Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Phil Tufnell's jibe

stevo

woodgers said:
It was just banter. I don't know what the problem is? The room cracked up with the Herschelle Gibbs remark. Surely the Ausssie cricketers aren't going to become a bunch that can dish it out but can't take it back?

They sure are! I thought it was bloody funny. Punter and a couple of the boys really take themselves too seriously sometimes. They spit the dummy when things don't go their way and complain about silly little banters like that. I think the way they (mainly Punter) carry on during some games is embarassing. They certainly do have a few tickets on themselves.

I thought tufnells digs were hilarious
pity the poms didnt have the balls to use a current test player though ;-)

I dont think punter took it seriously either, what is he suppossed to say??

he just threw it back to tuffnell and the poms with a warning and a promise, thats all, extra motivation??, it may or may not be the case, all hype imo

bring on the ashes 2006/07

Palms

Mate I'm sure it hurts some of the boys deep down about losing the ashses for the first time since 1989. I can't blame them for having at least a bit of a sore thumb about what tufnell said. On the other hand I took it pretty light heartedly and it didnt get me angry....but hey I wasn't playing in the ashes.

Just imagine if Jeff Thompson went on the English cricket awards and said vice versa about their team for the last 15 years..gotta be put into context, which ever way you look at it.

NPK

The Tufnell thing was funny IMO. Nothing to get upset about.

I actually felt there were too many Symonds drinking jokes...way too many..they stopped being funny after the first couple.

stuke

the boys are a bit thin skinned in my opinion.

a better option would have been not to have commented on it at all. by doing so they have put the attention firmly on themselves and their comments.

and on Steve Waugh's sledge...I much prefer the 'you just dropped the World Cup'. makes it that more impressive and we all know the truth should never get in the way of a good story!

iggy plop

Precious little Aussies. Ponting is a twat!

Well done Tuffers.

To the people who suggest he couldn't play, I say... How many Tests have you played?

budz

A couple of good articles on how seriously it was taken by some. First from the SMH and second from the daily telegraph.

DOUG Walters told some hilarious beer drinking anecdotes with that mischievous grin. Andrew Symonds' less celebrated exploits in England were the source of constant, sometimes even pointed remarks. On Allan Border Medal night, don't let anyone tell you Aussie cricketers don't like a laugh.
That is unless the person making the joke happens to be that Pommy twerp Phil Tufnell and he interrupts the ritual back-slapping and self-congratulation with a pre-recorded monologue that mocks Australia's performance in the Ashes - just as we had taunted the English for their inept displays over 16 years.

Forget that Tufnell's rave was well scripted, funny and delivered with a devilish glint in the eye. When a to-and-from dares to remind our boys that the year's real cricket highlight came at their expense, suddenly they start to take themselves very seriously.

Then we see the humourless side of Australian cricket. The side that says winners are grinners. And if you beat us? Just shut the hell up. We get to see Ricky Ponting make pointed reference to Tufnell's remarks as he accepts the Allan Border Medal, warning the comments would be motivation for the next Ashes series.

Which makes you wonder which aspects of Tufnell's routine were so new to the skipper they would increase his arousal levels? Was it the bit about how Glenn McGrath's Ashes batting average was higher than Adam Gilchrist's? The line about Shane Warne waking up at night wondering if he had dropped the Ashes because he put down Kevin Pietersen twice in the final Test? (At Allan Border Medal night, of course, this line is funny only when used to mock Herschelle Gibbs for dropping the World Cup.) The reference to Ponting's ill-fated decision to insert England in the second Test?

The appearance of the affable Walters had been a pleasant reminder of how we like to see ourselves as a sporting nation: play hard, then have a beer and a laugh about it in the sheds. A nation that would easily shrug off the tongue-in-cheek ravings of Tuffers, a man who has parlayed his eccentric talents into a career as an amusing TV rent-a-buffoon.

Sadly, the reaction to his comedy instead said more about the nation we're becoming: triumphant in victory, precious, thin-skinned and defensive in defeat. One radio news bulletin described the light-hearted routine as a "spiteful send-up". Talkback callers lamented how such un-Australian sentiments could be uttered on this sacred night of nights. Tufnell could scarcely have caused more offence had he turned up to the Muslim Cricketer of the Year dinner with cartoons of Muhammad all over his napkin.

But given the nature of Allan Border Medal night, it should not be surprising that comments from outside the cosy world of Australian cricket are not welcome. This is, after all, an award in which the performances of only half the players in international matches are acknowledged.

For this reason, the voting system taken from the AFL's Brownlow Medal is fatally flawed. With only Australians awarded votes, a batsmen who scores a match-winning double century in a famous Test victory gets three votes, but so might a bowler who takes a modest 4-72 in an innings defeat. Surely the 3-2-1 votes should be awarded to the three best players in the match, not just the three best Australians.

The Australian votes could still be tallied separately with the relative impact of performances better reflected.

