Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PNG's back.

AlwaysGreen

This is a gambling problem not a rugby league problem. I absolutely agree that more needs to be done to curb the insidious impact of gambling but PNG getting an NRL team or not has absolutely nothing to do with it.
I didn't write the article.

However, I think in a bid which is all about giving the people of PNG hope and inspiration (paraphrasing Albo, V'landys and posters here) it's good to see all viewpoints on a country that so many on this forum are experts on.

BuffaloRules

There are some people that seem to think that all forms of gambling are a negative thing.

Sports gambling is just another form of entertainment, that is enjoyed in moderation by the vast majority of people that partake in it without issue… Im sure most punters ultimately lose money… but then most forms of entertainment cost plenty of dollars these days …

I have seen reports that poker machines and casino gambling games are far worse for problem gamblers …seems to make sense to me given how quick you can continually turnover and continue to lose your money..

I would suggest that gambling on sporting activities probably predates civilisation, and as we have seen in the not too distant past, if it was officially outlawed then it would still continue illegally…so the Govt may as well tax It and have an interest trying to keep the results above board…

This is a gambling problem not a rugby league problem. I absolutely agree that more needs to be done to curb the insidious impact of gambling but PNG getting an NRL team or not has absolutely nothing to do with it.
TBf our sport has an insidious relationship with gambling, from jnr funding to massive revenue generation to appointing a bloke as chair whose day job is all about gambling.
I look forward to the day gambling advertising is banned and I can enjoy the footy and its shows without having it rammed down my throat. Will having an NRL team in PNG increase gambling? Quite probably.

There are some people that seem to think that all forms of gambling are a negative thing.

Sports gambling is just another form of entertainment, that is enjoyed in moderation by the vast majority of people that partake in it without issue… Im sure most punters ultimately lose money… but then most forms of entertainment cost plenty of dollars these days …

I have seen reports that poker machines and casino gambling games are far worse for problem gamblers …seems to make sense to me given how quick you can continually turnover and continue to lose your money..

I would suggest that gambling on sporting activities probably predates civilisation, and as we have seen in the not too distant past, if it was officially outlawed then it would still continue illegally…so the Govt may as well tax It and have an interest trying to keep the results above board…
Thatd be like saying taking heroin is just entertaining and its only some that have problems. Reality is its a massive problem for a massive amount of people in this country. Its a horrible industry that offers little and takes a lot. Some will always want to gamble, a fool and his money and all that, but like weve seen in smoking making it as socially unacceptable and costly as possible will reduce its normalisation and ergo the number of people pssing their money away they can ill afford.

BuffaloRules

Thatd be like saying taking heroin is just entertaining and it’s only some that have problems. Reality is it’s a massive problem for a massive amount of people in this country. It’s a horrible industry that offers little and takes a lot.

You clearly haven’t read what I said at all…

You say a “massive amount of people “…. How many ? What percentage wbo partake in sports gambling have a “massive problem “ with it ? It would be a minute percentage compared to those partaking in heroin

You clearly haven’t read what I said at all…

You say a “massive amount of people “…. How many ? What percentage wbo partake in sports gambling have a “massive problem “ with it ? It would be a minute percentage to those partaking in heroin
The analysis found that 7.9 per cent of Australians had experienced one or more gambling-related problems in 2015, including 1 per cent or 193,000 people who could be classified as problem gamblers – the most severe category.

Given the advertising and online gambling options Im sure this is even higher ten years on.

That to me is massive and more than it would be if the Govt grew a spine on this issue. When I was a kid there was no gambling advertising and the only place to gamble was a seedy bookies shop. Not many people in my community gambled.

BuffaloRules

The analysis found that 7.9 per cent of Australians had experienced one or more gambling-related problems in 2015, including 1 per cent or 193,000 people who could be classified as problem gamblers – the most severe category.

That to me is massive and more than it would be if the Govt grew a spine on this issue. When I was a kid there was no gambling advertising and the only place to gamble was a seedy bookies shop. Not many people in my community gambled.

is this for all gambing ? And what defines a “gambling related problem “?

It's not like we dont have a ton of data and research on this.

Gambling-related harm is commonly assessed via the Problem Gambling Severity Index (PGSI). The PGSI provides a measure of at-risk gambling behaviour during the previous 12-month period.
It consists of 9 items (questions), such as ‘have you bet more than you could really afford to lose?’, with response options being never (0), sometimes (1), most of the time (2) and almost always (3).
Scores are summed for a total between 0 and 27.
Respondents are grouped into 4 categories based on their scores:
  • non-‘problem’/non-risk gambling (0)
  • low-risk gambling (1–2)
  • moderate-risk gambling (3–7)
  • ‘problem’/high-risk gambling (8–27).

• Respondents scoring 1+ may be classified as being at some risk of, or already experiencing, gambling-related harm (Ferris and Wynne 2001).

Research conducted in 2022 found that almost half (46%) of Australians aged 18 and over who gambled would be classified as being at-risk of, or already experiencing, gambling harm (low, moderate, or high-risk PGSI categories combined).

