Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Poor widdle channel 9

I don't know about that.

After the SL war and up until the last TV rights deal, wasn't 9 only giving the NRL 13 Million a season for the rights, and at some stages, weren't we only getting highlights on a Sunday?

News have always put all the games on and repeated them during the week plus had NRL specific shows during the week that actually talked footy didn't they?

Yeah we mightn't have got a sh*t load of money from them, but it was more than ch numpty was paying.

Not talking about money (although repaying News for their SL expenses has landed us directly in this mess). News is primarily responsible for breaking the sensationalist stories that grubs elsewhere run with. C9, for all their faults - HAVE run a couple of footy shows for a few decades, HAVE shown test footy on prime time, and almost always run with a League story. This is not duplicated by the others.

ParraEelsNRL

mate
Not talking about money (although repaying News for their SL expenses has landed us directly in this mess). News is primarily responsible for breaking the sensationalist stories that grubs elsewhere run with. C9, for all their faults - HAVE run a couple of footy shows for a few decades, HAVE shown test footy on prime time, and almost always run with a League story. This is not duplicated by the others.

Yeah mate i get all that, but the last 15 or so years since SL, 9 have butt @@@@@@ RL.

Didgi

7:30 on thursdays would clash with getaway on nein... Oh what a massive shame :sarcasm:

They're both as bad as each other.

Gallop for trying to get John's sacked, then trying to help him now, hypocrite. Also, I love how Gallop throws his weight around for such trivial matters but then goes missing when 9 are screwing fans over in Melbourne, Perth etc.

Gyngell for whinging about the NRL giving publicity to the competition, they have an AFL Footy Show, that's free publicity to a sport in direct competition to a sport they pay for, moron.

Completely agree on both counts.

Isn't 7 now part of Fox, News cartel?

Could this be the reason why Gallop is starting to shaft 9?

Not sure where I read it.

d that

Yeah I read that yesterday or the day before myself.

I think it was in Roys article.

Gallop still working hard for News LTDs interests it seems.

This will still be the case under the new commission. I can't see him changing his spots.

Evenflow

Anything to piss 9 off i'm all for. I think they now finally realize it's not a fait acompli they'll instantly ne handed the tv rights as has been the case in the past which can only be a good thing for the game. They've treated the game in most states with utter contempt, especially Melbourne and with some genuine competion for the rights this time around they won't be getting it handed to them on a platter.

simostorm

You's got no idea the level of frustration that us Storm supporters have with 9..
I would love to see 7 get it..

Lambretta

Interesting to read Phil Goulds comments today in the Sunday Herald regarding the broadcasting rights of Rugby League.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ho-will-star-who-will-flop-20100306-ppmb.html

12 . The Australian government - Rugby league fans, indeed all sports fans, should be watching intently over the next few months as the government looks to introduce changes to anti-siphoning laws for sports coverage on free-to-air and pay TV. Pay-TV has now become a huge part of the entertainment landscape and as such its role as a sports medium should never be underestimated - particularly as it also provides millions of dollars of funding to major codes. However, it should never be forgotten that free-to-air networks pay more money for broadcasting rights, especially when you consider they deliver fewer games and less air time than do pay-TV providers. They also broadcast to more people than the cable networks could ever hope to reach. Quality product on free-to-air networks is a must for the promotion of sport to the masses. I am employed by free-to-air network Channel Nine - however, my opinion on this issue is not influenced by who pays my wages. I'll find another job if I have to. What I do stress is that our sports leaders need to ensure the best games are being seen by the most people. Watch this space.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/bus...r-the-other-side/story-e6frg996-1225837956888

Gyngell scores a try -- for the other side

* Simon Canning
* March 08, 2010 12:00AM

WHEN Seven's David Leckie said he was going to "promote the sh*t" out of Matthew John's new NRL show, little did we know Nine boss David Gyngell would be central to the strategy.

Gyngell's decision to give NRL CEO David Gallop a slapdown, published in The Sunday Telegraph, over Gallop's comments last week that the NRL would do what it could to help Johns appears to have backfired. Johns's show gained front page coverage and just five days ahead of Nine launching a new season of The Footy Show without him.

In an email to Gallop on Friday, and subject to front page treatment yesterday, Gyngell accused Gallop of "gross disloyalty" to Nine, reminding Gallop of the $50 million the network spent annually. He made it clear too that Seven would not get NRL footage for the show -- just as Seven denies Nine AFL footage.

But by yesterday all parties were attempting to hose down the story -- in part because of the massive free-kick it has offered to Seven.

The return of Johns to TV almost a year after Nine stood him down in the wake of revelations on Four Corners about his involvement in a sex scandal while playing with the Cronulla Sharks looked likely to be a ratings blockbuster.

Gyngell's outburst guarantees it.

Not only has it added to the media hype surrounding his return, but has sucked up much of the media oxygen that might have been left for The Footy Show, which kicks off again on Thursday. Now an important part of the Nine Network's total NRL package, The Footy Show has been sorely tested by the loss of Johns and was even under threat of being axed at the end of last year as ratings continued to struggle. Thursday's return is an attempt to give the show a new footing.

Perhaps Gyngell's comments to Gallop and subsequent decision to go public were aimed as an early salvo in the fight for the NRL's broadcast rights to be renewed in 2013, a reminder to Gallop of who the code's true friends are.

