Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Poor widdle channel 9

Gallop has copped heaps, yet the bloke has had his hands tied behind his back at all times.

And he took the job knowing full well that he would have his hands tied.

He was given the job because his News LTD links.

No sympathy at all. He knew the rules.

Rockin Ronny

F*ck Channel 9. Cry me a river Gyngell. About time Gallop grew some balls. Onya Gallop.

Hold on.
Gallop is ex-News Limited, appointed to the NRL by News Limited (with no management experience at all) and is still paid by News Limited (via the NRL).

Gallop is now and has always played to News Limited's tune. He does what is in News Limited's best interests. Have we forgotten about the last TV rights deal already?

The only way you will get a decent deal is if a completely independent group negotiates with all TV licence holders (FTA, PayTV etc) in a completely transparent process. It is only with expertise, full independence and 100% scrutiny that a genuine deal can be reached.

Anything else is dodgy deals behind closed doors because some parties can control the others - you will always have fraud OR the game will be cheated of revenue it genuinely deserves.

BIKER_DRAGON

``@#^(%)$$$$,What's that skip, 9 might lose the NRL....Don't worry Skippy we will still be on TV after the English Super League in the wee small hours of a Monday morning.

I must agree with Rockin Ronnies statements.

Which is unpleasant mind you, as its like eating a gravel & goat testicle sandwich.

big_matt

You's got no idea the level of frustration that us Storm supporters have with 9..
I would love to see 7 get it..

would 7 be any better? They show afl delayed even in melbourne and they cut from the australian open live tennis to show home &away iirc. They also made a mockery of the summer olympics. Im not convinced they'll support league in melb any more than 9 do. Its interesting how these free to air channels all bang on about how free sport to the masses is so important. If its so important why dont we see the games till 1am! Am so glad the soccer world cup is on sbs.

If I was Gallop I would say this to Gyngell ...

'In 2007 your TV channel telecasted a live Mickey Mouse AFL game, a sport you don't have the rights to, into Victoria on the same night as State of Origin I, hence delaying the game you have the rights to by 3 freaking hours. So shut the f*ck up you hypocritical wanker!'

Lowdown

would 7 be any better? They show afl delayed even in melbourne and they cut from the australian open live tennis to show home &away iirc. They also made a mockery of the summer olympics. Im not convinced they'll support league in melb any more than 9 do. Its interesting how these free to air channels all bang on about how free sport to the masses is so important. If its so important why dont we see the games till 1am! Am so glad the soccer world cup is on sbs.

Put it this way: Ch7 couldn't be any bloody worse than Nein, and the sense of satisfaction we would all get from seeing their sh*t-eating grins wiped off their smug little faces at losing the NRL right would be priceless.

They paid unders for the NRL and they know it. Not only do they know it, they revel in it by throwing piss poor coverage back in our faces.

They wheel out the same formula year after year. Stale coverage, unimaginative analysis (i.e. none), over-the-hill, biased commentators, the train wreck that is the footy show - all wrapped up in an amateurish presentation. I don't know if I can bare to watch one more mistake riddled coverage with Ray 'Charles' Warren continuously getting players' names wrong, arguing with Gus about socks or some sh*t and lamenting the old times. They need fresh blood, and they need it fast.

(Note to Nein executives: Fresh blood does not mean Vossy, or some other dim witted player you paid big bucks to who can't string two words together.)

You guys are scum. I hate you. I hope you all burn in hell.

PS - Go Storm!

Last edited by a moderator:

big_matt

I agree with you mate. 9 have been terrible for the growth of the storm and the nrl in general. The best part of going to the grand final was not having to listen to the 'comnentary team' cheering on the eels. However, i havent seen any evidence that 7 or 10 will be any better. Will a station who wouldnt show live olympics most of the time really bend over backwards to show live league in melb? They dont show afl live on friday nights so imo no chance we would get live league in melb.

Hopefully the nrl have learned that they need a contract which states exactly when games must be shpwn in each state, with appropriate penalties for not doing so.

Ps thats so true about warren. How many times do you hear "passes to the 12", basically meaning "passes to a guy i dont know". Lol.

Bluebags1908

Hold on.
Gallop is ex-News Limited, appointed to the NRL by News Limited (with no management experience at all) and is still paid by News Limited (via the NRL).

Gallop is now and has always played to News Limited's tune. He does what is in News Limited's best interests. Have we forgotten about the last TV rights deal already?

The only way you will get a decent deal is if a completely independent group negotiates with all TV licence holders (FTA, PayTV etc) in a completely transparent process. It is only with expertise, full independence and 100% scrutiny that a genuine deal can be reached.

Anything else is dodgy deals behind closed doors because some parties can control the others - you will always have fraud OR the game will be cheated of revenue it genuinely deserves.

I agree with what you are saying. It was just nice to see Gallop give it to Channel 9 for once instead of acting like a puppet.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...vid-gyngell-rant/story-e6frexnr-1225838444272

Channel Seven taunts Channel Nine over David Gyngell rant

* March 09, 2010 12:00AM

CHANNEL Seven fired a barb at rivals Nine yesterday by declaring: "We're back in the game on rugby league."

Seven's cheeky salvo comes after Nine CEO David Gyngell accused NRL chief executive David Gallop of "gross disloyalty" for supporting Matthew Johns' new league program, which starts on Seven in three weeks.

NRL officials were yesterday still stunned at the ferocity of Gyngell's tirade at Gallop.

Seven is expected to bid for the NRL rights after the 2012 season, with Johns' show seen as the first step in that bidding process.

LESStar58

Channel 9 are not one to talk about their "promotion" of the game. Remember when Footy Classified started here a few years ago? There was going to be an NRL version but they scrapped it and beamed the AFL version into the northern states anyway.

Channel 9 do very little for the promotion of rugby league... my only fear is that Seven will do the same thing if they get the rights!

Channel 9 are not one to talk about their "promotion" of the game. Remember when Footy Classified started here a few years ago? There was going to be an NRL version but they scrapped it and beamed the AFL version into the northern states anyway.

Channel 9 do very little for the promotion of rugby league... my only fear is that Seven will do the same thing if they get the rights!

Brutus posted this a few years ago and it seems 9 still don't have the resources. that's if you believe Crawley

In another sign that cost cutting is taking a toll at embattled Channel 9, sports bosses have shelved plans for their new Monday night rugby league show. The Melbourne equivalent will proceed but the Sydney version has been axed due to lack of resources. Sports boss Steve Crawley confirmed the decision saying: " We have had a year of excellent coverage and we didn't want to compromise by going to air with anything less than great."

Found this on page 50 of the Sunday Telegraph.

LESStar58

If I was Gallop I would say this to Gyngell ...

'In 2007 your TV channel telecasted a live Mickey Mouse AFL game, a sport you don't have the rights to, into Victoria on the same night as State of Origin I, hence delaying the game you have the rights to by 3 freaking hours. So shut the f*ck up you hypocritical wanker!'

In fairness, Nine have cleaned up their act re: Origin in Melbourne. All 3 games have been live in 2008 and 2009.

The "Mickey Mouse" game of AFL you refer to is actually a Channel 9 concept and it could be played any day of the week but for some reason they've always put it on on an Origin night, up until recently of course. The Whitten game gets 9 really excellent ratings but so does Origin which I think is why they play the game on a non-Origin night now.