But, of course, that concept would acknowledge that the three best Australians were not always the three best players. It would betray the fact that we face opponents of equal, if not greater ability. And, as the reception to Tuffers' routine demonstrated, foreigners and their opinions are not welcome on Allan Border Medal night.

Lighten up Ricky

February 08, 2006

ENGLISH pot-stirrer Phil Tufnell has urged Australia's cricketers to lighten up in the wake of their stone-faced rejection of his Ashes humour.

The former Test spinner was stunned to learn captain Ricky Ponting and several other players had considered his Allan Border Medal skit in poor taste.

Debate flared around the nation yesterday over the merits of Tufnell's pre-filmed comedy segment in which he taunted Ponting about his infamous decision to bowl first in last year's Edgbaston Ashes Test and Shane Warne for dropping Kevin Pietersen on the last day of the final Test.

"Good gosh ... how on earth has it come to this?" was Tufnell's response to The Daily Telegraph when woken yesterday in London to be informed of the storm he had created.

"I thought Australians had a sense of humour. I'm sorry if I caused any offence. It was just a bit of fun." When told Ponting had said the skit had annoyed him, Tufnell started laughing hysterically then added: "My advice to Ricky and the boys would be to enjoy life before it's all gone."

Tufnell conceded Channel 9 production staff helped him with the script. Nine refused to apologise for Tufnell's segment and plans to have him appear live at next year's Border Medal ceremony if Australia win back the Ashes.

When asked whether he would appear next year Tufnell replied: "What's the Allan Border Medal?" It appears he did his skit without taking much notice of where it would appear.

Ponting admitted the segment "got under my skin a bit" but Nine's Melbourne director of sport, Cos Cardone, who produced the show, said no offence was intended and there was no need for the station to apologise.

"We just tried to immerse a bit of comedy in the night," he said. "Last year we had Hale and Pace.

"I don't feel we should have to apologise. In fact, if we win the Ashes back next season we will fly Phil over and get him to the Crown Casino and Australia can get their own back. How good will that be? It was creative television and sometimes when you do that you take a bit of a risk." Channel 9 executives were first impressed by Tufnell's quirky sense of humour when he appeared on the AFL Footy Show when it was filmed in London during last year's Ashes series.

JJ

waltzing Meninga said:
And you were out in the middle that day? Tugga claims he never said it but who knows if he did or not.

presumably Waugh knows...

Ponting's a great bat, a poor captain, and a bit of a twat for getting upset about that

fish eel

waltzing Meninga said:
A player will rarely admit to sledging an oponent under those circumstances. .

Steve Waugh is quite open in his book about what was said on the field in other circumstances, IE his stand off with Ambrose

I wonder if a Pakistani player will be doing a comedy skit at the English Cricket Awards night.

"Vaughan, we know you had just won the Ashes, but you really should have checked to see if Pakistan had any Lolly shops before you arrived" :)

lockyno1

It may just be me but I agree with Ponting on this one! I didn't really find it funny, I thought it was quite disrespectful actually. Tuffers should leave us alone and then we will be happy!

JJ

lockyno1 said:
It may just be me but I agree with Ponting on this one! I didn't really find it funny, I thought it was quite disrespectful actually. Tuffers should leave us alone and then we will be happy!

1. It sounds pretty funny.
2. It is just you.
3. I think Murali would be happy if you lot left him alone too - you're pretty good at dishing it out, but not so good at taking it...

lockyno1

JJ said:
1. It sounds pretty funny.
2. It is just you.
3. I think Murali would be happy if you lot left him alone too - you're pretty good at dishing it out, but not so good at taking it...

Sorry but what was funny about it? I did not find it funny one bit! And what on earth does Murali have to do about Phil Tuffnell?

JJ

lockyno1 said:
Sorry but what was funny about it? I did not find it funny one bit! And what on earth does Murali have to do about Phil Tuffnell?

A sense of humour would help...

As I read your post, I thought you were saying that if Tuffers left Aust alone, Ponting wouldn;t be sooking... To me, the parrallel is that if Australian's left Murali alone, he wouldn't be sooking either...

what was funny was that it came from Phil Tuffnell, a player that useless he couldnt take a catch if it floated in the air. :lol:

I thought the skit was good, nothing to be taken too serious. I respect Ponting as a player and a captain, but there's no need to take it serious and get upset about it. I know theyre shaken about it, but let England have their joy for at least another 10 months until they give us back the urn.

Bring on the Ashes 2006, thats all I can say.

lockyno1

JJ said:
A sense of humour would help...

As I read your post, I thought you were saying that if Tuffers left Aust alone, Ponting wouldn;t be sooking... To me, the parrallel is that if Australian's left Murali alone, he wouldn't be sooking either...

It is completely different. Tuffers has basically no right to brag on becuase he was crap! I mean he should stick his nose somewhere else if he really must! It was supposed to be a great night so the familes and players could relax! You have a good idea if it is disrespectful if NONE of the Australian players even laughed at it! Why should we leave Murali alone?