Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question about Matt Dufty

If is was the coach of The Dragons tomorrow with the squad we currently have Matt Dufty would be in the no. 1 jersey for the rest of 19. Not saying he is the goods..but the best we have.
Rav No 2. Lomax No 3. Ford 4. Saab 5. Widdop 6. Hunt 7. Vaughan 8, Mc Innes 9, KSims10, Frizz 11, Leilua 12, Lawrie 13, Timm 14, Kerr 15, Graham 16, Norman 17
Just swap the wingers and you're nearly there.
Dufty really has not proved himself this year and that's why he is sitting in reserve grade. So for me it would be Ford at right centre and Norman at left centre outside Widdop. If Widdop runs straight Norman should be able to send a few tries out wide to Saab.

Disagree..... Because he has plenty of upside and will more than likely be cheap ( currently not starting in the top grade )... Club has allegedly told him to look elsewhere....He may end up in super League, but there is the opportunity for someone to snap up a promising young player who with proper coaching and attitude could be a more than solid 1st grader.....

Anyway, agree to disagree on this one..
Yep no worries I just think his career is going the same way not counting abilities have a good day but looks like a ripper in Sydney if that’s where you are:thumbsup:

getsmarty

Yep no worries I just think his career is going the same way not counting abilities have a good day but looks like a ripper in Sydney if that’s where you are:thumbsup:

Recovering from a heavy Cold.... Will not go to another game until McGregor is gone...enjoy the game Champ.

j0nesy

Just swap the wingers and you're nearly there.
Dufty really has not proved himself this year and that's why he is sitting in reserve grade. So for me it would be Ford at right centre and Norman at left centre outside Widdop. If Widdop runs straight Norman should be able to send a few tries out wide to Saab.
Mate you name a different centre pairing every week. You’re the antithesis of Mary... Come to think of it :thinking:... I want you as our coach.

Carlton

Kid is still young....Has much greater upside than Quinlan....given good coaching, Dufty will continue to improve....which means he will need to look elsewhere....

He is 24 in January and played two seasons of first grade he is not a junior. He has been given time and opportunity and has not been able to step up.

And as a try scoring machine he doesn't even rate in the top 50.

End the experiment and get a proper fullback.

getsmarty

What’s your criteria for the top 50?

Is it the top 50 this year? Bit harsh given the number of games played..

People have predetermined opinions and then pull out some obscure stat to bolster their opinion....

No point trying to sway opinions.

Top 50 try scorers in the NRL this year.
Wow... Talk about selective stats..

Dufty has scored 5 tries, bloke no. 50 has scored 6.

And as I mentioned previously, Dufty hasn’t played a full contingent of games this year, either not playing at all or getting his last 10 mins of the game coming off the bench with the masterful substitution strategy our coach uses..

Of course, even with that reduced game time he’s our 3rd highest try scorer this year..

giboz71

One thing I know for sure is that Dufty is a much better fullback than Norman.

Ponga, Turbo, RTS, Tedesco.

All top end fullbacks have high end speed that Norman doesn't have. As much as Dufty has his limitations, we probably could have used his speed yesterday.

Norman plays his best at 5/8 and that's where he should be playing.

getsmarty

Have a look at the NRL website the stats there. Its good when the stat supports what you see.

If you are talking about this year, he has hardly played.....He had a full year last year and a few games this year....Anyway, let's agree to disagree on this one.

Carlton

Wow... Talk about selective stats..

Dufty has scored 5 tries, bloke no. 50 has scored 6.

And as I mentioned previously, Dufty hasn’t played a full contingent of games this year, either not playing at all or getting his last 10 mins of the game coming off the bench with the masterful substitution strategy our coach uses..

Of course, even with that reduced game time he’s our 3rd highest try scorer this year..

Whats selective about that stat, he is not in the top 50 try scorers, its a fact and even taking into consideration the games he hasn't played he is probably still not in the top 50.

Remember there are a lot of players in the top 50 who also haven't played every game this year and Dufty has played 13 full games this year.