Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Payne Haas requests immediate release from the Broncos.

The difference is players are staying at bronx for less, nothing wrong with that, if they were bought at the price, versus chooks poaching others on unders when they've gone to market.... where other clubs have the money, but wont get a look in, firstly its not fair... and really its poor form, i get that players want to play for them, but you shouldn't be able to buy players like haas for less than he would get on the market
Like who?

Teddy? Still one of the highest paid players in the NRL

Who else?

I love Roosters salary cap accusations accompanied with Bronco tears
This is a 10 page sook now on the roosters signing a player for unders despite the following

1. The roosters said in april they weren't willing to meet the asking price
2. When said player asked for a release the roosters re-iterated point 1 and explicitly said they wouldn't be signing him prior to 2024
3. Said player has re-committed to Broncos
4. Said player got nowhere close to signing with the roosters

Truly bizarre stuff

Floodwaters

Roosters currently have;

Teddy - $1.1million/season
Keary - 850k/season
Manu - 800k/season
Brandon Smith - 800k/season
Crichton - 900k/season

Victor Radley/Sam Walker would have to be on decent coin.

Roosters aren't signing no $1.2million prop, if anything there cap is about to implode.

MugaB

Like who?

Teddy? Still one of the highest paid players in the NRL

Who else?
Cronk, B.Smith, Crichton, Morri's, Suaali... best one was SBW on the covid return.. poor struggling chooks need sbw for the last 6 weeks nearly every time there's a high profile player leaving their own club, the roosters basically are getting in there as first pick., before anyone else.. its become a bit of a joke now, why have a market price, if clubs like yours aren't paying it... and im not talking TPAs either.... B.Smith goes to the Titans on more money period, one million maybe more... goes to the roosters om unders to get a premiership... what a wank... he can get that at the storm already, actually more chance there than in bondi, unless he is receiving both.......

.............yep

MugaB

Roosters currently have;

Keary - 850k/season
Manu - 800k/season
Crichton - 900k/season

Roosters aren't signing no $1.2million prop, if anything there cap is about to implode.
Crichtons being shopped around, takiaheo has been shown out, thats enough to pay the exact under value amount he is currently on/worth for a prop... hell he might even arrange some TPA agreement to bolster the whole deal... im sure he was used that up in brissie too...im not knocking the bloke, Haas is a great prop... but props aren't worth that amount of money... and leaving a high profile one city club and agitate to play for another.... "TO WIN A PREMIERSHIP" that line when i hear it wreaks of chook poop

Floodwaters

Crichton has been crap the entire time his been at the Roosters so there won't be any takers at the big money his on at the Roosters.

Roosters currently have;

Keary - 850k/season
Manu - 800k/season
Crichton - 900k/season

Crighton is not on 900k, that was a rumour spread by souths.

MugaB

Crichton has been crap the entire time his been at the Roosters so there won't be any takers at the big money his on at the Roosters.
Not sure about crap, he played rep for a long time now, not this year, but previously has..
Any team near the end of the ladder would love angus, i know the tigers are keen, but are being tightasses about it... even though they have the cash... i suppose why pay overs hey? Bwaaaok bok

If Payne Haas was my kid, I’d sign him to Storm or Roosters every f**king day of the week. I’d sure as hell wouldn’t let him go to a basket case club.

Cronk, B.Smith, Crichton, Morri's, Suaali... best one was SBW on the covid return.. poor struggling chooks need sbw for the last 6 weeks nearly every time there's a high profile player leaving their own club, the roosters basically are getting in there as first pick., before anyone else.. its become a bit of a joke now, why have a market price, if clubs like yours aren't paying it... and im not talking TPAs either.... B.Smith goes to the Titans on more money period, one million maybe more... goes to the roosters om unders to get a premiership... what a wank... he can get that at the storm already, actually more chance there than in bondi, unless he is receiving both.......

.............yep
Who was offering Cronk more than us?

Morriss's lol, they were journeyman when they arrived

Sualli? he is a rookie

Smith is leaving the storm because they have chosen Grant over him. You understand that don't you? He doesn't have a choice to stay there.

You seriously want to go down the track of players going to the club that offers the most? Well we are willing to pay Cleary $2M so he MUST sign with us.