Differences were observed by gender and age group, with a greater proportion of men who gambled being classified as at-risk of harm (53% for men and 38% for women). At-risk gambling was highest in 18–34-year-olds among both men (71%) and women (56%) (AGRC 2023; Figure 7).

More than 2 in 5 men (44% or an estimated 2.8 million Australian men aged 18 and over) reported having gambled in the past 12 months. Most men who gambled spent money on multiple activities, including:

• horse racing (56%)
  • poker machines (54%)
  • sports betting (46%) (Tajin et al. 2022).

BuffaloRules

Given the advertising and online gambling options Im sure this is even higher ten years on.

Say no more ..the article links to an opinion piece from “The Conversation” as its source.,, whoever they are are …

But of course it relates to all forms of gambling ….not just sports related

BuffaloRules

It's not like we dont have a ton of data and research on this.

Gambling-related harm is commonly assessed via the Problem Gambling Severity Index (PGSI). The PGSI provides a measure of at-risk gambling behaviour during the previous 12-month period.
It consists of 9 items (questions), such as ‘have you bet more than you could really afford to lose?’, with response options being never (0), sometimes (1), most of the time (2) and almost always (3).
Scores are summed for a total between 0 and 27.
Respondents are grouped into 4 categories based on their scores:
  • non-‘problem’/non-risk gambling (0)
  • low-risk gambling (1–2)
  • moderate-risk gambling (3–7)
  • ‘problem’/high-risk gambling (8–27).

• Respondents scoring 1+ may be classified as being at some risk of, or already experiencing, gambling-related harm (Ferris and Wynne 2001).

Research conducted in 2022 found that almost half (46%) of Australians aged 18 and over who gambled would be classified as being at-risk of, or already experiencing, gambling harm (low, moderate, or high-risk PGSI categories combined).

Differences were observed by gender and age group, with a greater proportion of men who gambled being classified as at-risk of harm (53% for men and 38% for women). At-risk gambling was highest in 18–34-year-olds among both men (71%) and women (56%) (AGRC 2023; Figure 7).

More than 2 in 5 men (44% or an estimated 2.8 million Australian men aged 18 and over) reported having gambled in the past 12 months. Most men who gambled spent money on multiple activities, including:

• horse racing (56%)
  • poker machines (54%)
  • sports betting (46%) (Tajin et al. 2022).

what are you trying to show with this cut and paste ?

Say no more ..the article links to an opinion piece from “The Conversation” as its source.,, whoever they are are …

But of course it relates to all forms of gambling ….not just sports related
eh? That paragraph is from a research document done by the Australian Gambling Research Centre (AGRC), part of the Australian Institute of Family Studies.

BuffaloRules

you asked what considers problem gambling.

Also showed that sports betting is getting as common as other forms, and I suspect growing compared to pokies which was dropping.

its a different article to what you initially quoted , are their definitions the same ?

Why is the amount of losses such a focus of these studies? Do you agree that every entertainment form has a cost ? Do we say that going and seeing live music act has “losses “ associated with it? It aint free right

its a different article to what you initially quoted , are their definitions the same ?

Why is the amount of losses such a focus of these studies? Do you agree that every entertainment form has a cost ? Do we say that going and seeing live music act has “losses “ associated with it? It aint free right
The analysis found that 7.9 per cent of Australians had experienced one or more gambling-related problems in 2015, including 1 per cent or 193,000 people who could be classified as problem gamblers – the most severe category. Rates of problems were much higher amongst regular gamblers.

I havent seen any research that attending concerts causes significant social problems for a large number of attendees?
Bit of a reach there mate.

BuffaloRules

The analysis found that 7.9 per cent of Australians had experienced one or more gambling-related

Says the average gambler spent $1272 a year or a $100 per month … certainly a lot less than cigarettes and drinking wouldn’t you agree ?

Do you consider that a lot of money ?

BuffaloRules

I havent seen any research that attending concerts causes significant social problems for a large number of attendees?
Bit of a reach there mate.

Thats not the point I’m making though is it?

There is a cost to any form of entertainment… according to your link… the average gambler spends a $100 per month…. Is that comparable to other forms of entertainment?

Says the average gambler spent $1272 a year or a $100 per month … certainly a lot less than cigarettes and drinking wouldn’t you agree ?

Do you consider that a lot of money ?
depends if spending $1272 puts you in financial stress, and thats an avg. I suspect the people with the problem are the ones well above that avg whilst others are spending much less.
It seems strange to me you are defending an industry so proven to cause harm for little benefit.

Chief_Chujo

There is no way you can prohibit gambling and police it effectively. Best you can do is regulate and eliminate anti social forms of it. Pokies should have been canned years ago. But a night on the punt with mates or going to the casino for blackjack/poker. Even if you lose you still get enjoyment out of it.

Thats not the point I’m making though is it?

There is a cost to any form of entertainment… according to your link… the average gambler spends a $100 per month…. Is that comparable to other forms of entertainment?
other forms of entertainment dont create an addiction that puts a significant amount of people into problematic situations. There's a reason the gambling industry sucks $25billion out of people a year, not because its great fun, but because its addictive to some and those some spend amounts they cant afford on it.
We finally woke up to the harm of tobacco and did something about it, only a matter of time until gambling is treat the same way.