Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Possible new West Sydney Stadium?

1 Eyed TEZZA

Why? Looking at that stadium surely you would rather watch a game in a packed stadium with a roof like that than parra stadium, especially at night or in inclement weather? And as a fan of the club if it meant better corporate sales and much increased revenue why would you not want your club to be financially able to compete with the big boys? I would think for this type of development to be viable you would need Tigers, Eels and Bulldogs as well as WSW as anchor tenants.

Not really. I'm happy with Parramatta stadium.

I'll be frank, I hate Liverpool. It's a shit hole. I don't want to have to deal with the shit that's there.

I'm ok with games at ANZ. No issues there. But I don't want a bar of Liverpool, Fairfield or any of the green Valley or Bankstown area.

pHyR3

Why don't we get to the bloody footy and fill up ANZ FFS!!! all this bitching and moaning about a 'souless carpark' only adds to it BEING a soulless carpark.

ANZ averages are up from ~15.5k around 5 years ago to 22k last year, and i reckon they should beat that this year. Once the average hits around 28k i reckon it'll quickly skyrocket to 30k+ as people realise it's not as shit as they once thought. But that'll only happen if people get behind the idea!

AFL has no dramas playing out of a 100k venue, we shouldn't have any for ANZ in the future either which is in a far better location than Liverpool anyway. Just need to get a direct express train out of the stadium as well as in.

But, this idea still looks pretty good. Play Souths and maybe dogs out of ANZ and Tigers (maybe Dogs too) from this one with Dragons and Chooks at allianz. Parra and Penrith will just have to look at lobbying for upgrades, or maybe the NRL can help out.

bobmar28

ANZ is an oval. There has to be a modern 40k rectangular stadium somewhere in western Sydney. Blacktown or Liverpool.

Bulldog Force

ANZ is an oval. There has to be a modern 40k rectangular stadium somewhere in western Sydney. Blacktown or Liverpool.
Well thanks to Blacktown City Council blowing their load on you-know-what, Blacktown isn't an option.

Liverpool isn't too bad - with a population of 180,000+ and covering the following Western Sydney Suburbs, which include mind you a strong following of Soccer, this thing could pay itself off:

Ashcroft
Austral
Badgerys Creek (shared with Penrith)
Bringelly (shared with Camden)
Busby
Carnes Hill
Cartwright
Casula
Cecil Hills
Cecil Park (shared with Fairfield)
Chipping Norton
Denham Court (shared with Campbelltown)
Edmondson Park
Green Valley
Greendale
Hammondville
Heckenberg
Hinchinbrook
Holsworthy
Horningsea Park
Hoxton Park
Kemps Creek (shared with Penrith)
Leppington (shared with Camden)
Liverpool
Luddenham (shared with Penrith)
Lurnea
Middleton Grange
Miller
Moorebank
Pleasure Point
Prestons
Rossmore (shared with Camden)
Sadleir
Voyager Point
Wallacia (shared with Penrith and Wollondilly)
Warwick Farm
Wattle Grove
West Hoxton

byrner

This sounds like it will be in the same place the Oasisproject was meant to be. Its the only space left in Liverpool for this type of things.

It will be a waste of money. Put the cash into health or education. There are so many stadiums in Western zSydney, so it doesnt make sesne to have another one.

Bulldog Force

This sounds like it will be in the same place the Oasisproject was meant to be. Its the only space left in Liverpool for this type of things.

It will be a waste of money. Put the cash into health or education. There are so many stadiums in Western zSydney, so it doesnt make sesne to have another one.
All the Stadiums you're talking about are in either Parramatta or Sydney Olympic Park. We need a stadium further down south between Campbelltown and Parramatta!

The Health an Education stuff... they come from a different bucket of money, there is a budget for Sports too!

Pierced Soul

Liverpool actually makes sense if you're putting it into the South West. who would use it though? the tigers? maybe the eels and dogs might play a token game or two there...

i'm not sure the NRL will work trying to make several teams play out of the same stadium

Bulldog Force

Liverpool actually makes sense if you're putting it into the South West. who would use it though? the tigers? maybe the eels and dogs might play a token game or two there...

i'm not sure the NRL will work trying to make several teams play out of the same stadium
If the NRL wants to make the "big stadiums" policy, then this will be one of those said stadiums. Yes all 4 western teams might play a game (or more) there per year, but on top of that, you'll also have other teams playing there during the finals (instead of only having them at ANZ and/or Allianz) and you'll also have maybe even the WEstern Sydney Wanderers move there fulltime - it'll be a bigger venue than Parramatta Stadium and considering a lot of their games are sellouts, it'll work. It'll also attract other teams to play there from around Sydney as part of a sponsorship deal, and channel 9 can even consider televising double headers from there from time to time just like they did with Stadium Australia back in 1999.

oikee

Yes, the Olympic stadium needs to be fixed up. First problem solved. Convert the big white elephant into a comfortable 50 thousand stadium that can open up to 80 plus for the big blockbuster derbies or internationals.
Create a entombed like section that cuts out the feeling of emptyness, do that and teams wont mind playing out of this white elephant that losses our games atmosphere and fans.