SIMON CANNING

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...hot-breaks-nineseven-truce-20100307-pqn0.html

Gyngell's pot shot breaks Nine-Seven truce
GREG PRICHARD
March 8, 2010

TELEVISION industry insiders view Channel Nine boss David Gyngell's bitter reaction to NRL chief executive David Gallop's offer to help Matthew Johns on Channel Seven as proof that the war over league's TV rights has really begun.

Until now, any mention in the media of the next rights battle, and how it will be affected by negotiations over the television rights for AFL, had been largely restricted to references to TV executives dining with league or AFL bosses in cordial atmospheres.

But that has now changed, with Gyngell and fellow Nine executive Gary Burns, the producer of The Footy Show, speaking angrily to the Sunday newspapers in reaction to Gallop telling the Herald on Friday that he would support the league-based show to be fronted by Johns, who used to work for Nine.

''We're going to do what we can to help Matthew make that show successful and be successful for him personally,'' Gallop said. ''For us, the chance to have another great bit of rugby league programming on free-to-air television is not something we take lightly. It's in our interests for that to be a high-rating show.''

Gyngell asked why the head of the NRL would endorse a program on a rival network to the one that held the league rights, and branded Gallop as ''extremely disloyal''. Gyngell added that Gallop ''said to me he thought I should sack Matty'' after the Four Corners expose on the 2002 Cronulla sex scandal involving Johns, and that Johns ''doesn't like him [Gallop]''.

Burns said the reaction at Nine to Gallop's comments was one of ''bitter disappointment'', adding: ''We're all hurt and a bit bewildered by it.''

Industry insiders believe Nine has overreacted. And though they feel Gallop perhaps should not have been so pointed in his support of Johns, they accept that he has a job to do: drive up the price of the NRL product in anticipation of the next free-to-air and pay television deals. The current deals don't run out until the end of the 2012 season, but negotiations will begin well in advance.

Insiders say that with Seven a genuine player in the battle for the next rights, it was in Gallop's interest to create some ''competitive tension'' between Nine and Seven. Regardless of whether that was his intention when he spoke about Johns, it has clearly been the result. Gyngell would not be happy that Seven boss David Leckie is wooing the NRL.

What makes the situation so sensitive for Nine is that Johns is at the centre of this eruption. Johns left Nine of his own accord, and his show, if successful once it goes to air in a couple of weeks, could have the potential to steal viewers from The Footy Show, even though the two shows will not go head to head in the same timeslot.

None of this will affect Nine's desire to keep the TV rights, and Gyngell accepted part of Gallop's job was ''to get the value up for TV rights, even though we've got them for another three years''. Gallop has said in interviews that he wants negotiations to be transparent. He's certainly got his wish. The possibility that league could be broken up between networks already looks increasingly likely.

The Herald sought Leckie's reaction yesterday, but he offered a dead bat. A Seven spokesperson said: ''David Leckie is genuinely excited about Matthew Johns' new program on Seven and that our network is back in the game on rugby league''.

Gallop declined to make any further comment yesterday.

The NRL clubs, who will benefit from improved TV deals, are naturally delighted to see increased interest from the networks. ''It's great to see that other television stations are excited about promoting rugby league,'' South Sydney chief executive Shane Richardson said yesterday. ''It's been a long time since Channel Seven has shown any interest in rugby league, so that's fantastic for the game.''

Gold Coast chief executive Michael Searle added: ''I think it just shows the amount of passion Channel Nine has for rugby league. It indicates that they don't intend to lie down, and that they want to protect their rights. Clearly, Channel Seven has realised AFL doesn't rate in NSW and Queensland, and that is why they are pushing Matthew's show so strongly. Of the three biggest markets in Australia - NSW, Victoria and Queensland - we dominate two of them.''

ParraEelsNRL

f**k Ch Numpty, give it to them Gallop.

Make a war if you have too, all the crap you've probably had emailed to you over the years about Ch Numpty could come in handy in a few ways.

Funny, the fumbleballers contract comes up first and they are putting two new teams in, yet all the TV stations are talking about is the Rugby League :eek:

Gallop is hurt and I think he want's to pump his pride up a bit.

Good stuff no nuts, you could be a winner yet, I'm prepared to give you a chance with your hands not tied behind your back.

Surandy

that must be a piss take

9 are friends? :lol:

Not according to the TV Guide:

Melbourne TV Guide said:
Nine's Friday Night Football Late
Parramatta Eels V St George Illawarra Dragons

12.35am – 2.35am Nine
Saturday 13 March 2010

http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/inde...&event_id=31892697&region_id=94&sid=&loc=grid

We were told the current TV contract would see FNF shown BEFORE midnight in Melbourne!

In the past when I've rung NEIN to complain the excuse they dish out is that it doesn't rate against AFL, well there's no f**king AFL on this Friday night so what's their f**king excuse?!?

ParraEelsNRL

We were told the current TV contract would see FNF shown BEFORE midnight in Melbourne!

In the past when I've rung NEIN to complain the excuse they dish out is that it doesn't rate against AFL, well there's no f**king AFL on this Friday night so what's their f**king excuse?!?

Keep it up mate, keep taking the fight to them.

Gallop has copped heaps, yet the bloke has had his hands tied behind his back at all times.

The blokes not a dope(besides pumping up the op at times grrrrrr), yet he can only do what they allow him too.

He has a point to prove this time for personal reasons, lets give him 1 chance without the handcuffs to see what he can do.

MsStorm

http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/inde...&event_id=31892697&region_id=94&sid=&loc=grid

12.35am Saturday morning....what a joke with no afl on:x

I hope all rugby league supporters in Melbourne ring Ch9 and jam their lines!