Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Punishment for poor nines squads

franklin2323

Exactly, and these coaches especially live and die by results. They can't have their star players doing an injury right before the season. If it happens in a trial so be it, but if it happens in a 9's tournament....I bet they wouldn't be thrilled!

the trial is atleast game situations. 9's has more ground to cover across field and usually end to end stuff...Being unfit is suicide

shiznit

Didn't think I would every type this.

But I 110% agree with Pops.

Kiwis turn up in droves to watch their "native" code play 7's with the biggest bunch of no-names and non-stars since the last season of Dancing with the Stars.

It didn't start off like that though... The first five or so tournaments were closely followed as there was a huge rivalry between NZ and Fiji in sevens. It was about the football.

Lomu, Cullen, Serevi etc were massive drawcards in those early tournaments.

The sevens only turned into the festival it is today after about the first half dozen tournaments.

The Nines are very lucky that the Wellington sevens has already created that dress up party atmosphere in year 1 for the Nines...

They marketed the nines to the NZ fans based on the fact that this was like the sevens except they had players that we would know and recognise.

So people left the sevens in droves and went to the nines instead.

But make no mistake... The nines is still in its infancy... If people don't see enough value in the product they will flock back to the sevens which is already established and is a lot cheaper.

AJB1102

Didn't think I would every type this.

But I 110% agree with Pops.

Kiwis turn up in droves to watch their "native" code play 7's with the biggest bunch of no-names and non-stars since the last season of Dancing with the Stars.

Well they used to turn up in droves. Sold the thing out in minutes right until last year. So the tourney with no-names is going backwards at an alarming rate, and NRL9s is going well.

No offense Pops but you're not the target audience. We're what they refer to as the "rusted on" fans who'll watch rugby league cause we love the game. I doubt you're too concerned whether there is wifi at the footy grounds either.

magpie4ever

Well they used to turn up in droves. Sold the thing out in minutes right until last year. So the tourney with no-names is going backwards at an alarming rate, and NRL9s is going well.

No offense Pops but you're not the target audience. We're what they refer to as the "rusted on" fans who'll watch rugby league cause we love the game. I doubt you're too concerned whether there is wifi at the footy grounds either.

You wouldn't be old enough to have shit yellow, let alone rusted.:lol:

AJB1102

You wouldn't be old enough to have shit yellow, let alone rusted.:lol:

You're right. Guess I just pick things up a little quicker.

And if your shit is a rusted colour I reckon you better whip out the pension card and waddle off the GP old mate.

magpie4ever

You're right. Guess I just pick things up a little quicker.

And if your shit is a rusted colour I reckon you better whip out the pension card and waddle off the GP old mate.

It is shit yellow. You Generation Nexts are classics.:lol:

Clueless, know-it-alls.

magpie4ever

Yeah some is good and its obviously a younger, quicker mans game. But stars and household names have pulling power.

I must of stepped on this old merkins lawn or something.

How would you even know how old I am you clown?

Because you come across as a total f**kwit braindead Gen Next.;-)

Canard

It didn't start off like that though... The first five or so tournaments were closely followed as there was a huge rivalry between NZ and Fiji in sevens. It was about the football.

Lomu, Cullen, Serevi etc were massive drawcards in those early tournaments.

The sevens only turned into the festival it is today after about the first half dozen tournaments.

The Nines are very lucky that the Wellington sevens has already created that dress up party atmosphere in year 1 for the Nines...

They marketed the nines to the NZ fans based on the fact that this was like the sevens except they had players that we would know and recognise.

So people left the sevens in droves and went to the nines instead.

But make no mistake... The nines is still in its infancy... If people don't see enough value in the product they will flock back to the sevens which is already established and is a lot cheaper.

If its that tenuous that people don't turn up because Jamie Soward isn't named then maybe NZ is not the place for it to be held.

AJB1102

The demand for Wifi got me.:lol:

Might need to get your prescription checked old boy I never demanded wifi.

I used it as an example of how people seem to want more bullshit with their footy now. That putting on a show of Rugby League talent (well known or otherwise) isn't enough to get the average/casual fan through the gates.

magpie4ever

Might need to get your prescription checked old boy I never demanded wifi.

I used it as an example of how people seem to want more bullshit with their footy now. That putting on a show of Rugby League talent (well known or otherwise) isn't enough to get the average/casual fan through the gates.

Ok, I see you are really a rusted on olde fart of a fan.:cool: