Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Leagues Club board sacked, administrator appointed

who wants to go trekking out to that soulles place for a whole eight more years than we have to!

While you and I would suggest a majority of fans might not like to, the Parramatta LAC, I would venture to say the local chamber of commerce would love for us to continue to take our games against the dogs to ANZ. Purely so church street doesn't end up like a war zone, which is what happened the last time we played the Dogs at Parramatta Stadium.

As for the Tigers game on Easter, well tell me a year that hasn't gotten over 30K

T.S Quint

The NRL could easily make the Eels/Tigers Easter Sunday game a Tigers home game every year so that it is always played at ANZ.

As for Dogs games, I would love to play those scumbags back in Parramatta once again.

I agree with Max about f**king off the two games per year at Homebush once our new stadium is built... who wants to go trekking out to that soulles place for a whole eight more years than we have to!
Another disgraceful decision by your former board heroes......

We need to f**k this Mad Max merkin off if we can't sue people anymore and go on junkets.

TheRam

The point is it didn't end up being a four year deal from the point of view of our salary cap. Everybody wins.

No the point is it was a terrible deal from the start and many of us said so from the outset. The guy was a walking disaster. Everyone could see this but you and the coach.

With the loophole it was virtually zero risk.

What loophole? It only relates to non-existing career ending injuries. Hardly a loophole in injury plagued Watmoughs case.

I don't really see the point of including any payment in the cap if it's for players no longer at a club. I understand the need for an actual pay out where a player is released, but why should it count under the cap? Who benefits from that?

Pointless statement. We don't make the rules, but if this rule wasn't there, I'm sure there would be plenty of stacking going on by the more powerful clubs and even more money going to elite players as opposed to junior development. Imagine player X at 30, still playing well and on 700k at his current club, which is one of the poorer clubs. Rich club steps in and offers a 5 year deal at $700k, both player and club know he will only see out the first two maybe 3 years, but then guarantee the remaining years no matter what. This would allow for even more uneven advantages for the clubs with deepest pockets.

What's wrong with that? Rich clubs need to spend their money somehow.

What? For starters, how about spending it on the non players, behind the scene stuff. It is a well known fact that the teams that spend the most on trainers, medicos and the like, generally do much better on the field. Or how about investing that money in developing more revenue streams. You know make hay while the sun shines and not spend like a lottery winner.

It was worth it to get some toughness into the playing group. It's only money, we've got heaps of it and we've struggled to find ways to spend more of it on players.

What a load of rubbish. Such a irresponsible statement, I don't actually think that you're being genuine. Tough? The guy was a walking train wreck. He, by his own admission, fled most times after training straight home and felt he hadn't contributed to the club or players with any real guidance or leadership, which is what he was brought here to do. And to top it off, he barely played and when he did, he was mostly SHIT!

Struggled to find ways to spend it? How about a centre of excellence like the Panthers have after only five years under Gould's guidance?
Or I'm sure that money will be greatly welcomed to reduce the interest on whatever massive debt we will have hanging over our heads, when that $100m development kicks in. Or on strategical investments that actually make money?

Unlike other rich clubs we were coming from a position of weakness, meaning we had to take bigger risks. And because of the retirement clause it was low risk anyway.

Brad Arthur is smart. Neither the Watmough nor Foran contracts ended up hurting us.

That retirement clause was never a real option for a player like Watmough that had previous injuries up to his wazoo. The NRL, contrary to the conspiracy merchants beliefs, basically gave us a gimme pass on that one and ruled in our favour after all the shit that went down this year and now that we are finally getting our shit in order. The insurance company on the other hand see this as a no brainer. The guy is riddled with arthritic knees. You would have to be the dumbest clown of an insurance doctor if you could not put a red pen through that claim.

Yes Brad Arthur is smart, but not infallible. The TPA's hurt us and as stated above, money squandered is money not spent on real value adding endeavours.

It's not a business, it's a footy team. Businesses are there to make money. Sporting clubs have other goals.

Yes it is a business, albeit a different kind. Yes they do have other goals, but the best know how to win both on and off the field.

There's only one side to every argument hey? It must be sweet to live in a world where everything is so straightforward and simple.

Yes pou it must be wonderful having multiple sides.

Actually we've been making plenty of money. We finally focused on winning games and got caught spending too much. It's f**ken bullshit!

Really? We have been trying to by a premiership for decades by spending big you dick. We have virtually always been one of the biggest spending club out there. We just haven't spent the money wisely as the latest examples show in Watmough and Foran you mook.

Unbelievable. Another litany of verbal nonsense from you Pou that beggars belief. I love your zeal Pou and appreciate many of your postings too and many times you have made me laugh, but at times just carry on way to much, just to win that unwinnable fight. This is one of those cases mate. You should just drop it while you're behind.

I suppose my last sentence is like waving a cap to a bull.

Mate I trust the coaching staff have a better understanding of risk than you do. We have come out of this unscathed. Your hysterical attempts at melodrama don't change that.

You are the prime target audience for tabloids like the Telegraph. Club in crisis.

If Homebush was better financially for either club they wouldn't bother with the 30k capacity Brand New Soulless Parra Stadium. As it is, Homebush is a better deal than the old 19k Pirtek Stadium, despite all its soul. With the Wanderers at capacity season ticket holders it was only a matter of time before they ditched Pirtek. The fans that can't get in are worth a lot of money.

ash411

If Homebush was better financially for either club they wouldn't bother with the 30k capacity Brand New Soulless Parra Stadium. As it is, Homebush is a better deal than the old 19k Pirtek Stadium, despite all its soul. With the Wanderers at capacity season ticket holders it was only a matter of time before they ditched Pirtek. The fans that can't get in are worth a lot of money.
Soul is just concrete plus time.

I'm sure when Pirtek was built there were plenty of people calling it "soulless". 30 years on it's our Mecca...

phantom eel

Soul is just concrete plus time.

I'm sure when Pirtek was built there were plenty of people calling it "soulless". 30 years on it's our Mecca...
Actually no, it was quite well received. There's nothing dumpy about it imo, except the catering arrangements.

Happy MEel

Do you seriously think a 50,000 Easter Monday attendance is worth less to us than a 30,000 rebuilt Parra stadium? I reckon Maxy has made a determination in the best interests of the members, rather than a purely financial one - even though his professional background might suggest otherwise.

Do you seriously think a 50,000 Easter Monday attendance is worth less to us than a 30,000 rebuilt Parra stadium?
Depends on our share of revenue.

I reckon Maxy has made a determination in the best interests of the members, rather than a purely financial one - even though his professional background might suggest otherwise.
He has said that he wants the NRL team to approach self sufficiency, so he seems most concerned with the leagues club members, specifically not forcing the PLC to waste too much money funding a sporting team.