has wronged you are two different things. Don't get me wrong, I don't want Fitzy back, I am hopeful his influence at the club will continue to wane, but his removal has only sparked one reform, a CEO of football as separate from a Group CEO.

Sorry i misunderstood.

I wouldn't have bothered relying at all if I had realised you simply wanted to engage in the continued grievance of long lost battles.

I should have realised who I was talking to.

Sorry i misunderstood.

I wouldn't have bothered relying at all if I had realised you simply wanted to engage in the continued grievance of long lost battles.

I should have realised who I was talking to.

Long lost battles ?

When I have ever lost an election? I have never run and as I have said in the past, I never will because I have too colourful a life that would not serve the club well to be associated with.

I think you have a massive miss read of me if you think all I do is have an axe to grind.

I want this club to be successful, but I don't want to fall into the trap that most seem to that ex-footballers should be on boards because they were legends of the club.

Which leads me to the EGM question. . . .

Why is Geoff Gerard the one to pick the committee for the new directors to be appointed. Why not an external consultancy? Why not someone like Nathan Rees or some local business leader? Why an ex-footballer and current member of the board.

TheRam

On balance of everything that's happened - probably not - and an ex player as chairman seems less than ideal

But - and this is a big but - that's not the same question as - should any person putting their hand up to help at a time of unprecedented crisis be denigrated out of hand - and/or should one of our all time greats be ruled out altogether because of his history of having tried to reform the club before?

I would say no to those last two questions.

Frankly, it's not the team I would assemble. That doesn't mean I'm going to campaign against them online or rule out what they have to say.

And my criticism would have to be tempered by the obvious fact that I haven't assembled a team. Someone has and I think they deserve to be heard.

Otherwise we just give in to all the hidden interests campaigning against any of them, which repeats the cycle.

Wow what a post. Who's now being a sophist?

Listen here mate. People here aren't dissing tickets or factions casually out of hand. They are just sick and tired of this never ending abomination that has continued one way or another for more then 30 years.

So any group that has a hint of former admin connections or previously failed candidates or even just plain old no name credentialed wannabes, should be exposed and brought to light. END OF STORY!

We need totally new blood that have the right background and credentials to run OUR club. So no, I don't want to hear from all the power grabbing/hungry arse holes any more. It just serves to pollute and confuse the voters that have no agendas and genuinely want to see our club pick the best people that will make our club successful. Of course they have a right to run, but we also have the right to ignore, report or criticize them as much as we like.

So don't crap on by trying to pretend that you are this reasonable, fair and nonjudgmental philosopher king type, when backgrounds of particular candidate's or tickets are brought to light. This is a public forum and a place of information to all members. If you don't like it, fine, that's your decision.

Bigfella

Wow what a post. Who's now being a sophist?

Listen here mate. People here aren't dissing tickets or factions casually out of hand. They are just sick and tired of this never ending abomination that has continued one way or another for more then 30 years.

So any group that has a hint of former admin connections or previously failed candidates or even just plain old no name credentialed wannabes, should be exposed and brought to light. END OF STORY!

We need totally new blood that have the right background and credentials to run OUR club. So no, I don't want to hear from all the power grabbing/hungry arse holes any more. It just serves to pollute and confuse the voters that have no agendas and genuinely want to see our club pick the best people that will make our club successful. Of course they have a right to run, but we also have the right to ignore, report or criticize them as much as we like.

So don't crap on by trying to pretend that you are this reasonable, fair and nonjudgmental philosopher king type, when backgrounds of particular candidate's or tickets are brought to light. This is a public forum and a place of information to all members. If you don't like it, fine, that's your decision.

You know what - I don't have too much of a problem with what you say.

If you are going to say - put a line through them all without distincition I'm much more comfortable with that.

It's the ones who single out one individual or group only to be excoriated who get my goat.

But surely you must have the same concern which both MITS and I have raised with the merit proposal.

Firstly - we are outsourcing the discretion to a "consultant".

