Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Quotes Concerning Dragons & NRL Right Game Right Venue Announcement

Jubileeboy

Yeah we get it. You and Jonesy deserve medals because you have the time and money and an able body to combine some footy with tourism.

My pov is for those that buy a season ticket and can't go to games because the club keeps changing the goal posts.

Since I sold papers at grounds like the Sydney sports ground I've noticed older people are getting less and less.

Replaced by a louder, brash, disrespectful mob who have some disposable y and looking for an outing.

My plea is not to forget the people who built this game for a quick grab at some mythical demographic who are drinking from a well they never dug.

So keep going on that it's all about you saintisfied and your medal winning efforts to travel in from Buttf**k, Australia.

Maybe if you had a coach full of people with you, your opinion will be worth more than any other fan. But until then, stop bagging the people who made our club great

Your POV reminds me of something....say, um....bowling clubs ?
Without disrespecting your opinion, the reality is the St George area demographics have changed somewhat over the last 20 odd years. Throw in the attack from other sports and it's time to do something different.

and no roof... which you think would be mandatory to protect the playing surface from poor weather conditions given the increased amount of matches they plan to play there under the new model...
But a roof has its own problems ,afl had a multitude of problems with docklands ie;keeping the turf green and solid and not giving way under foot,there was a spate of serious knee injuries on that surface as a result of the turf not taking under the roof and it took around seven years to rectify it!

Sticks2

With respect to the 7 pages of comment I have read on this forum, the excuses for the gradual demise of Kogarah Oval and the loss of a third of our home games has nothing to do with extensive discussions with Dave Smith (does he understand Rugby League?) or any of the other feel good crap about the future, its about digging an inept management out of the shit because they sat on their arses after we won the comp, lost half a dozen marque players and did SFA, hired an inexperienced coach who made some absolutely confusing selections and strategies which was reflected in attendances, sponsorship and a general slide in revenue raising. If you don't think the Leagues Club is crap, you haven't been there, it is a boring casino which has not changed for 20 years. I realise revenue is very important for the continued success of St George but in my experience an easy fix only staves off the inevitable, we are the members, it is our football club! show us some respect and stop living off memories of the past to rely on our loyalty. I have been a Red V member from the start and a Saints supporter and ex-player for 55 years and I totally oppose the decision taken by management.

jenninga

I live over 4,000 kms away from Sydney/W'gong now anyway, so I don't really give a f*&k either way. But I do like the idea because it does seem to be a smart business decision for the club.

As for those saying travelling to ANZ or Allianz is to watch a game is not feasible....well all the years I lived in the Gong, I went to most games at Win Stadium, and if I were to catch a train to watch a Sydney game, I only ever did that if the Dragons were playing at Allianz or ANZ. Even to this day, I have never been to see a game at Kogarah. Prick of a place to get to via public transport from the Gong.

And ftr, Allianz is my most favoured ground to watch any footy.

Allianz is the best ground in Sydney,Love Kogarah as it is home.
It's the proposed game at the SCG whichi can't handle as it is a sh*t ground for league.ANZ is just a sh*t stadium .

Roo...

With respect to people's right to an opinion, anyone who thinks Saints have made a good decision is deluded. A few comments:

The TV rights deal is a record sum, yet we now we are being told we need to sell home ground advantage 4 times a season to survive

St George have sold home ground advantage to our arch rivals. Can anyone see Arsenal moving their home derby fixture to white hart lane, like we will now do v the bulldogs.

Playing home games at 4 grounds removes any ability to create a "fortress" and will without question, result in our team finishing lower on the table. FACT

Dave smith has an agenda to strategically reduce the number of teams in Sydney. His comments in support this decision are the beginning of that strategy

ANZ stadium is a disease on rugby league.

TheRev

With respect to the 7 pages of comment I have read on this forum, the excuses for the gradual demise of Kogarah Oval and the loss of a third of our home games has nothing to do with extensive discussions with Dave Smith (does he understand Rugby League?) or any of the other feel good crap about the future, its about digging an inept management out of the shit because they sat on their arses after we won the comp, lost half a dozen marque players and did SFA, hired an inexperienced coach who made some absolutely confusing selections and strategies which was reflected in attendances, sponsorship and a general slide in revenue raising. If you don't think the Leagues Club is crap, you haven't been there, it is a boring casino which has not changed for 20 years. I realise revenue is very important for the continued success of St George but in my experience an easy fix only staves off the inevitable, we are the members, it is our football club! show us some respect and stop living off memories of the past to rely on our loyalty. I have been a Red V member from the start and a Saints supporter and ex-player for 55 years and I totally oppose the decision taken by management.
+1

saints4me

Great discussion with differing views. Don't worry Dousty and Smith will be pouring over these comments.
I've followed the Dragons for approximately 50 years now. I was born in Kogarah but now live in the Hills district of Sydney. I almost saw my team collapse and merge with the Roosters. Didn't happen thank God. I witnessed my beloved team merge with the Illawarra Steelers. I learnt to accept that and I now embrace that. I will support anything that makes my team stronger. See the theme here? My team not club. For me there's a difference. If I'm a passionate fan I'll travel by car, horse or foot and I will. May not like ANZ but shit easy to get there by public transport. Take the kids and make a day of it. I want my team and if this makes them stronger then OK. I haven't always agreed with some of the decisions by the club but that's why I'm a member of the football club. I vote and I make my feelings known. I suggest that some here should do the same.

