Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd 9: Live Game Day Thread - Eels v Sharks, Saturday 05 May

Yeah that’s a team that’s fractured......

I’m glad we fought till the end that’s all we can ask for.

100%

It's annoying as shit because, for eg, that Will Smith pass goes to hand and we might have actually won (obviously you can't say the game would have gone the same way).

Just individual dumb plays killed us.

BUT

They stayed in it. Yeah the Sharks went to sleep but we didn't. And the boys getting around Mitch is a great sign.

Matty Bhoy

I dunno dude, 40 tackles and 110m is better than bang average.

But I'm sick of debating our forwards, people struggle to understand the point (not suggesting you will FTR)

OMG we''ve had a single solitary heartbeat!
Fair enough, I’ll concede mate. I wasn’t aware he had gotten through that much work, happy to retract. Been a passenger this half.... and as I type that his offload leads to a try.

Happy MEel

When we play parraball we are electric (see what I did there?). f**k structure. Let’s just run like f**king mad merkins, look to offload wherever possible, throw the ball around and break up the defensive structures of oppositions. Yeah, it won’t always come off but with the quality of the roster I reckon it will come off more times than not. We get a bit of luck and who knows....

Chipmunk

People will get excited by the last 6 minutes, just as they did the last 10 minutes against the Tigers when we were beaten, a better goal kicker would've nailed the kick, but goal kicking is just one of our many issues.

Realistically we were never in the contest for the first 74 minutes and questions have to be asked why we weren't.

I think I've probably seen enough this season to suggest the remainder of the season will be a wasted effort.

When we play parraball we are electric (see what I did there?). f**k structure. Let’s just run like f**king mad merkins, look to offload wherever possible, throw the ball around and break up the defensive structures of oppositions. Yeah, it won’t always come off but with the quality of the roster I reckon it will come off more times than not. We get a bit of luck and who knows....

Well it sounds like that's close to what BA wants, but for one reason or another we panic and get away from it.

That's almost exactly what we did last year, just run like lunatics and work off the back of that

Gazzamatta

Maybe our game plan may change based on our last 10 minutes. Unlikely but fingers crossed. 5 hit ups then a mid field bomb that nobody chases wont win you many games.

Chipmunk

We primarily set up all four tries tonight due to structure earlier in the set.

We just have to run hard and tackle hard.

What a f**kin disaster it was from start to end
It would be much better if we all just watched eels matches in a dimly lit room with no access to any form of social media.

Much easier to slash one's own penis off if you aren't obsessed with what is being posted in a thread.

People will get excited by the last 6 minutes, just as they did the last 10 minutes against the Tigers when we were beaten, a better goal kicker would've nailed the kick, but goal kicking is just one of our many issues.

Realistically we were never in the contest for the first 74 minutes and questions have to be asked why we weren't.

I think I've probably seen enough this season to suggest the remainder of the season will be a wasted effort.

Really?

FFS, this is what people talk about when they bemoan the negative nancies...

A busted team doesn't come back like that, even if the Sharks did clock off. A busted team doesn't get around Moses like that. We played some dumb footy, but the heart and the desire is there. We just need to use our heads more often

You say it's meaningless, I say that's why we're not a write off yet even if finals footy is ostensibly out of reach.

Apparently that makes me a target, lol.

Matty Bhoy

Maybe our game plan may change based on our last 10 minutes. Unlikely but fingers crossed. 5 hit ups then a mid field bomb that nobody chases wont win you many games.
5 one out hit ups. No chance of an offload or any confusion in the defensive line.