Secondly - we are leaving a certain amount of discretion vested in one individual who sits exactly within one of the same groups / factions / predecessors who you want ruled out.

On the flip side - you probably can never get a perfect system; and at least there is an alternative being proposed.

But consider this RAMMY - the consultant might be a branch of a bank. And we know from your previous educational posts that bankers are related to Satan, responsible for all the conspiracies starting with the fake moon landing right through to the faked destruction of the twin towers, and are made up of blood sucking Freemasons who used processed salt on their msg riddled food.

http://www.parraeels.com.au/news/2016/06/30/dr_david_lamond_join.html

Dr. David Lamond joins Eels board

Thu 30th June, 02:30PM

Parramatta National Rugby League Club Deputy Chairman Tom Issa has on Thursday temporarily stood aside from the Board, in accordance with clause 37 of the Parramatta National Rugby League Club's constitution.

The following motion was resolved at Thursday’s Parramatta National Rugby League Club (PNRL) Board meeting: It is with regret that the PNRL board accepts Deputy Chairman’s decision to invoke clause 37 of the constitution. The board accepts his substitute, Dr. David Lamond.

“I have been a lifelong supporter of the Eels and it pains me to see the club going through such turmoil,” Mr. Issa said today.

“I have, at all times, acted with the utmost integrity and in the interests of the club and community I am proud to be a part of.”

“I have co-operated completely with the NRL and its investigation, and I remain firmly of the view that if the NRL intend to operate in the best interests of fans and the code they need to consider carefully the club’s response to the preliminary breach notice.”

“I have worked tirelessly on the governance reforms over the past three years and have been a strong advocate of the need for an independent non-PLC director to sit on the PNRL board.”

“I note that the NRL preliminary breach notice calls for such changes to be implemented if they are to consider reducing the financial penalty on the club."

Clause 37 of the Parramatta National Rugby League Club's constitution enables a director to stand aside, and appoint a substitute.

Dr. David Lamond PhD FANZAM is a long-term champion of the Parramatta community and internationally recognised expert in human resource management and international business. He is also a passionate supporter of the Eels.

A former senior executive in local and state government, Dr. Lamond has also run his own consulting company for the last 25 years, specialising in strategy and corporate governance. He was Deputy Dean of the Nottingham Business School in the UK and, more recently, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Business and Law at Victoria University. In addition to his current consulting work in risk management and corporate governance, he sits on several commercial Boards, as well as the Michael Hughes Foundation, a registered charity promoting awareness of sudden cardiac arrest.

The Parramatta Eels Board has today made the following statement:

The Eels are thrilled that a person of such quality and experience as Dr. Lamond is willing to join the Board to ensure the club and its Members have the best representation and capability in the furtherance of its goals.

Clause 37 reads:

37. Any Director with the approval of the Directors may appoint any person (whether a Member of the Company or not) to be an alternate or substitute Director in his place during such period as he thinks fit. Any person while he so holds office as an alternate or substitute Director shall be entitled to notice of meetings of the Directors and to attend and vote thereat accordingly and to exercise all the powers of the appointor in his place (except the power to appoint an alternate or substitute Director). An alternate or substitute Director shall not require any share qualification and also shall ipso facto vacate office if the appointor vacates office as a Director or removes the appointee from office. Any appointment or removal under this clause shall be effected by notice in writing under the hand of the Director making the same. At any meeting at which he is present as such alternate he shall be deemed a Director for the purposes of constituting a quorum. He shall look to the Director appointing him for his remuneration and not to the Company but the Company may reimburse him for all travelling and other expenses incurred by him in attending meetings of Directors or otherwise on the Company’s business. He shall not be taken into account in determining the number of Directors or the rotation of Directors and he shall, whilst acting as a Director be responsible to the Company for his own acts and defaults and shall not be deemed to be the agent of the Director by whom he was appointed.

emjaycee

El D, just so you know, I didnt have a link for the letter I posted cause I literally found a print out in Stockland Mall Baulkham Hills and typed it into here. Go Figure.