Rexxy

[QUOTE May not like ANZ but shit easy to get there by public transport.[/QUOTE]

not if you live anywhere south of Tempe .... If you want to talk big picture, please stop looking from your own perspective. The Gong to Homebush takes longer than getting here from Melbourne or Brisbane. Great idea about being a member of teh footy club. Would you second me if I filled out the form. Membership is a great way to have your voice heard.:clap:

Cagey Mac

In 1959 St George played 3 games at Kogarah
The rest of our home games were played at the SCG or Sports Ground (SFS)
We were undefeated (one draw)

Father Ted

How is a house devided Stronger? How can they really believe that we march together by creating a civil war? Unless they address the problems that 20 years of shameful neglect and almost no planning imo has caused with the Leagues club how can we trust this board to steer us in any meaningful direction? How did they think that poker machines alone in a time when history and public opinion runs against problem gambling would serve us ? Our last great works , a smoking room. Has no one informed them that public opinion is also against smoking? Why has the auditorium been left to rot for 15 years? Our new wonder plan has our fans call each other names and a percentage boycott the games . Genius

Mr Red

In 1959 St George played 3 games at Kogarah
The rest of our home games were played at the SCG or Sports Ground (SFS)
We were undefeated (one draw)

just out of interest... wasnt that due to match of the round status - where the top game was played there?
Not due to us voluntarily opting to sacrifice our home ground?

i wasnt around back then but i know you can clarify?

Fingerbang

just out of interest... wasnt that due to match of the round status - where the top game was played there?

Correct. And some of my best memories of watching Dragons at SCG on a Saturday arvo, match of the round. Pouring rain, rows of wooden benches running along the fence below the hill, no cover except for your jacket or a blanket over your head. Was sitting there one time with John Jansen (before his playing days) and he copped an almost full can of beer in the back of his head from the angry mob on the hill.....16 stitches.

Cagey Mac

Yes that's correct and it was the case for many years Red
Understandably many here are ignoring or discounting many of the salient points that would influence the board's decision making process.

The St George district isn't what it used to be. It's now a melting pot of predominantly Asian cultures with little over 30% Australian born people. Many newcomers grow to like RL but not that many. Leagues and footy club revenues are on the decline and the financial support afforded by moving games is highly relevant to their decision making process.

We can win away from home if we're good enough and we have to remain viable in order to afford players and coaches that are good enough to do the job.

It's four games
It may well be the portend of things to come but it's four games

These guys don't make decisions without applying due diligence. They do what they have to do.

karuah6

Correct. And some of my best memories of watching Dragons at SCG on a Saturday arvo, match of the round. Pouring rain, rows of wooden benches running along the fence below the hill, no cover except for your jacket or a blanket over your head. Was sitting there one time with John Jansen (before his playing days) and he copped an almost full can of beer in the back of his head from the angry mob on the hill.....16 stitches.

Mate. You forgot meeting at the Bat & Ball hotel where patrons & supporters had to have their drink outside on the footpath due to the crowd. Also taking half a dozen Silver Bullets so that you could drink them while watching another Dragons victory. Ah those were the days.
Sorry forgot that I should not be discussing on the forum due to my dislike of all the whinging. Poor diddums.:lol::lol::lol:
Bye

Fingerbang

Mate. You forgot meeting at the Bat & Ball hotel where patrons & supporters had to have their drink outside on the footpath due to the crowd. Also taking half a dozen Silver Bullets so that you could drink them while watching another Dragons victory. Ah those were the days.
Sorry forgot that I should not be discussing on the forum due to my dislike of all the whinging. Poor diddums.:lol::lol::lol:
Bye
I was too young to be drinking in those days, Karuah.....didn't even have hair I could sit on.

Steelman

Winning football team's equals more bums on seats.
No matter where they play.
The opposite of course is also true.

VanillaGorilla

I wonder if our home ground advantage was factored in here at all? With the exception of 2013, we have maintained good winning records at both Kogarah and Wollongong for a number of years. It will be interesting to see whether that deteriorates over the next 4 years

bottle

Before things are considered inevitable surely we should first determine if they are correct. How much are we getting to play at such fan unfriendly venues as the scg? If we don't know the facts then we are throwing away our wicket far too cheap. How can cronulla play 12 at home and finish higher? Maybe we aren't the super club Danny Robinson had us believe we are. But I do envy those that see black and white without any Socratic investigation

Don't know, how could I? I'll have a wild guess though and say those making the decisions do, perhaps best to ask them if you are actually after an answer to that question.

We can agree that the SCG is a shit place to watch footy. Of all the venues being mentioned it is the one I least understand.

Cheap shots aside, if you didn't see this coming eventually then we are looking in different directions. It was just a matter of time.

I'm not saying I support it, I'm just saying I could see the writing on the wall.