Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD12 Vs Sea Eagles

Compare his overall stats to other wingers though. His 3 Try Assists rank him 2nd. Tackle busts etc. he probably ranks in the top 5. Certainly top 10 overall.

So I think he gets the 5th spot in the backline

Brian To’o is ahead of him on tackle busts, so when he’s back To’o can do a lot of that grunt work. But my point would be you don’t need to bust tackles if you’re quick and evasive. I see that as being at least as important as tackle busts.

The other interesting thing is most of the wingers in the top 10 for tackle busts also score a lot of tries.

he gives up 10-15kg on most wingers. So it will be hard in the physical stuff that is why I don't see him handling it that well just yet.

Not all wingers do heaps of physical work. Maybe that looks like the norm because we’ve got Mansour & To’o, but teams can use their wingers in different ways.

franklin2323

Brian To’o is ahead of him on tackle busts, so when he’s back To’o can do a lot of that grunt work. But my point would be you don’t need to bust tackles if you’re quick and evasive. I see that as being at least as important as tackle busts.

The other interesting thing is most of the wingers in the top 10 for tackle busts also score a lot of tries.

Depends where they are. I will take a tackle bust coming off my own line over some extra speed.

The flow on from that off a quick play the ball and suddenly you have the other side scrambling and the pressure is rotated.

That is what we do well. Storm have 2 speedy, skilful wingers but don't do those things well.

So good chance here to see how it works with a different setup for a few weeks

franklin2323

Not all wingers do heaps of physical work. Maybe that looks like the norm because we’ve got Mansour & To’o, but teams can use their wingers in different ways.

That we will see. How much extra pressure it puts on the pack and if it takes off their impact.

To me we start sets well and our forwards being so good are our strengths. Always good to have options

betcats

To’o, Naden and Crichton can all punch out metres, they are all big bodies(Brian plays like he has a big body anyway) So unless Staines turns out to be terrible defensively his speed will be more valuable than the extra metres sauce brings. We should get a good look at him in the next few weeks before To’o is back.

Zampaa

A little stat for the many Tyrone May haters in here.

He currently averages the 4th most line break assists per match (excluding fullbacks), despite averaging around 35 minutes a match. He has more line break assists then Cleary and Ponga, and is one short of Munster, withton, Mbye, and Walker, in half the games, and half the average minutes. That's why he's playing over Burton, he's dangerous.

Jane Murray

He currently averages the 4th most line break assists per match (excluding fullbacks), despite averaging around 35 minutes a match. He has more line break assists then Cleary and Ponga, and is one short of Munster, withton, Mbye, and Walker, in half the games, and half the average minutes. That's why he's playing over Burton, he's dangerous.

Good player, his indiscretion has left a sour taste in my mouth. He owes the Panthers big time.

Depends where they are. I will take a tackle bust coming off my own line over some extra speed.

The flow on from that off a quick play the ball and suddenly you have the other side scrambling and the pressure is rotated.

That is what we do well. Storm have 2 speedy, skilful wingers but don't do those things well.

So good chance here to see how it works with a different setup for a few weeks

I reckon one of each is a better balance. If Mansour was regularly scoring tries I’d look at things differently, but he’s a total one trick pony.

I think he’s playing over Burton because of his ability to play in the back row.

If it was a head to head for the 5/8 role, would you play May over Burton?

GongPanther

The Storm are really looking awesome at the moment. Minimal injuries as opposed to our 7 our so even allowing for the fact we will gradually get players back.
Our next two games are tough and while it would be nice to win both I would take one win from the two as things stand at present.
Exactly my thoughts when I was scrolling through the draw a few weeks ago. The injuries we had, and the replacements just got us home last week, but against the more formidable sides, it's going to be very tight if we don't get some troops back.

GongPanther

MWZ was very good, no doubt, but, Charlie was picked ahead of him and came out scored 4 and set one up. I think he should be picked ahead of him again.

or Rest Mansour.
He is certainly the kind of excitement machine that only comes around once in 5 or so years. Can't wait to see him put those burners on again. :)

Flashstep

That we will see. How much extra pressure it puts on the pack and if it takes off their impact.

