Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs rumours, signings, injuries etc

Curns13

So would I mate but the thing that I fear may stop it happening is that another club just for example a cashed up club I dunno like maybe the Knights for example may offer something like @ 4yr 2.7 mil deal or something along those lines.

I don't think we'd be willing to go too much above 550 for Oates. Hopefully for the fact Seibs was in the maroons set up that he hopefully has a connection with Oates! I think he'd make loads of metres too and he's a good hole runner! Thing that sometimes holds him back imo is his ball handling, but maybe I'm being harsh.

There was a rumour a while ago Fuimaono wanted 430k as well. Considering he's barely been on the paddock I can't see us giving him that!

Also Curns how much do you think Cookie will command?? Currently he's probably only on about 400k or maybe even a bit less than that. I think he will be commanding about 700k a season. So we could be looking at a 4yr deal I'd hope and imagine it to be around the 2.8 million mark. Cookie could probably get 800k elsewhere but I have a good feeling he will stay loyal to us Curns. I always believed in him all along and felt Madge misread the situation re Cook. All he need was to be believed in and get his confidence up an boom BAM BABY!!

If we let a guy like Turner or Musgrove go as well I'm fine with it as long as we aren't paying part of their contracts tomplay elsewhere.

I guess at least we aren't paying loads of money for Farah so part of that money can be used on Cookie!
Cook should be the highest paid hooker in the comp behind Smith. Not sure what that market is.

I had huge wraps on Musgrave but injuries and other players development/return to form has meant he’s not needed. Time to move on from Turner. Give his money to a young kid who could continue to improve.

Fui hasn’t proved anything so I would not pay him any more than he is currently on.

Curns13

Corey Oates is an interesting one. Bennett was quoted on NRL.com the other day saying he has no intention of playing Oates in the backrow.
So it's pretty clear that if he is to play in the pack, he'll be required to move clubs.
The sticking point in my mind however is what is his worth? He's an Origin winger with minimal forward experience. So does he demand a salary that an Origin winger would or does he take less money to play in a position that he is equipt to play but has very little form to go off?
The other thing to consider is that he'll most likely end up having to relocate. GC are sorted in the backrow so that possibly becomes a factor too.
I'm far from opposed of the idea of seeing him in cardinal and myrtle and believe that he could be a good replacement for Crichton but the negotiations could be a real sticking point.
I expect he'll stay at Brisbane unless either A - a club like Manly or Parra throws money at him for some positive media or B - he takes less money initially over a season or two to prove himself as a forward at a club like Souths, Wests or maybe Cronulla where there is likely to be an opening.
I don’t think we’ll get him. We’ve gotta pay Cook and i’d live keep to Jennings on a reasonable deal and Murray will need an upgrade at some point. I hope he doesn’t stay in Brisbane. He should be a rep backrower already.

Curns13

I could be wrong but Peats is rumoured to be on $750k+
The market is set by the teams. What teams out there could and would offer big money. Who really needs or has money for a hooker? Tigers and Knights both have money and a need. Is there anyone else?

Rabbitoad

The market is set by the teams. What teams out there could and would offer big money. Who really needs or has money for a hooker? Tigers and Knights both have money and a need. Is there anyone else?
The Knights have two Kiwi international hookers on their books already.

I'm not sure they have the need for another number 9

Curns13

The Knights have two Kiwi international hookers on their books already.

I'm not sure they have the need for another number 9
Slade Griffin started their last game, Cook would obviously be a huge upgrade over him. Not suggesting they want him, but I don’t think Slade Griffin is a hooker to get you to the top of the table.

Travitoh

A case could be made for Melbourne.
Also Parra and Canterbury though Canterbury's squad is a mess and i doubt Cook would join. Maybe GC and Easts depending on the contracts of their current 9's and whether it coincides with Cook.
But if we tie him up in the next few months then it's all irrelevant.

Curns13

A case could be made for Melbourne.
Also Parra and Canterbury though Canterbury's squad is a mess and i doubt Cook would join. Maybe GC and Easts depending on the contracts of their current 9's and whether it coincides with Cook.
But if we tie him up in the next few months then it's all irrelevant.
Its tricky. You don’t wanna low ball him and piss him off, but you don’t wanna overpay if the market isnt there and leaves you with less cap for others. The Dogs’ cap is f**ked, they’re out. GC has Peats on big money so I’d say they are as well. Chooks have Radley so not sure how keen they are. Interesting times.

Rabbitoad

Its tricky. You don’t wanna low ball him and piss him off, but you don’t wanna overpay if the market isnt there and leaves you with less cap for others. The Dogs’ cap is f**ked, they’re out. GC has Peats on big money so I’d say they are as well. Chooks have Radley so not sure how keen they are. Interesting times.
Honestly, if we're going to pay mild overs for anyone, I'd want it to be Cook.

With such a big forward pack, we need a quick hooker who can get out of dummy half at pace and drag those big lads onto the ball.

Bully was such an integral part of our 2012-14 forward pack being effective, then when he lost form and fitness (and that extra go forward from Sam and Te'o) we lost that until this year when Cookie got his break. McInnes and Farah are decent enough players, but neither fit that style and it showed.

