Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pike River Mine Memorial match.

boo_boo

G'day all.
I am interested in finding out more about this game on Saturday as i will be going to the Souths - Newtown trial but i'm very keen to show some support by buying a jersey or a t-shirt that they might be selling.
I cant find anything on the net so any help on websites will be appreciated.
Cheers in advance.

Micistm

Nice gesture mate, although I haven't seen anything myself in regard to souvenirs for the occasion.
The Greymouth isite centre and Canty Rugby League are selling the tickets...maybe dropping them an email might help? Not sure though, a t shirts a cool idea.

Good luck.

roopy

1. Shannon McDonnell
2. Peter Mata’utia - Samoan International - Newcastle born
3. Keith Lulia - Cook Islands international
4. Siuatonga Likiliki - former Warrior - Tongan international
5. Kevin Naiqama - Fijian International
6. Ben Rogers
7. Tyrone Roberts
8. Evarn Tuimavave (c) - former warrior
9. Chris Adams - former country player of the year - drafted from the Newcastle comp
10. Joel Edwards
11. Kyle O’Donnell - In last year's NYC team of the year - brother of Luke
12. Steve Southern
13. Marvin Karawana - Injured all last year - from Wellington

14. Chad Redman - Australian schoolboys hooker and future Knights captain
15. Chris Houston
16. Josh Ailaomai - giant Kiwi - the next Fui Fui - 115kg of dynamite with 1 inch fuse
17. Zane Tetevano - kiwi - Cook Islands International

18. Marvin Filipo - former Warrior - former qld cup player - brought up from Newcastle comp
19. Ethan Cook - captain of NYC - best Knights junior at present
20. Ryan Stig - former Knights junior re-signed from Qld cup winners Northern Pride - big halfback
21. Simon Williams - skillful centre - 6th year at the Knights - had a great year in NSW cup last year 21 years old
22. Api Pewhairangi - Kiwi 5/8 - our biggest improver in NYC last year.

RL1908

This game is listed in Fox Sports tv guide for a few replays - starting late Saturday night.

Skinner

1. Shannon McDonnell
2. Peter Mata’utia - Samoan International - Newcastle born
3. Keith Lulia - Cook Islands international
4. Siuatonga Likiliki - former Warrior - Tongan international
5. Kevin Naiqama - Fijian International
6. Ben Rogers
7. Tyrone Roberts
8. Evarn Tuimavave (c) - former warrior
9. Chris Adams - former country player of the year - drafted from the Newcastle comp
10. Joel Edwards
11. Kyle O’Donnell - In last year's NYC team of the year - brother of Luke
12. Steve Southern
13. Marvin Karawana - Injured all last year - from Wellington

14. Chad Redman - Australian schoolboys hooker and future Knights captain
15. Chris Houston
16. Josh Ailaomai - giant Kiwi - the next Fui Fui - 115kg of dynamite with 1 inch fuse
17. Zane Tetevano - kiwi - Cook Islands International

18. Marvin Filipo - former Warrior - former qld cup player - brought up from Newcastle comp
19. Ethan Cook - captain of NYC - best Knights junior at present
20. Ryan Stig - former Knights junior re-signed from Qld cup winners Northern Pride - big halfback
21. Simon Williams - skillful centre - 6th year at the Knights - had a great year in NSW cup last year 21 years old
22. Api Pewhairangi - Kiwi 5/8 - our biggest improver in NYC last year.

I lost track of Marvin Roops, which club was he playing for ?

ozbash

Vodafone Warriors coach Ivan Cleary will use all four of the club's major new signings in Saturday's charity game against the Newcastle Knights at Wingham Park in Greymouth.
Included in a list of 21 players he named today for the trial are the ex-Parramatta duo Feleti Mateo and Krisnan Inu, former Brisbane Broncos star Shaun Berrigan and Steve Rapira, who's back in Auckland after breaking into the NRL during a two-year stint with the North Queensland Cowboys.
The match, the first of four New Zealand-based NRL trials on consecutive Saturdays, is being played on Miners' Solidarity Day; the game is the result of a partnership between the Vodafone Warriors, the Knights, the National Rugby League and the New Zealand Rugby League with all proceeds from the day shared between the West Coast Rugby League and families affected by the loss of 29 lives in the Pike River mining tragedy last November.
Also named is centre Joel Moon who was yesterday called into the Indigenous All Stars to replace the injured Sam Thaiday for the match against the NRL All Stars in Robina next Saturday (February 12). Mateo is the Vodafone Warriors' representative in the NRL All Stars; both players leave for Australia on Sunday morning.
Set to play in their first NRL trial are fullback Glen Fisiiahi and second rower Matt Robinson, both NYC premiership winners with the Vodafone Junior Warriors last year, along with captain Ben Henry, who missed the grand final with injury. The other new faces are 2009 Vodafone Junior Warriors prop James Gavet plus Auckland Vulcans halfback Pita Godinet and New Zealand resident player of the year Saulala Houma; Godinet and Houma have been training with the NRL squad on off-season contracts.
The squad for the Greymouth match is:
Shaun Berrigan, Lewis Brown, Glen Fisiiahi, James Gavet, Pita Godinet, Ben Henry, Saulala Houma, Krisnan Inu, Jeremy Latimore, Jacob Lillyman, Kevin Locke, Sione Lousi, Micheal Luck, Alehana Mara, Feleti Mateo, Joel Moon, Steve Rapira, Matt Robinson, Ukuma Ta'ai, Elijah Taylor, Bill Tupou.