Second, we need to stop wasting money on clubs like Manly and talk of the government wasting money on this club when we have a need to grow Parramatta to a 55 thousand mega stadiums so the wanderers, Penrith with big derby games, the Tigers and Parra can grow huge derbies, 40 to 50 thousand like suncorp in Brisbane.
we need someone with vision, like Brisbane had over 10 years ago, to build a mega stadium in this area that houses close to 1.5 million people, or we can keep playing backward tiddly winks and waste another 30 million on a central coast locked in never to grow dinosaur.

Gee wizz, how many more wasted million's we want to see, while we have millions upon millions wanting teams and waiting for this code to make a right decision, not backwards like the code has now gone since superleague.
Anyone with potato growing between their ears needs to take time away from these blogs so they can see further than their own noses, which continue to grow unabated.

oikee

This is what needs to be done, and it wont be done because nobody in Australia could think of this, and nobody in australia has the guts to make it happen.
http://nsc-olimpiyskiy.com.ua/en/stadium/news_nsc/24790/

ANZ needs a huge roof that cuts through the crowd section at around the 50 thousand seat mark or can be lowered to enclose the crowd.
They are going to put a roof on this big sucker, well spend a few dollars more to do it right.
I idea like this and just by adding some lifting cranes could lower the roof to the 50 thousand level and make this huge stadium feel more comfortable at say 50 thousand, or 60, whatever the crowd might be is where the stadium roof can stop. If you have only 30 thousand, the roof comes down to the 30 thousand mark,.

We need visionaries to grow our code, a new marketing department and expansion to cities of millions, not suburbs of hundreds.

bottle

Blow it up, start again.
Otherwise build us a brand new 80-100K capacity rectangular one you filthy filchers. Piss GWS off to the ANZ for their fumbly and STOP WASTING MONEY!!

I would think the WSW would play full time their. The Tigers is they were smart would move there fulltime (maybe 1 back to Leichhardt game a season) and base their whole training setup there. I can see the dogs moving a number of games there as well. I would think Parra and Penrith might play their home games against other western Sydney sides there. Maybe the Dragons would also play the odd game there.

The problem with re-building at Parramatta is that it is so close to Homebush plus at most you will only get the WSW and Parramatta using it.

Ideally this new stadium would be at either Penrith or Campbelltown but again it would not get enough use.

The WSW is a major drawcard and them and the FFA if they join forces with the NRL can put pressure to get such a stadium built. Liverpool/Fairfield as someone that now lives in that area is soccer heartland and has massive appeal to the WSW. Rugby League is also strong in this area and a stadium like the proposed one would help grow our game. I for one would go to more games that didn't involve the Tigers if the stadium was built.

we need to stop wasting money on clubs like Manly and talk of the government wasting money on this club when we have a need to grow Parramatta to a 55 thousand mega stadiums so the wanderers, Penrith with big derby games, the Tigers and Parra can grow huge derbies, 40 to 50 thousand like suncorp in Brisbane.

hahaha. What money spent on Manly would that be ?

And no, we dont need any large amount of money ploughed into the festering sh!thole that is Parramatta.

Bulldog Force

hahaha. What money spent on Manly would that be ?

And no, we dont need any large amount of money ploughed into the festering sh!thole that is Parramatta.
Manly have received millions in Government funding over the years to upgrade their stadium continuously... MILLIONS!

It actually surprises me that Bulldogs have been given millions to upgrade Belmore. Currently phase 2 is in progress. Once phase 3 is funded and then upgraded, Belmore will be NRL compliant. The Bulldogs will be able to host a game or 2 every year at Belmore. We're looking at 2020 though, not before.

reanimate

Manly have received millions in Government funding over the years to upgrade their stadium continuously... MILLIONS!

It actually surprises me that Bulldogs have been given millions to upgrade Belmore. Currently phase 2 is in progress. Once phase 3 is funded and then upgraded, Belmore will be NRL compliant. The Bulldogs will be able to host a game or 2 every year at Belmore. We're looking at 2020 though, not before.

Are you trying to be geniused, or does it just come naturally?