Travitoh

Still leaves Parra though they are rumoured to be after Segeyaro.

Curns13

Honestly, if we're going to pay mild overs for anyone, I'd want it to be Cook.

With such a big forward pack, we need a quick hooker who can get out of dummy half at pace and drag those big lads onto the ball.

Bully was such an integral part of our 2012-14 forward pack being effective, then when he lost form and fitness (and that extra go forward from Sam and Te'o) we lost that until this year when Cookie got his break. McInnes and Farah are decent enough players, but neither fit that style and it showed.
Mild overs is fine for a happy Australian rep hooker. Just don’t want to have to break the bank.

Rabbitoad

Mild overs is fine for a happy Australian rep hooker. Just don’t want to have to break the bank.
Agreed, but other than Sam, Cookie's the only guy coming off contract soon that we can't replace.

I think the fact that Richo is being proactive and trying to extend him now will probably help keep the price more reasonable than letting him come off contract and trying to outbid other teams.

Perhaps they are the one to look out for.
Don't they have to upgrade Brown though and they just paid reasonable cash for Fergo?? 700k I reckon it'll take to keep Cookie. Hopefully we can get some TPA's as well!

Cam Smith would have to be on 900 you'd think!

GGTSS

G’day lads,

Seems a lot of the chat in here has turned into complaining so not asking for inside scoops where people start firing up over sources but wanted to chat about who people thought we should target to replace Crichton. It looks like the Broncos are locking down their talent so our hopes there are gone. I think a strong backrow is key to a successful team so think this is a position we should spend more on. My concern is there isn’t a huge amount of talent off contract.

We all know Oates could happen but seems a long way off.
Then we’ve got:
Rhyse Martin (not established enough for me)
Ethan Lowe (not making cows 17 currently and I think recently took up an option for 2019)
Jamie Buhrer (not doing it for me)

If we could snag someone contracted for 2019 a year early there’s a few strong players:
Tariq Sims
Lachlan Fitzgibbon
Joe Tapine
Alex Glenn

I love Sutto and he has to go around next year based on current form. That said with injury and age a potential risk we don’t want to leave ourselves exposed.

We’re all here as bunnies fans - let’s not let this start more annoying bickering.

Souths Till I Die

G’day lads,

Seems a lot of the chat in here has turned into complaining so not asking for inside scoops where people start firing up over sources but wanted to chat about who people thought we should target to replace Crichton. It looks like the Broncos are locking down their talent so our hopes there are gone. I think a strong backrow is key to a successful team so think this is a position we should spend more on. My concern is there isn’t a huge amount of talent off contract.

Then we’ve got:
Ethan Lowe (not making cows 17 currently and I think recently took up an option for 2019)

If we could snag someone contracted for 2019 a year early there’s a few strong players:
Tariq Sims
Lachlan Fitzgibbon
Joe Tapine
Alex Glenn

I love Sutto and he has to go around next year based on current form. That said with injury and age a potential risk we don’t want to leave ourselves exposed.

We’re all here as bunnies fans - let’s not let this start more annoying bickering.

For me replacing Angus isn’t the biggest problem. He runs good lines and you can groom plenty of second rowers to do the same job that he does. In fact I’m pretty sure Cameron Murray is a straight slot in. Which would allow Fuimaono or Britt or even Sironen to compete for that bench role.

For me the biggest problem is locking up the talent we already have. Cook, Graham, Hiroti and Murray are all coming off contract next year and all of these players will be vital for us as a team moving forward. Forget recruiting a second rower if it’s gonna stop us from resigning Cook or Murray. Cook has been at integral part of our 2018 campaign and he’s due for a massive pay upgrade which he definitely deserves.

DynamicRabbit1

G’day lads,

Then we’ve got:

Tariq Sims
Lachlan Fitzgibbon
Joe Tapine
Alex Glenn

Agree with this.
I’d say the the targets should be
Tariq Sims or
Viliame Kikau or
Fisher-Harris

All only a year to run on their current deals.

Also think a priority is extending Cook & locking up those off contract
Jennings
Tatola
Sutton
Fuimaono ( maybe)

Pommy

Cook should be the highest paid hooker in the comp behind Smith. Not sure what that market is.

Whilst cook is great don’t forget Hodgson has spent most of the season out injured, he obviously doesn’t get the whole origin love in as he isn’t an Ozzie but he went close to getting a Dally M.

callmack1

For me replacing Angus isn’t the biggest problem. He runs good lines and you can groom plenty of second rowers to do the same job that he does. In fact I’m pretty sure Cameron Murray is a straight slot in. Which would allow Fuimaono or Britt or even Sironen to compete for that bench role.

For me the biggest problem is locking up the talent we already have. Cook, Graham, Hiroti and Murray are all coming off contract next year and all of these players will be vital for us as a team moving forward. Forget recruiting a second rower if it’s gonna stop us from resigning Cook or Murray. Cook has been at integral part of our 2018 campaign and he’s due for a massive pay upgrade which he definitely deserves.
Completely agree bro. We could create something really special in the near future if we can keep all these guys together. We have cap room to move for 2019 and it's absolutely vital we hold onto guys like Cook and Murray. I think Tatola and Nicholls deserve a new contract also.