warriors media

Rich102

Some strange decisions.

So, not playing:
Manu
Sam Rapira
Packer
Matulino
Heremaia
Mannering
Seymour
John
Maloney
Ropati
Hohaia

So that's 11 of our regulars.

From the squad chosen half appear to be back rowers.

Props:
Gavet
Latimore
Lillyman

Hookers:
Mara
Berrigan

Back Row:
Brown
Henry
Lousi
Luck
Mateo
Steve Rapira
Robinson
Ta'ai
Taylor

Halves:

Centre:
Inu
Moon

Wings:
Locke
Tupou

Fullback:
Fisiiahi
Godinet

I don't know where Houma plays and I can't find him on the Warrior's website.

Is Johnson injured? He should be getting a run in this.
What about Poching?

I realise players will swap around but it seems Ivan is set in his ways about playing people out of position.

roopy

I lost track of Marvin Roops, which club was he playing for ?
Filipo joined the Central Coast Centurions (Knights NSW cup side) about halfway through the season in 2010 and was the player of the year for them.
The year before he played in the Newcastle rep side and the Rosellas I think. He might have even made the NSW country side.
You could see him getting better and better last year as he trained the extra time with the Centurions, and i expect the 24 year old Tokelau international will have improved a lot after a season of firstgrade training.
He has been one of the best players in Newcastle local footy for 2 years after coming from the Qld cup, and before that he was a Warriors junior.

Skinner

Filipo joined the Central Coast Centurions (Knights NSW cup side) about halfway through the season in 2010 and was the player of the year for them.
The year before he played in the Newcastle rep side and the Rosellas I think. He might have even made the NSW country side.
You could see him getting better and better last year as he trained the extra time with the Centurions, and i expect the 24 year old Tokelau international will have improved a lot after a season of firstgrade training.
He has been one of the best players in Newcastle local footy for 2 years after coming from the Qld cup, and before that he was a Warriors junior.

When he was a real young junior at Mangere East they used to call him Marvelous Marvin LOL. I'm pleased he is getting another shot.

You're right, he did play for the Rosellas and by all reports, he went extremely well with the Centurions.

hitman82

Some strange decisions.

So, not playing:
Manu
Sam Rapira
Packer
Matulino
Heremaia
Mannering
Seymour
John
Maloney
Ropati
Hohaia

So that's 11 of our regulars.

From the squad chosen half appear to be back rowers.

Props:
Gavet
Latimore
Lillyman

Hookers:
Mara
Berrigan

Back Row:
Brown
Henry
Lousi
Luck
Mateo
Steve Rapira
Robinson
Ta'ai
Taylor

Halves:

Centre:
Inu
Moon

Wings:
Locke
Tupou

Fullback:
Fisiiahi
Godinet

I don't know where Houma plays and I can't find him on the Warrior's website.

Is Johnson injured? He should be getting a run in this.
What about Poching?

I realise players will swap around but it seems Ivan is set in his ways about playing people out of position.

...I expect Godinet and Mateo will feature in the halves. Godinet in particular is a player I really rate, and who could become pretty amazing in first grade. He has great vision, a strong running game and his pass and kicking game is also promising.
Not to mention he holds his own on D.
Hopefully Pita plays 7 and Mateo gets a run at 6.

roopy

When he was a real young junior at Mangere East they used to call him Marvelous Marvin LOL.
Him and Marvin Karawana will no doubt form a 60s cover band named the 'Marvelous Marvins'.
Both should be senior players for the Centurions this year - both former backs who will play in the forwards from now on.
Filipo isn't a huge guy, but his defence is brutal. He is made of cement.

