Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

R25 | Broncos 18-26 Knights @ Suncorp | Fri 7.30pm

Round 25 result :: Broncos v Knights

Noname36

Horrendous first half, but to the boys credit they fought their way out of it. So happy to see Boyd finally having a go. He and Mullo really got us home in the last 5.

Dave_

Well didn't watch it but when all said and done they came back and we know they can play at times..it's a win for the true believers and best of all the house of pain just became the house of pleasure...hope broncis2010 doesn't squeal too loud...lol

Like I said earlier, we wont hear from the little fella till next year. Worst troll ever!

knightsarmy

having Kurt start at 7 seemed to derail us he was in wrong place many times,game of two halves but hey great 2nd half after shocking 1st half

I thought we were great after the 20th minute or so. That period where we defended however many sets in a row in the first half was huge for us... and then to score a try after it was even bigger. Yeah, shit went wrong in the game, but we kept at it and came up with the result. I don't know how people can be particularly upset about this when in the past our whole mentality would be to fold in that situation.

Obviously heaps of negatives to take out of the first half. Our execution is still lacking, although it seemed to switch on in the second half. Boyd was massive and we need a lot more of that from him. Mullen, as always, had some really great moments. Rochow had a great game, getting the ball to Leilua in space. I thought we missed Snowy and Smith a fair bit early on in the game, too. Scott was excellent, those back slams of his look brutal. I wish Aku hadn't fudged that try.

Unless something goes brutally wrong on old boys day, we're going to the finals... which is pretty cool. Haven't been there for a while.

Jobdog

Is it any coincidence we looked a hell of a lot better with Roberts at halfback?

Rod

Getting the obvious out the way first, if we play anything like we did in the first half in the finals we'd be behind by 30 at halftime and not 8. Broncos are godawful this year (suck shit BTW Drongos2010).

But, decent comeback from 14-0 down and that always shows a bit of character no matter who your opposition.

Dave_

I reckon that was one of, if not THE most miraculous victory the Knights have had. We couldn't have been playing worse in the first half and in past years we'd have got a cricket score put on us.

It tastes so sweet to end the donkeys season and I'm of the not so popular belief that we can end a few more teams years as well. The fact that we are no longer mentally fragile means we're going to be in every match even if we're playing crap.

We can beat any side if Mullo continues to control the match like that and the little Princess keeps his heart out of his handbag. I still think Gower should be halfback and I reckon Roberts is an excellent strike weapon off the bench because of the energy he brings to the team.

We're not cannon fodder boys, all we need to do is get there and play 4 blinders in a row and that's it, Newcastle Knights 2013 premiers!!!

Sacrolishes

You guys made me sick with what you said about Kurt after his injury!! Grow the f**k up the lot of you!! You dont say completely such shit about a player who gives his absolute all for the team he loves for the amount of years that he has put in and put his body through!!!

I understand passion for you team guys but you don't keep stabbing a guy in the back after a horrible injury and getting us back in the game!!

RABK

You guys made me sick with what you said about Kurt after his injury!! Grow the f**k up the lot of you!! You dont say completely such shit about a player who gives his absolute all for the team he loves for the amount of years that he has put in and put his body through!!!

I understand passion for you team guys but you don't keep stabbing a guy in the back after a horrible injury and getting us back in the game!!

Oh shutup Mrs Gidley.

Dave_

Mate, I couldn't agree more. Kurt is more passionate and has put in more effort than almost any player to ever play for us and has played countless one man efforts over the years and this is how he gets treated by "loyal" fans?

I understand he isn't playing as well as he used to but there are many contributing factors to this, injuries, playing out of position/too many different positions etc. He does whatever the team needs without complaint and has done so forever.

Some of you have very short memories.

macavity

I feel terrible for Gids. He always gives his all and bleeds red and blue. He hasn't had any opportunity to build form for years now, and gets judged very harshly for it. Hope his recovery goes well.

On the game, fcucking Aku,

Boyd's best game for us. Rochow my MOTM

Whats Doing

:thumb

Dave_

Rochow is definitely developing into a fine player. He certainly looks representative material.

Oh and great to see Third Man Thaiday get what he deserves. Such a grubby player.

RABK

What a crock. One man efforts? I recall a handful in 2008. For every Gidley 'moment' there is 3 or 4 Gidley f**k ups. And i certainly don't have a short memory - i have a very long one, i have never liked or rated Gidley. I've always thought from day one he was the beneficiary of having an older brother who was well in with the old boys club that stunk the join up in the Hagan years - a lot of other clubs would have done the right thing and tapped a young Gidley on the shoulder and told him "Sorry kid, but good luck"

So whilst you may think i am out of order with my opinion of him, at least it's an opinion i've had for years.

Frederick

What a crock. One man efforts? I recall a handful in 2008. For every Gidley 'moment' there is 3 or 4 Gidley f**k ups. And i certainly don't have a short memory - i have a very long one, i have never liked or rated Gidley. I've always thought from day one he was the beneficiary of having an older brother who was well in with the old boys club that stunk the join up in the Hagan years - a lot of other clubs would have done the right thing and tapped a young Gidley on the shoulder and told him "Sorry kid, but good luck"

So whilst you may think i am out of order with my opinion of him, at least it's an opinion i've had for years.

Ditto. For everyone who comes out with the "playing out of position" excuse and saying he's ideal at fullback...remember in state of origin where he inexplicably picked up the ball with his feet out of play? Don't think I've seen a stupider play on a football field in all my life. Well, except for aku's two bombed absolute sitters.

Kurt is a waste of space and valuable cap money

MC DUI

I feel extremely sorry for Kurt getting injured again, and fully realise he tries his heart out. Heck it was a really good run for his try tonight.

But blind freddy could see he was drowning in the half position tonight. Some of the passes he was throwing were beyond horrible, and he was breaking flowing movements up all the time.

Dave_

I'm really sorry to hear that this is your opinion of Gids. I'm not implying that his performances were Johns or Lockyer like, but rather that he has put in many monumental efforts through tough times when it seemed as if others didn't match his level of commitment to the team.

I for one have been proud to know that the leader of my team loves the club as much as I do and I think it's terribly sad to see the amount of injuries he's had and the amount of harsh criticism he gets, especially from fans.

We'd have lost or been flogged in many games over the years if it wasn't for his efforts alone. You're entitled to say you don't rate him as a player but there are some things that are undeniable and his efforts are one of those things.