Crichtons being shopped around, takiaheo has been shown out, thats enough to pay the exact under value amount he is currently on/worth for a prop... hell he might even arrange some TPA agreement to bolster the whole deal... im sure he was used that up in brissie too...im not knocking the bloke, Haas is a great prop... but props aren't worth that amount of money... and leaving a high profile one city club and agitate to play for another.... "TO WIN A PREMIERSHIP" that line when i hear it wreaks of chook poop
Crighton isn't being shopped around. "Shopping around" is what happens when players have a registered contract that the club wants to relieve themselves of. Crighton's contract ends this season and if we don't register his new one then he doesn't have a club, we don't require someone else to sign him. Your lack of knowledge on such issues is telling.

SST's contract ends this season as well and we have chosen not to re-sign him. You are aware we don't have to re-sign players?

Interesting you bring up props not being worth that amount of money because that is the exact reason the roosters have said twice now publicly that they won't sign Haas yet you are STILL whinging.

blaza88z

Crighton isn't being shopped around. "Shopping around" is what happens when players have a registered contract that the club wants to relieve themselves of. Crighton's contract ends this season and if we don't register his new one then he doesn't have a club, we don't require someone else to sign him. Your lack of knowledge on such issues is telling.

SST's contract ends this season as well and we have chosen not to re-sign him. You are aware we don't have to re-sign players?

Interesting you bring up props not being worth that amount of money because that is the exact reason the roosters have said twice now publicly that they won't sign Haas yet you are STILL whinging.

The same logic has been applied regarding Jake Turpin and Brisbane supposedly shuffling the decks to make room for Haas, the fact is that Turpin isn't contracted in 2023

lynx000

This is a 10 page sook now on the roosters signing a player for unders despite the following

1. The roosters said in april they weren't willing to meet the asking price
2. When said player asked for a release the roosters re-iterated point 1 and explicitly said they wouldn't be signing him prior to 2024
3. Said player has re-committed to Broncos
4. Said player got nowhere close to signing with the roosters

Truly bizarre stuff
Will you in good faith and yoga style kiss your own ass when he is announced as signing with your club?

lynx000

If Payne Haas was my kid, I’d sign him to Storm or Roosters every f**king day of the week. I’d sure as hell wouldn’t let him go to a basket case club.
That is the problem though, Haas wants 1.2M and he wants to go to a winning club. Winning clubs do not pay 1.2M for a prop. Particularly one that has a limited passing game and although a somewhat effective defensive player, does not intimidate anyone with his tackling.

Colk

Wow to use this article as defence against the Roosters having some sort of advantage is pretty astounding and requires some sort of cognitive gymnastics on behalf of Chooks supporters and other advocates (although I don’t understand why their supporters get upset by this talk as they are being advantaged by the system)

The key aspect that has been glossed over by the writer of this article and certain Roosters supporters is this little nugget

Although Cooper Cronk and James Tedesco benefited from whole of game sponsorship, which wasn’t included.

Who are these sponsors? How much are these sponsorships worth (key aspect)? How are these sponsorships arranged (key aspect)?

These questions with TPA’s/sponsorships are at the heart of what is problematic with the salary cap - it isn’t transparent and it is totally open to inconsistencies in terms of application from the NRL.

You either completely rid yourself of sponsorships/TPA’s or continue to allow it but build something within the system that counteracts the advantage that some clubs have on this front - something that advantages theCowboys/Raiders/Warriors/Knights/Penrith/Sharks/Titans etc that don’t enjoy the same corporate advantages)

Floodwaters

That is the problem though, Haas wants 1.2M and he wants to go to a winning club. Winning clubs do not pay 1.2M for a prop. Particularly one that has a limited passing game and although a somewhat effective defensive player, does not intimidate anyone with his tackling.

Look at the highest paid list and look where the team is positioned on the ladder

1. DCE (1.2million) - 10th

2. Ben Hunt (1.1million) - 9th

3. Teddy (1.1million) - 6th

4. Turbo (1.1million) - 10th

5. David Fifita (1.1million) - 15th

Top 5 highest paid teams are all struggling or just middle of the pack.