To me we start sets well and our forwards being so good are our strengths. Always good to have options

This is how I see it, it’s not even really about Mansour’s stats it’s more about that him and other backs putting their hands up to take the first few hit ups of a set constantly, this gives our forwards more of a breather and then they’re allowed to build momentum off of it. Mansour is the best back for the job because he almost always makes good metres, is breaking tackles again and usually has a good play the ball to go with it. Still though I don’t think Mansour will be starting next season. Whether he’s here or not remains to be seen but I think he’d kill it In England.

Kilkenny

I was sick of hearing your argument that the posters on these boards should defer to the coach. People are here to give their opinions. Some people have original thoughts

For the record I don’t think I have ever questioned anyone’s right to post there opinion on here. Not my thing. I encourage peoples opinions and happy to read them.

All I have ever said is the coach Ivan Cleary or those who had the gig before him in many respects are better placed to make decisions around who should be in the side or not.

You really are a dunce.

franklin2323

This is how I see it, it’s not even really about Mansour’s stats it’s more about that him and other backs putting their hands up to take the first few hit ups of a set constantly, this gives our forwards more of a breather and then they’re allowed to build momentum off of it. Mansour is the best back for the job because he almost always makes good metres, is breaking tackles again and usually has a good play the ball to go with it. Still though I don’t think Mansour will be starting next season. Whether he’s here or not remains to be seen but I think he’d kill it In England.

JAC does a job at 88kg. Staines is 84kg

Another pre-season he catches him and then isn't so small.

Ideally we win it this year. Allows Whare and Mansour to go out winners.

Kilkenny

I must have missed that episode. Get him to drink pineapple juice, supposedly does the trick.

Is the pineapple juice confirmed. I had a younger female employee some years ago tell me about this and I had no idea. Call me naive, maybe it was my age but I still don’t know whether it is factual or fallacy. I am one year shy of 60 so past my time to find out the truth.

Kev07

Alot have said Burton can play multiple positions because he had as a junior or he's been training there.
But May has played in the backline and forwards through out his junior years then through to 20s,Cup and into the NRL.

The 2015 NYC Premiership year he topped the squad in almost every statistic. & that side was stacked with JFH,Leota,Cleary,Luai,Edwards,Naden as well as CHN,Katoa,Clarke,Burns,Ellis,Waddell,
Chrichton & Jennings. (15 players from this squad have gone on to play in the NRL)

- Equal first in tries
- 1st in tackles made
- 1st in try assists
- 1st in Line breaks
- 1st in Line break assists
- 1st in support play
- 1st in decoys
& all while having played fullback,centre,five-eight,half back
,2nd row,lock & hooker in that year.

Was also named in the 2016 NYC Team of the year at Five-eight & picked at Lock for the Junior Kangaroos that year.

His versatility has crueled him as well as injuries and the sex tapes. There's no doubt he is a skilled and natural footy player.

To come back from missing almost 2 years of footy and playing great as well as contributing to the squad this year is an amazing feat indeed.

He's made the 14 jersey his own but is talented enough to fill in at any position and on any side of the field at any time and still be a threat.

Hopefully he continues to repay the faith the coaching staff has had for him.

Below is a youtube link to 2015 NYC semi final against Manly who we would eventually play again in the grandfinal.
May went from 2nd row to centre in this game due to an injury to Chrichton & played five-eight in the grandfinal as Cleary opted to play in schoolboys test match that weekend.

soc123_au

Is the pineapple juice confirmed. I had a younger female employee some years ago tell me about this and I had no idea. Call me naive, maybe it was my age but I still don’t know whether it is factual or fallacy. I am one year shy of 60 so past my time to find out the truth.
I've heard it from a number of sources. I dont know that it's unique to pineapple juice, but it is linked to diet. I have a few female friends that have worked in "the worlds oldest profession" and they hated copping a gobfull off Indians, Paki's etc. The heavy spices make it taste bad apparently. I'm not a big pineapple juice drinker, but have 3 sugars in coffee & drink a fair bit of it. Never had any complaints & even had a few compliments over the years which I thought was hilarious.