Micistm

I can totally understand the lineup, in a preseason 'friendly' afterall. It's more about appearances around town and helping the cause than a true hitout. The town went Warriors mad from Thursday, and it's done them the world of good. Pretty much all accommodation in town was booked out. Not only did it give the spirits a lift, the local economy must've had a wee boost too

Rich102

A few randon thoughts:

I feel sorry for Locke. I don't think he is going to make it. The Fish has passed him for fullback.

Inu - wasn't impressed. He looks very slow.

Mateo was busy and a good ball distributor. I much prefer Maloney at No 6. So where will he fit in?

Seymour. Not impressed. Slow. Godinet had a good run.

I thought Taylor played well - but won't make it at centre. May be too small for second row.

Moon had a good game.

Rapira was good on defence but missing on attack. (Where have I heard that before?)

Heremaia is still the No1 hooker. Where will they slot Berrigan.

Godinet and The Fish were the new talent on display. But too good for Ivan to acknowledge. He will pick the same plodders.

Money wasted on Inu & Seymour.

The Warriors don't have a squad to win the Grand Final.
As a trial it was OK. Showed up deficiencies rather than an abundance of new talent.

McIvor was far easier on the ears than Costo. Now we just need to get rid of Halligan & Good.

Iafeta

" The Warriors don't have a squad to win the Grand Final.
As a trial it was OK. Showed up deficiencies rather than an abundance of new talent."

You gained all that from one trial? A trial that didn't feature our crop of Kiwis internationals or any legit combinations?

Of course the game was going to show up deficiencies. I'd be surprised if too many coaches go into the first trial of four and expect to find the answers. Most of the strategies are already put in place including team selection by now, its now a case of tightening up a few specific areas and gelling a couple of combinations, and maybe being surprised by one or two fringe players who demand extra consideration. It's towards the back end of trial four that we can make any constructive judgments on what will and won't work. These sorts of games are fringe player opportunities, and a bit of match fitness... its not even combinations driven. I reckon the coach of the Vulcans can legitimately look to take more information and judgment out of a game like that than the first grade coach...

Fast Eddie

Haha yeah I was going to say, "we don't have a squad to win a grad final" , geez what a ridiculous call after one trial.

And I think Seymour cops it unfairly, we would have signed him on not too much coin and he's played pretty well for us and in the trial he played pretty good too, the only trouble was his long kicking game. Defended very well and made a nice line break and he only played about 40-45 minutes I'd say.

hitman82

Maloney does the bulk of our long kicking, and for good reason - he's awesome at it.
What's wrong with Seymour??
I reckon he's a damn solid number 7. Great defensively and without any major flaws on attack... would like someone to list what is so bad about his game.
Godinet has heaps of spark, will prove a good back up half.

Haha yeah I was going to say, "we don't have a squad to win a grad final" , geez what a ridiculous call after one trial.

And I think Seymour cops it unfairly, we would have signed him on not too much coin and he's played pretty well for us and in the trial he played pretty good too, the only trouble was his long kicking game. Defended very well and made a nice line break and he only played about 40-45 minutes I'd say.

Whats the point in making a break if he has poor decision making by passing to his outside when moon was in the inside. If he can't make the right decision in a trial match then i'm worried when he dons the #7 for our regular season. Please give Godinet or Johnson a shot if Busters farks up again.

hitman82

I saw that and wondered the same thing - thought maybe Seymour wasn't aware of Moon. Or maybe Inu was just looking like a really good option at the time. To be fair, he could have scored. Perhaps he wanted to help out the new guy.
Either way, that one play isn't enough to say Seymour shouldn't be our 7.

Iafeta

I'd be more concerned if our halfback couldn't bust the line. I thought Buster went ok. Nothing to write home about, and certainly he will be relying on Maloney for more long kick executions than himself... but for a bit of trial rust he had Inu in, and frankly, it was a load of nonsense that Ben Henry was called back. It seemed a typical touchie call where they just don't understand that if the ball is passed in a backwards direction and floats forward its play on. It's too hard for them to understand.

There is absolutely no convincing judgments to be made out of that game. It was a run around to get a bit of match fitness, and an opportunity for some young bucks to put their names in lights for future trial consideration. Nothing more, nothing less.

Iafeta

Maloney does the bulk of our long kicking, and for good reason - he's awesome at it.
What's wrong with Seymour??
I reckon he's a damn solid number 7. Great defensively and without any major flaws on attack... would like someone to list what is so bad about his game.
Godinet has heaps of spark, will prove a good back up half.

His name isn't Isaac John, he's not a Kiwi, and he's old enough to be off his L plates. That's about it.