Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Price To be sacked Brown in

TruSaint

Let's not do anything rash, we're still in touch with the 8.
No need for panic.

Gyp... no buddy.
We are nowhere near the eight.
Its an illusion.
Teams like the Warriors / Chooks / Bunnies / etc can pour on points.
When we win / lose its by the length of a bees d..k.
Sorry, we are in a sad state. Worst IMHO than last year.
Benji must be thinking ... WTF?
Was that our HOME ground today?

Mr Red

Irony being of course that Brownie was the person who brought Price into the fold. It's only fair that he should come back and right his wrongs...

If anyone thinks it's jobs for the boys now, wait until Brown and his old mate Doust are back together.....
Keep brown away

Mickthedragon

Today along with anzac match has to be last straw.
No more chances for price,we need someone else now and I think neil henry is the best fit, and hopefully reunite him with sims too.

Lex

Brown has his critics and he never won a competition with an awesome roster (I still blame Barrett for being penalised in our own half v Tigers in '05 ... ;) ... however - ignoring the premiership in 2010 - Brown's finals success ratio is, I think, equal to Bennett's. (Bennett won 3 of 7 finals games in his time at the club; Brown won 3 of 7 finals games in his time as coach; albeit over 4 finals campaigns as opposed to Bennett's 3).

Additionally, Brown was , I thought, realistic and gracious when it was announced Bennett was being hired mid-2008. From memory, his words were something to the effect of saying he'd be hiring Bennett too if the opportunity arose.

Price has not made a finals campaign yet ...

Brown v Price? The answer is fairly clear ...

As an endnote, I wonder what Bennett would say about the state of the club if he inherited it now ... ??

dragonreddy

Let's not do anything rash, we're still in touch with the 8.
No need for panic.

We are 12th could be 13th if EELS win MONDAY, looks a lot like last year ,except we are playing worse, if we finish above 12 th this year it would be more than a miracle, sorry mate but how you could pull any positives out of the whole set up is beyond me, ive seen better drilled under 15 sides.

Mr Red

Brown has his critics and he never won a competition with an awesome roster (I still blame Barrett for being penalised in our own half v Tigers in '05 ... ;) ... however - ignoring the premiership in 2010 - Brown's finals success ratio is, I think, equal to Bennett's. (Bennett won 3 of 7 finals games in his time at the club; Brown won 3 of 7 finals games in his time as coach; albeit over 4 finals campaigns as opposed to Bennett's 3).

Additionally, Brown was , I thought, realistic and gracious when it was announced Bennett was being hired mid-2008. From memory, his words were something to the effect of saying he'd be hiring Bennett too if the opportunity arose.

As an endnote, I wonder what Bennett would say about the state of the club if he inherited it now ... ??

Yes if it was Brown v Price the answer is pretty clear.
Thank heavens there are other options...

dragonreddy

ONE of Bennetts wins just happened to be a GRAND FINAL,Brownie couldnt get us to one but he managed to play in 2 losing grand final sides.The club needs to get away from the endless roundabout of ex players and associates who just dont know any other way.

Redvpassion

If anyone thinks it's jobs for the boys now, wait until Brown and his old mate Doust are back together.....
Keep brown away

Agree 100% with you.

If brown was to come back, it would be with a fresh board room and CEO. Otherwise it's the same crap.

TheRev

Instead we get that pathetic-pseudo-calm-mild-mannered-quietly-spoken-unphased-passive-aggressive-Wayne Bennett-wannabe that goes through the motions and believes his own rhetoric.
Spot on.. even when he won 3 in a row he still spoke the same rubbish to the media.. tbh if hes a coaching genius who just happens to be introverted and cant talk to the media, im fine with that, but there doesnt appear to be much going on up top.. I switch the TV off if hes being interviewed....im embarrassed to hear the drivel come out of his mouth, yet to hear a useful sentence about modern football.

For those of you screamimg for Williams as our 7, how did that go??? He was a lamb to slaughter as anyone we put in the 7 when we are back pedaling the whole game yet again.
Yar I was livid at the same treatment of Quinlan after his 1 game at half, fans are expecting miracles from a team constantly on the backfoot and coming out of pressure, any of these blokes will look rubbish.

Bit of criticism creeping in today for Widdop too, hes in the same boat, team going backwards, getting his kicks off under tremendous pressure, that one where J.Reynolds came up on him (the slowest half in history) was so frustrating.. hes getting no room to do his thing.... so fans need to lay off, our issue is clearly up front, not just the forwards but the way Price has them structured, the lines they run, the inability to adapt... Until we can compete in games, the rest is irrelivent, it was a miracle to win the games we did.

Mr Red

Bit of criticism creeping in today for Widdop too, hes in the same boat, team going backwards, getting his kicks off under tremendous pressure, that one where J.Reynolds came up on him (the slowest half in history) was so frustrating.. hes getting no room to do his thing.... so fans need to lay off, our issue is clearly up front, not just the forwards but the way Price has them structured, the lines they run, the inability to adapt... Until we can compete in games, the rest is irrelivent, it was a miracle to win the games we did.

Agree with most of this, but also a smart half would simply stand deeper to get the kick away with less pressure if they can see the forwards are struggling...
It's still very much a learning curve for widdop, he's having to make decisions under pressure when for many years it was cronk or smith that would make the decisions ...
We knew this when we recruited him, now we have to take the good with the bad as he learns the ropes of becoming a chief playmaker...

GT0007

The best thing that could happen is that an interim coach be appointed until such time that a suitable candidate becomes available and applies.

The interim can be anybody, but geeez, Neil Henry would add more value then the current regime.

Time would tell but I wouldn't be happy with Henry

bottle

If it has to be Brown so be it, but I would prefer Daniel Anderson.
External to the club and a smart thinker.

GT0007

The same board members saying Price to go are the same idiots who appointed Brown way to early and allow Doust to destroy the integrity by keeping his job.

I wouldn't trust a word they say until action is taken or do they need more fans walking away in disgust or totally confused about where the Dragons are heading.

Intsead of talking about it actually grow a set and do it if you love the club so much make the right call.

We are all angry but real fans never walk away, its ingrained in us and you know it cos you are one of us

GT0007

Good summary GT.
A few of them can get RUCKED !
Hang in there boys and girls....

Thanks JB, I'm so dissappointed with todays performance as much as anyone. A week can be a long time and we can fix it. I don't believe we don't have the cattle if we can fix the ruck. I just don't get why we are the worst at it?

If it has to be Brown so be it, but I would prefer Daniel Anderson.
External to the club and a smart thinker.

yer, yer, I can see how he'd be a good fit!

i agree with comments that rookies wouldn't stand up to the Doustmeister.

And we should best move away from St.George Boyz (the only exception for me would still be Brian Smith, provided some-one could test whether he has a footy brain that is contemporary enough).

The_Team_Won

Steve Price needs to do the right thing and fall on his sword this week. Then the board needs to install Sheens till the end of the year With a much more experienced and matured coach Nathan Brown taking over as soon as his commitments with St Helens are over at the end of the SL season.