Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Leagues Club board sacked, administrator appointed

emjaycee

The writer understands that the Andrew Eagleston petition was dropped in at the club yesterday.

emjaycee

Found this on the Fox Sports website in comments on the Foran walkout article.

Source

What will set Parra back further is if a Spagnolo and Fitzgerald backed ticket gets onto the Board at an EGM. There was an email doing the rounds last week in support for a petition that included the following:

"We believe we have a strong ticket which is backed by numerous ex players, and previous board members such as Roy Spagnolo and Dennis Fitzgerald. We have even been upfront with Steve Sharp and told him of our plans. We also have the support of John Chedid who was the previous Parramatta Lord Mayor who has assisted the club to make Parramatta great."

If true, this is going to set us back more than signing Hayne ever will.

FMD will these guys never learn or leave.

Found this on the Fox Sports website in comments on the Foran walkout article.

Source

FMD will these guys never learn or leave.

Fitzgerald, Spagnolo & Co and certain ex-players who have appeared on the Board are a major cause of our current problems. In the real (corporate) world anybody with experience in appointing Receivers and/or Administrators will readily confirm a long proven fact that:
THOSE WHO WERE INVOLVED WHEN A COMPANY GETS INTO DIFFICULTIES ARE NOT "QUALIFIED" TO GET THAT SAME COMPANY OUT OF THOSE DIFFICULTIES. Repeat - this is a PROVEN FACT
While it's a sad day for the players, coaching staff and supporters, at long last we now have this positive opportunity to get rid of our past problem makers forever.
So, if you see any of the above problem makers lending their "support" to any ticket may I strongly suggest you give such ticket a big miss. Fitzgerald and Hadley skite about "experience" -- well in my book 'experience' is a negative especially in this rapidly changing world - it can tie you to the old way of doing things. Fresh faces please with a front office that will focus on providing the best possible support to our coaching staff and players without allowing their big EGOS to influence decisions just to score political points for themselves.

So now there are 3 options.

1 presents options to replace the board with Ray Price at the head of the ticket.
2 presents option to have the club look for professional people to run the club while leaving Gethro in charge.
3 presents another ticket with business men.

Has anyone investigated option 3's candidates. sorry didn't want to trawl through 12 pages in the new format

So now there are 3 options.

1 presents options to replace the board with Ray Price at the head of the ticket.
2 presents option to have the club look for professional people to run the club while leaving Gethro in charge.
3 presents another ticket with business men.

Has anyone investigated option 3's candidates. sorry didn't want to trawl through 12 pages in the new format

Id like to know more about each groups ideas and plans .....but I must say option 2 is making a massive mistake leaving one of the current morons still in charge. Absolutely nobody from the current board should be left in control after what's happened. We need a clean slate

emjaycee

Id like to know more about each groups ideas and plans .....but I must say option 2 is making a massive mistake leaving one of the current morons still in charge. Absolutely nobody from the current board should be left in control after what's happened. We need a clean slate

Gerard is not "left in charge" as much as he is in a caretaker role only while the selection process is undertaken. He has no authority to do anything except oversee the selection process. Unless of course we want to breach the Liquor and Gaming Act and get fined as well. Once the new board is selected he steps down.

After what's occurred under the current board I don't know if anyone can trust to leave anyone from the current board to have anything to do with the clubs future. I think that will be Losco plan downfall. I don't think the NRL will support it either just based on that point.

It just goes to show how ill informed so many members can be.
What you have just explained, was information that was available 2 weeks ago, yet people like Jake still didn't get the gist of it.
This is where our f**king club goes wrong. Dumb arses with voting rights.

emjaycee

I am not allowed to post details here as I don't have a verifiable source but in order of the petitions lodged I understand them to be:

(1) this one is referred to as (2) by MITS but was the first petition lodged and verified as having the required 101 valid signatures. This one is the one where Gerard stays while an independent team select new directors from whomever applies and picks them on merit (merit being determined as the best people for the job). It is proposed that the independent team be comprised of professional executive recruitment firm, NRL representatives and ClubsNSW representatives.

(2) Petition led by Brendan Noney (a lawyer) that has a ticket comprising 5 people to replace the current 7 and leaves 2 spots open. Includes an option to select the final 2 from the floor on the night of the EGM. Includes 21 different motions that each need to be passed by a majority of votes at the EGM. The 5 on the ticket are:
- Brendan Noney
- David Ciantar
- Martin Zaiter - a commercial accountant who works out of Nth Parramatta.
- John Hugh- a previous Parramatta Councillor
- Rony Wardon- a Parramatta Commercial Developer.

Allegedly, this group has the support of Bill Moss, who was going to be a director but hasn't been a member for 3 years as well as Roy, Denis and John Chedid, the current CEO of the Premiership Club.

(3) Petition led by Andrew Eagleston which is a ticket comprising:
- Andrew Eagleston-Director of ProSports Memorabilia, Property Consultant, Shopping Centre Manager, formerly a director on the Home World Board of Directors, Former Sponsor of Parramatta Eels for 7 years
Ray Price-OAM, Four times Parra Premiership Winner, 1986 Parra Captain, Kangaroos Captain, NSW SOO Captain & Legend
Ian Sekuloski-Director of own company, Specialist property procurement, previous head of Stockland acquisitions
Paul Barber-Director of own company, former Lord Mayor of Parramatta
Two directors are to be appointed by NRL as independent directors
One director to be selected from Parramatta membership

Personally I am not sure why the NRL would want to appoint someone to the PLC Board. The last 2 of these petitions IMHO do not clearly recognise that the PNRL (Footy Club) Board is not the same as the PLC Board and since some recent changes to the PNRL constitution were made, there can already be 2 Independent Directors on the PNRL Club Board. It would be nice of the people putting together these petitions actually understood the structure of the Club they want to take charge of.

emjaycee

After what's occurred under the current board I don't know if anyone can trust to leave anyone from the current board to have anything to do with the clubs future. I think that will be Losco plan downfall. I don't think the NRL will support it either just based on that point.

I agree Jake.
So let's sack Gerard as well, have OLGA breach the club for not having any directors and take away our gaming and liquor licence for 2 months while we pick the right board.

On edit: The NRL don't want to pick the PLC Board members and Toddy made it clear yesterday that they will support a motion that gets the best people into the Club as Directors.
Some names that have been getting bandied about and have been lobbied to nominate in the event option 1 gets passed are alot more impressive then any of the Board we have had in the last 9 years. I just cannot name them on here because they are not publicly announced as yet.

It just goes to show how ill informed so many members can be.
What you have just explained, was information that was available 2 weeks ago, yet people like Jake still didn't get the gist of it.
This is where our f**king club goes wrong. Dumb arses with voting rights.

Oh shit here comes the forum police and mr. f**king know it all arrogant merkin Suity.

I get the gist you moron and I disagree with Gerrard part. I don't agree with anyone on the current board being a caretaker or whatever the f**k u wanna call it. I actually think Losco has the right idea getting the best of the best but having any current board member left over looks very bad. All current members of the board should have no involvement at all IMO no matter how insignificant their role would be. I reckon the NRL from what they've already have said about the current board members would not back Losco on that point. They have no faith with anyone on the board neither do the fans. Not to be trusted even in caretaker mode.

I agree Jake.
So let's sack Gerard as well, have OLGA breach the club for not having any directors and take away our gaming and liquor licence for 2 months while we pick the right board.

On edit: The NRL don't want to pick the PLC Board members and Toddy made it clear yesterday that they will support a motion that gets the best people into the Club as Directors.
Some names that have been getting bandied about and have been lobbied to nominate in the event option 1 gets passed are alot more impressive then any of the Board we have had in the last 9 years. I just cannot name them on here because they are not publicly announced as yet.

I'd like to know the names of its impressive as you put it then get it out there and get some positivity back into the joint.

emjaycee

I'd like to know the names of its impressive as you put it then get it out there and get some positivity back into the joint.

Not my responsibility to name people in public mate - I am no different to any other voting member, just maybe more informed in some matters. When these names are public will be happy to give my views.
In the meantime, I have PM'd the names I know to you.

phantom eel

Fitzy (Dorothy) is a member and will likely be there. Though I think Spagnolo (Toto) had their membership cancelled.